Holman Library Website

Holman Library in Canvas

The Holman Library link in Canvas opens a dynamic library page directly from your Canvas classroom. That enables students to search for materials and use other library resources in another browser tab. Students will be prompted to enter an SID to access database content and other proprietary resources.

From the library homepage, you can direct students to books and articles; research guides on citations, using databases, and many other How Do I topics; and help from a librarian.

Please note that while Canvas works best in Chrome, occasionally library resources will work best in Internet Explorer or Firefox. If a library link will not open, please try it again with another browser outside of Canvas.

Faculty may embed an individualized class research guide and/or another research guide directly into Canvas. You may replace the library homepage in the navigation bar on the left with your class research guide by hiding the library homepage and adding your own research guide. The URL for your individualized class research guide is found in the header of the research guide, under the guide title.

Other resource guides of particular interest include:

You may browse for a list of All Research Guides, including Research Basics and a series of How Do I guides.

To add a research guide to your Canvas classroom follow the video guide or step-by-step instructions below.

Step by step instructions:

  1. Open your Canvas course.
  2. Select Settings from the navigation bar of the course (not the top task bar).
  3. Select the tab: Apps.
  4. Click on: See some LTI tools.
    Apps option in the Canvas course Settings menu
  5. That opens a new window with LTI Apps. Search for and select Redirect Tool.
    Search "redirect rool" from the edu app collection
  6. At URL Redirect, type or paste in the URL of the link you want to add.
    Example: https://libguides.greenriver.edu/academic-honesty.
  7. Check the boxes next to: Force Open in New Tab and Enable Course Navigation to add the guide to the course navigation menu.
    Select 'open in new window' in the redirect tool setup
  8. At configuration URL: select and copy it. You will paste that into settings in Canvas.
    Copy the Config url
  9. Go back to your Canvas Settings screen and click on Add App.
    Select the "+ app" option in your course settings
  10. At configuration type, select By URL.
  11. Type the name of your link at Name (e.g. "Citation Guide").
  12. Type in anything for consumer key and shared secret (0 works).
  13. Paste in the code from the previous page at Config URL.Settings for the guide import in the redirect tool
  14. Click Submit.
  15. Reload page and the new navigational link will show up:
    New link in the Canvas course menu

Note: If you are in Google Chrome and the Holman Library page or your research guide won't load in your Canvas classroom, left click on the shield that appears in the URL bar next to the bookmark star and then select: Load unsafe script.

This video from our eLearning office shows how to do this: What to do if Tegrity or the Holman Library pages won't load when using Google Chrome.

To hide the Holman Library link in the Navigation Bar:

  1. Click on Select Navigation Links under Next Steps (bottom of the page in your Canvas classroom) OR click on Settings and the Navigation tab.
  2. Drag Holman Library to the bottom to hide it.
  3. You will also use this screen to move your custom class research guide where you want it in the course navigation.

LinkedIn Learning - Software and Education Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning (previously called "Lynda.com") provides many different streaming video courses on a wide variety of software and educational topics, everything from time management skills to tips for Microsoft Office 365 to instructions for Canvas itself.

Current Green River students, faculty and staff have complete access to LinkedIn Learning through Holman Library. Videos - individual sections or entire courses - can be linked in Canvas. 

In order to make logging in to the videos as easy as possible, librarians have created a template page in Canvas Commons which includes log-in instructions that you can import into your class and add video links you would like to share with your class.

LinkedIn Learning Commons page

To import the LinkedIn page template to your Canvas Class:

  1. Log in to Canvas and select the "Commons" option on the left-hand main menu.
  2. In Commons, search "Holman Library"
  3. Click on the "GRC LinkedIn Learning Video Page Template"
  4. Click on the "Import/Download" button and select the class you want to place the page into from the list.
  5. Go back to your class in Canvas where you imported the page and click the "+" (Add Item) icon on the module where you want to add the LinkedIn Learning Video page. You will see the page in the list, and when you add it you can edit the page and publish it as normal.

Films on Demand and YouTube

Films on Demand and YouTube Embed Tool - plays video in Canvas

You can embed a Films on Demand video anywhere in Canvas that shows the rich-text editing tools, such as content pages and course announcements. We have a step-by-step guide with screenshots (link above) available to help you embed Films on Demand videos directly in your courses.

You can also use the "More External Tools" option to embed YouTube videos into a Canvas class.

screenshot of the Films on Demand embed tool menu in Canvas

 

Linking to a Films on Demand film with a URL - opens in a new tab or window outside of Canvas

  1. Cut and paste the permanent Segment (a segment is like a chapter) or Title Record URL into your Canvas page (it’s located in a box beneath the video summary). In the PBS Video Collection, this link will also be below the video (click where it says "Embed/Link" to access it.)  Tip: Do not use the URL from your browser bar. That URL is specific to that viewing and will not work for the next session 

    screenshot of a Films on Demand video URL link

    Example: http://ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=78440&xtid=11741

  2. Have students open the link in another tab, outside of Canvas.

    Advantage: It's easy. Students and faculty only need to enter an SID or EID to log in, once they follow the link.

    Disadvantage: It's just a link on a page.

  3. Use a screenshot of the video and link it to the video Segment or Title URL. Open outside of Canvas. 
    • Take a screenshot, use snipping tool, or use another screen capture tool to take a picture of the video. Save it to your computer files.
    • On the right side of your working page in Canvas, under Insert Content into the Page, select Images. Find the picture you want to upload and click on it to insert it into your page.
    • To add a link to the video, highlight the image, select link (the chain above) and insert the URL (permanent segment or title URL) found below the video. That will make your picture of the video link directly to the video itself.
    • Log in with an SID or EID to view the video.

    Example:

    Films-on-Demand-Example

    Advantages: Visually more engaging. Not difficult.

    Disadvantage: A few more steps than just pasting in a permanent link.

Kanopy Steaming Videos 

Access feature films or documentaries for your hybrid or online class!

Kanopy banner

Kanopy films are available for faculty to request for their classes -- once a film is requested, you will work with your librarians to either link the film into your Canvas shell or arrange an in-class viewing (an option for hybrid classes). If you have questions about the process or availability of Kanopy films, please contact us at the library!

Note: In order to log-in to KCLS online items with a KCLS/GRC account, you will need to access the resources through the "KCLS for College Students" page (link below) or the KCLS database directly. The KCLS/GRC shared account log-in does not work to log in to the KCLS catalog or the "My KCLS" account on the libraries' website.

Students:

As part of the GRC community, you have access to King County Library System's (KCLS) online materials to compliment the academic research materials available at Holman Library.

  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. Example: GRCjsmith357
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: h357

Faculty/Staff:

You have the option of signing up to have access to KCLS online materials also. To opt-in, complete the online sign-up form on GatorNet (link below), and your account will be available the following Monday:

Library Resources for Use in Your Canvas Class

HL on Canvas Commons

Many of our library resources for Canvas classes are available directly in Canvas Commons! This includes some of our popular handouts (CRAAP evaluation questions; citation quick guides); and our research modules for brainstorming topics, finding resources, and evaluating that you can import directly into your class.

Commons is available within Canvas, and the fastest way to locate HL resources is to search "Holman Library" in Commons. Even better-- any time the library updates a resource in Commons, you will be able to see the update in your Commons menu and update the resource in your class shell easily!

Online NoodleTools Tutorial

If you would like to offer your students an online version of our introduction to citations and using the NoodleTools citation management tool, it is available as a self-paced Canvas course. Just add a link to the workshop in your class-no special enrollment needed. 


Citation Handouts

Evaluating Resources

Students can easily find information, but is it good information? Appropriate for their purposes?

Copy one of our Evaluating Information checklists for use in your class.

  • The CRAAP test asks: Does that information belong in your academic project or is it ... CRAAP? Evaluation criteria are: Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, and Purpose.
  • ASPECT is part of the IRIS information suite created by Clark College. It stands for: Evaluating Information: Examine every A.S.P.E.C.T.: Authority, Sources, Purpose, Evenness of Coverage, and Timeliness.
  • ABC-R is a pared down evaluation checklist that asks: It was easy to find, but is it the right info? Assess: Authority, Bias, Currency, and Relevance.

Plagiarism & Academic Honesty

The Academic Honesty for Students research guide provides students with a working definition of academic honesty and plagiarism; introduces citations; addresses what students don’t need to cite, unintentional plagiarism, paraphrasing, good work habits, group work, and consequences of academic dishonesty; and directs students to library and online resources and tutorials on citing sources, plagiarism, copyright and fair use, and writing skills. There is also a tab with links to help from a librarian.

Looking for short videos to introduce research concepts such as brainstorming, evaluating information, or using library tools like databases and the catalog to find sources? Check out our tutorial videos guide!

Most of the tutorial videos are YouTube videos and can be linked to or embedded in Canvas classes.

Library Resources for Canvas

A link to Holman Library is automatically available from all Canvas classrooms. Use the information on this page to learn more about using the library in Canvas, to customize where the library appears in your Canvas classroom, to add your class research guide and other library resources to your Canvas classroom, and to upload information literacy content to your Canvas classroom. 

Please contact Katie Cunnion with your suggestions, questions, or other feedback on library resources available through Canvas:

Katie Cunnion's picture
Katie Cunnion
Contact:
Holman Library
Green River College

Phone: (253) 931-6482
Website