Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to log on at GRC: Holman Library One Search Account

This guide explains how to access your student email, Canvas classes, Microsoft Office, campus computers, and online tools for your education.

What is the Holman Library One Search?

Holman Library One Search is a tool that performs a search of most of the library's databases simultaneously, along with a small selection of vetted open-source eBooks and open access articles.  

What can you find in the One Search?

    PHYSICAL ITEMS found on library shelves
    • books
    • DVDS
    • CDs
    • print magazines, journals and newspapers
       
  • ONLINE ITEMS from library databases and other free sources
    • electronic books
    • streaming videos
    • articles (from magazines, journals nad some newspapers)
    • and more..
       
  • NON FULL-TEXT BOOKS AND ARTICLES available through Interlibrary Loan
    • you must choose the "include results with no online full-text" option to search for items that can be requested from other libraries
       
  • YOUR LIBRARY ACCOUNT. Sign in to:
    • place a hold on items
    • see items you borrowed
    • renew your items
    • save useful searches or interesting items to the "my favorites" section of your library account

When Should You Use One Search?

Use Holman Library One Search if...
  • you want a general survey of what's available through the Library on your topic     
  • you just need enough information to get started on your research project
  • you need a wide variety of source types
  • you are short on time
  • you want to see good sources the library does not have immediate access to, but that you can still get through interlibrary loan
  • you want to find textbooks on course reserve

 

Instead of One Search, use individual library databases if...
  • you want a very thorough examination of your topic - individual databases will yield more thorough results
  • you are looking for reference or encyclopedia articles (you can fine-tune searches better with Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • you need newspaper articles, especially (there is better coverage through ProQuest or Academic Search Complete)
  • you need to do a specific search using more powerful database limiters, such as finding primary sources, biographies, trade journals, graphs, and searching by subject headings
  • you want a general survey of what's available through the Library on your topic     
  • you just need enough information to get started on your research project
  • you need a wide variety of source types
  • you are short on time
  • you want to see good sources the library does not have immediate access to, but that you can still get through interlibrary loan

 

Instead of One Search, use individual library databases if...
  • you want a very thorough examination of your topic - individual databases will yield more thorough results
  • you are looking for reference or encyclopedia articles (you can fine-tune searches better with Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • you need newspaper articles, especially (there is better coverage through ProQuest or Academic Search Complete)
  • you need to do a specific search using more powerful database limiters, such as finding primary sources, biographies, trade journals, graphs, and searching by subject headings

How Do You Find Books, Articles and Videos via the Holman Library One Search?

Accessing OneSearch

  1. Click the link below to get to OneSearch

  1. Search for books, videos, articles, and more.

(click image to enlarge)

1. First, you will likely need to perform several searches with different search words.  Examples:  search #1 = online dating; search #2 = internet dating, search #3 = dating websites; search #4 = online dating culture, search #5 = online dating norms; search #6 = “internet daters” attitudes sex. 2. Next, filter by “Reference Entries to give you basic background about your topic. 3. Then filter by different source types (peer-reviewed, books and videos can be helpful types of sources). 4. Results may include online sources and hardcopy sources available on library shelves.

  1. To access online items, you may be asked to enter your Green River email and password

(click on image to enlarge)

 

click the Log into library databases link

How Do You Request Items from Library Shelves?

Request Items from Library Shelves

Source: "How to Place Requests for Items from Library Shelves" by Holman Library is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 4.0

Learn how to place and cancel requests for items from library shelves.

How Do You Find Course Reserve Textbooks?

 
Locate items put on "reserve" by Green River instructors by searching in the library's catalog. You can search by item title or the number of the class (example: TS 101). If you don't find your course listed in our Course Reserves search, ask your instructor to put your textbook on reserve.

Use the link above to open the catalog and then follow the instructions written below - also shown in the image below.

  1. Select "Course Reserves" from the drop-down menu    
  2. Search ADVANCED COURSE RESERVES by any one of these options:         
  • Department  - such as:     Communication Studies  
  • Course Name  - such as:     Interpersonal Communications      
  • Subject - such as:     Persuasion
  • Instructor  - such as:     Kelsey Denton  or    Denton Kelsey     
         [any combo of last and first names]  
  • Title  - such as:     The Essential Guide to Intercultural Communication  
  • Course ID - such as:     CMST 210             CMST& 210    
         (you can search either with or without the "&" )  
  1. After a search, you can also browse and filter by Department, Course Name, Course ID, Subject, Instructor    
  2. Go to the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library to borrow course reserves

(Click the image below to enlarge)

search image showing the 1-4 steps outlined in the text above the image

Still need more help?

Consider chatting with a librarian who can help you search

How Do You Sign In to Your One Search Library Account?

Accessing Your Library Account

Use the instructions below to learn how to sign in to your library account to renew your checked out library items and see your loans, fines, saved items...etc.):

How Do You Save and Export Titles and Searches?

Saving and Exporting Titles and Searches

Step-by-step written instructions on how to export saved items from your library account:

1. Click: Your Library Account: Loans, Renewals and Fines

2. Click Current Students or Current Faculty (depending on what applies to you)

3. Follow sign-in instructions on that screen

4. Click your name in upper right-hand corner

5. Click: Saved Items

6. Under "Saved Titles", click the checkbox at the top to select all saved titles

7. To the right of "My Favorites" click the ellipses (three dots)

8. Choose "Export to Excel" or "Email" depending on your preference

9. Under "Saved Searches" and "Search History" click on each saved search to perform the search

10. After you perform each individual search, click in the website address bar and copy the URL (the web address in the bar)

11. Paste that URL (web address) in a document and save that document.  Alternately paste that URL in an email to yourself.