Holman Library Website

Building Maps

The second floor of the library has several different "zones" where you can study and get work done!

These include a:

  • Conversation Zone (orange),
  • Whisper Zone (pink),
  • and Silent Zone (blue).

The map shows the different zones by color.

Below the map you can see a list of the zone areas and details about what is okay or not okay in each zone. 

We rely on all of us in the GRC community to keep the library a good study space.

If you have any questions or concerns about these zones or the use of the space, please come speak to the librarian at the 2nd floor Reference Desk.

(click image to enlarge)

Zone Details

Click on each zone title to expand (open) or minimize (close) the information.

The majority of the second floor is a conversation zone. This includes the:

  • Tutoring & Resource Center,
  • Reference Desk,
  • group study rooms,
  • open computer lab space,
  • and study desks and tables near the Reference Desk.

This means that:

  • Conversations are okay at a "classroom discussion" level. 
  • Brief phone conversations are okay.
  • Yelling is not okay.
  • Devices should be set to a low volume, including phones and computers.
  • Groups of up to 6 people are okay.

(click image to enlarge)

Parts of the second floor are "whisper" zones. This includes the:

  • essential skills, DEI collection, and reference collection area,
  • copier and scanner area,
  • bathroom area,
  • shelves with current periodicals and popular DVDs,
  • shelves with the main collection, oversize collection, and periodicals,
  • shelves with the basic skills collection,
  • and HL 217 classroom.

This means that:

  • Brief and whispering conversations are okay. 
  • Devices should be set to silent or low volume with headphones.
  • Groups of up to 3 people are okay.

(click image to enlarge)

Parts of the second floor are "silent" zones. This includes the:

  • halls and study desks around the main library shelves,
  • and HL 213 classroom.

This means that:

  • No conversation is allowed. 
  • Phone conversations must be taken outside of the silent zone.
  • Devices should be set to silent or low volume with headphones.
  • Groups of any size are not okay.

(click image to enlarge)

(click image to enlarge)

Public Access

(Outside) After-Hours Book Drop

There is an after-hours book drop available outside the south entrance to the library. You can return items to the book drop when the library is closed.

The Helen S. Smith Art Gallery

Upon entering from the south entrance of the library, the  Helen S. Smith Art Gallery is to the right. Come view the rotating display from our campus and regional art community!

Classrooms

Several classrooms can be found along the main hallway of the first floor. These include:

  • HL 147
  • HL 148
  • HL 149
  • HL 150
  • HL 152

Public Speaking Center (HL 150)

The Public Speaking Center provides one-on-one assistance with oral presentations.

See their page on the GRC website (link below) for more information and to make an appointment.

Circulation & Course Reserves Desks

Visit the Circulation Desk if you need to check out or return a library item, find a course textbook on reserve, or have your photo taken for a Green River ID card.

See the 'Borrowing Items' page (link below) on this website for more information.

Silent Study Room

If you need an absolutely quiet space to work or study alone, head to the Silent Study Room!

This room is not a computer lab, but you can check out a laptop from the Circulation Desk.

Digital Media Lab (HL 112)

HL 112 is used primarily as a student media production lab, located on the first floor. For additional information, please read about our Media Lab on the library policies page (link below).

Faculty & Staff Areas

For information about the faculty and staff access areas, please use the link below to access the page on GatorNet.

(click image to enlarge)

Information Commons

The Information Commons is an open computer lab located on the second floor of the Holman Library Building.

During open hours the Information Commons Reference Desk is staffed by Faculty Librarians who are available to help with information and research.

Student workers provide additional technology and computing assistance.

Tutoring & Resource Center

The Tutoring & Resource Center offers tutoring in science, computer science, business, foreign language, and more. Online and in-person tutoring is available.

See the Tutoring & Resource Center page (link below) on the GRC website for more information.

Group Study Rooms

There are three group study rooms available on the second floor. These are on a first-come, first-served basis to small groups of students.

Library Classrooms (HL 213 & HL 217)

The library classrooms in HL 213 & HL 217 are used for library workshops and classes.

The classrooms are open computing labs when no class is in session. For additional information, please read the Room HL 213 & Room HL 217 Use policy on the library policies page (link below) of this website.

     Holman Library Building

 Photo of the Holman Library from outside

The Holman Library Building at Green River College is a 60,000 square foot information technology center incorporating the campus library, media services, and instructional classroom space. Library services are focused on the second floor Information Commons, an electronic reference and curriculum resource center staffed by the Library with over 150 networked workstations which provide access to various online databases, Microsoft Office, and the Internet.

Tags: website