LibGuides: Holman Library Website: Collections

Books, Videos, Music and Other Items

The Library houses approximately 59,000 items. Search the library catalog for books, movies, CDs and more. New items are added in accordance with our collection development policy.

Digital Archives

The Green River College Digital Archives includes:

The Current - Digital Archive
Full-text, searchable archive of the Green River College student newspaper for most issues from 1965-2013

eBooks

Holman Library has a collection of over 35,000 electronic books (eBooks). You can access these eBooks in three different digital collections:

eBooks -- EBSCO Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
Focusing on the academic and trade information needs of community college students, this multidisciplinary collection covers programs and fields of study offered in community colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study.
eBooks -- EBSCO Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Created for the specialized, subject-specific information needs of upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, this ebook collection provides a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic library collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBooks -- ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 52,000 full-text online books for Green River College programs -- Aviation, Business, Computer Technologies, Criminal Justice, English, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Social Sciences, Sciences, Wastewater Technology.

Periodicals

The library provides online access to approximately 15,000 periodicals through subscription databases. The Library also subscribes to 200 periodicals in print format.

The most recent editions of the library's print/paper periodicals are displayed in Current Periodicals. Earlier editions are shelved alphabetically in Periodicals.
Newspapers, including The News Tribune, Seattle Times, Enumclaw Courier-Herald and Wall Street Journal are available in the library. The most recent week's editions of each newspaper are shelved with the Current Periodicals. Two weeks of back issues are at the Circulation desk.

Streaming Videos

Using your Green River student or staff ID number, you can access thousands of streaming documentary and tutorial videos online from anywhere:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning has thousands of streaming video tutorials taught by experts covering IT, business, and creative topics.

Faculty Course Reserves

Faculty can request department/division texts, library collection materials, or their own personal copies of textbooks and other class-related items be placed on reserve that the Holman Library Circulation Desk for use by students in their class. For more information, including the reserve request form and FAQs, please see our Course Reserves page:

Course Reserves Information

Collection Development Guidelines

Collection Development Guidelines

Looking for what's new?

New Titles at Holman Library
See everything that's been added to the library shelves in the last three months.

Holman Library Class Sets

GRC Class Sets

Holman Library Journal Titles

All Journals List - Print & Electronic
Search for a journal by its title (leave off "The," "A," "An" at the beginning of titles).
Electronic Journals - Browse
Browse electronic journal issues and articles starting from 2005. To see contents before 2005, click "see all" in the lower left-hand column
Print Journals List - Holman Library Shelves
A list of the physical journals, magazines, and newspapers available at Holman Library, auto-generated by Primo.