Due to the physical library building being closed until further notice, several library services and procedures have been impacted. However, many of our services are still open, and our collections are still available!
All online collections are accessible on your personal computers. Physical items are available for checkout with some restrictions.
For more information and current updates, please visit the Holman Library 2020 Updates link below this note.
Use the Holman Library One Search to find books, movies, music, and more.
Students, staff, faculty and community borrowers may check out library materials with proper ID. For students, staff and faculty your library card is your student or employee ID card. For other borrowers, an official ID is required.
Patrons may submit requests for any circulating material through the online catalog by placing a hold and coming to the north side of the library for pickup.
Note: If you have fines over $10 the system will not allow you to place a hold. You may pay fines to Cashiers' Office (phone: 253-288-3399).
Library staff will contact you to schedule an appointment time for pickup (using your contact information on file with GRC).
Library circulation phone number: 253-931-6490
Most library items (not tech equipment - see below) can be returned to the Holman Library bookdrop, located next to the south entrance of the building or mailed to Holman Library.
If you borrowed a textbook from Running Start, TRiO, or Open Doors this quarter, your program advisors will contact you with information about how they are handling returns for these textbooks.
If you borrowed a textbook from ODEI this quarter, you can return it to the library bookdrop. If returning ODEI texts to the library bookdrop, please send firstname.lastname@example.org an email including:
Green River College,
Holman Library (ATTN: Circulation)
12401 SE 320th St,
Auburn, WA 98092
Technical equipment (including laptops, webcams, headsets, WiFi hotspots, microphones) should be returned directly to Campus Safety while the library building is closed. Please do not return equipment by mail.
Equipment can be returned to:
Campus Safety: Student Affairs and Success Building (SA), Main Green River campus, room 156.
Your Green River photo ID card is your library card. You must have it with you in order to check out books and other materials from Holman Library.
The library will make a Green River ID card for you at the library circulation desk. Bring a photo ID and something showing your student ID number such as your temporary paper ID or your schedule
Your first card is free; the replacement cost is $5.
Yes. Community members who want to check out books pay $5 for a Community Member ID card. You can get your ID card at the library and pay for it at the cashiers office. This card never expires as long as you don't lose it and you return library materials properly. You can either pay the $5 fee at the GRC Cashier's Office and bring a receipt to Holman Library to have your Community Member card created, or you can pay for and have the card created at the same time in the Paper Tree Bookstore.
Length of Time
|General, Oversized, Picture and Basic Skills Books||21 days|
|Reference Books||In-library use only (does not circulate)|
|Magazines and Journals||In-library use only (does not circulate)|
|Course Reserves||Loan period set by instructor|
|DVDs and VHS||7 days / limit 5|
|Audio CDs||7 days / limit 5|
|Headphones, Headphone Splitters||4 hours in-library use only|
|USB Drives||4 hours in-library use only|
|Laptops||4 hours in-library use only|
|Essential Skills Collection Items||7 days|
Length of Time
|Reference Books||in-library use only (does not circulate)|
|Magazines and Journals||7 days|
|DVDs and VHS||7 days|
|Audio CDs||7 days|
|Essential Skills Collection Items||7 days|
The library that owns the item determines the borrowing and renewal times; however you can generally borrow books for about three weeks and most media for about two weeks. Renewals generally extend the borrowing period about two more weeks. Contact the Holman Library Circulation Desk to request a renewal at least two days prior to your due date.
Books, some audio-visual materials, headphones, USBs and laptops can be borrowed. We also offer some media equipment to current students for use in the library or the Digital Media Lab:
Students, faculty, staff and community borrowers may check out items from the library over the breaks between quarters. Borrowers must show proper ID, and the check out date will be modified to reflect a due date for the beginning of the new quarter.
You may renew books and other library materials in person or with a phone call to the library circulation desk, (253) 833 - 9111 ext. 2090. You may also renew online through our Holman Library One Search by clicking the link below:
To learn more about how to access your library account and renew items or more, please watch this video:
Overdue items may be renewed, but overdue fines will be charged.
Lost items (40 days past due) may not be renewed.
For more information on how to renew an item that you had requested by Interlibrary Loan, please visit the Interlibrary Loan page:
Holman library reserves the right to assess items and determine whether or not they are damaged upon their return. The library charges fees for damage to books and materials. Repeated incidents of damage will result in loss of library privileges.
Damage assessment and fines for books and other print items:
Type of Damage
Minor- A few pencil marks, bent pages and very slight water damage.
|Warning or note in patron's record with no fee|
|Moderate - Highlighting, ink marks, stains, water damage, torn pages or multiple pages with pencil.||$5 fee|
|Major - Damage to cover and binding requiring extensive repairs||$10 fee|
|Severe - Torn, cut or missing pages, excessive ink writing or drawing, severe water damage, burns, teeth marks from pets or any other extensive damage||$10 processing fee plus replacement cost as determined by acquisitions librarian|
The patron will be charged the full replacement cost for damaged CDs, cassette tapes, video tapes and DVDs, computer mouse, headphones microphones and USBs.
The patron will be charged repair costs of up to $1,000 for damaged laptops.
A book or other item is considered lost if it is not returned within 40 days of its due date. If the item is returned after 40 days, the replacement cost is waived but the overdue charge must still be paid. Fines and fees are paid in the Cashier's Office (253-833-9111 x2050). Repeated loss of library materials will result in the loss of library privileges.
|Main Collection, Oversized, Essential Skills, Picture and Basic Skills Books||Replacement cost plus overdue fines|
|Course Reserves||Replacement cost plus overdue fines|
|Telecourse & VHS / DVD Sets||$100 to replace the set. If one tape or disk is missing from the set, the missing tape or disk is prorated, plus overdue fines|
|DVDs, CDs, and VHS||Replacement cost plus overdue fines|
|Headphones||$10 replacement fee|
|Main Collection, Oversized, Picture and Basic Skills Books||25¢ per day||7 days -- $2.00 due on the 8th day|
|Course Reserves - Hourly checkout||5¢ per minute||30 minutes -- $1.50 due after 30 minutes|
|Course Reserves - Daily checkout||$1 per day||None|
|Telecourse and DVD Sets||$1 per day per DVD set||1 day -- $2.00 due on the 2nd day|
|DVDs and VHS - 7-day checkouts||25¢ per day||1 day -- 50¢ due on the 2nd day|
|Music and Essential College Skills||25¢ per day||1 day -- 50¢ due on the 2nd day|
|Headphones||$10 replacement cost||Fee charged if not returned the same calendar day they are checked out|
|Laptops||5¢ per minute||30 minutes -- $1.50 due after 30 minutes|
Holman Library reserves the right to adjust fines and fees without notice.
Fines and fees are paid in the Cashier's Office (253-833-9111 x2050). When total fines are equal to or greater than $10.00, a block will be placed on library privileges and on the ability to receive an official transcript.
When fines have not been paid after 60 days, the borrower's debt may be sent to a collections agency.
Library materials selected from the first or second floor are checked out and checked in at the circulation desk. Reserve materials and Interlibrary Loans are also processed here.
The circulation desk is located adjacent to the library entrance on the first floor.
You may borrow from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service. It's usually free.
You may also be able to borrow materials or browse the collections of other libraries.
Looking for what's new?