Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to log on at GRC: Career Planner

This guide explains how to access your student email, Canvas classes, Microsoft Office, campus computers, and online tools for your education.

Creating an Account

Career Planner

After creating your own account, you can use the Career Planner database to research a specific career - finding profiles on jobs that list requirements, education and training needed, wages, employment outlook, and links to additional resources. The information on this page will help you to create & activate an account.

Create Your Account

Follow the steps below to set up your own account with Career Planner. 

  1. Set up your account in the GRC Career Planner using the link below
  • Similarly, you can also click on the hyperlinked text in the database's description, as shown in the image here

(click on image to enlarge)

image of hyperlinked text that appears in the database description
  1. Fill in the form using your GRC student email account and your first & last name. And pick your password.

(click on image to enlarge)

Image of the screen with the form to fill in with your student email address

  1. After you fill out the form, you will need to check your student email account for an email that asks you to activate your Career Planner account. The image below shows the message you should see. 

(click on image to enlarge)

image shows the message "Please check your email to activate your account and login"

  1. Log into your student email account and select the "Click here to activate" link in the activation email. Be sure to check your Junk and/or Clutter folders if you don't see it in the inbox.
    Note: the email will come from "SchoolData.net" and will likely have the title of "Professional Development Wait List Confirmation" as shown in the image below.

(click on image to enlarge)

email showing the "click link to activate" link from Career Planner's registration process

  1. Once you click the link from your email to activate  your account, you will see this message below.

 (click on image to enlarge)

Account Creation activation successful - message

 

  • Nothing more is to be done on that page, so you can close the window, and go back to the database button (also linked in the next tab of this box) to log in. 

    Click on the following tab in this box for more info --> 

Get stuck? Something went wrong during this activation process?

Use the link below or click on the "Get Help" tab for more help!

Career Planner

After creating your own account, you can use the Career Planner database to research a specific career - finding profiles on jobs that list requirements, education and training needed, wages, employment outlook, and links to additional resources. The information on this page will help you to log in to your account.

Logging into Career Planner

After you have created your account, you can then log in. 

  1. Click on the database button below
    Note: when logging in from off-campus, you may first be prompted to log in as usual, using your network login (the same info you use to access Canvas). 
  1. The log in box, shown below, is where you will enter in your student email address and password

(click on image to enlarge)

image of log in page for Career Planner

  1. Once you are successfully logged in, you will see the start screen below and can begin searching.

Note: You may be required to reset your password immediately. If so, follow the steps to reset your password. A code will be sent to your student email.

(click on image to enlarge)

career planner homepage

Using Career Planner

  • Using the menu on the left, you can search for career information using a simple keyword, as shown in the image below. Or search by larger career fields, interest areas, and personality types, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

career research page of the database, showing the menu on the left and search boxes to search careers

  • Each career summary includes information on career duties, requirements, training, wages, employment outlook, and links to resources like career associations and more. You can also see a list of related careers. 

(click on image to enlarge)

search results showing tabs of information about each career

Watch this brief video on how to use career planner