Research Guide: Citations

Note on Accessible URLs in MLA Style

MLA standard format requires that source URLs be written out rather than including a link with descriptive, accessible text.

The exception to this rule is if the Works Cited list is created for a project that exists only in digital format, then accessible descriptive links are acceptable. Examples of both are provided in this guide.

For more info see:

Websites, Email..etc. - MLA

Citing Websites, email...etc.

Webpage with no author

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

"Cher." Biography.com. A&E Television, 2008. www.biography.com/people/cher-9246148​ Accessed 7 Feb. 2009.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

"Cher." Biography.com. A&E Television, 2008. Accesed  7 Feb. 2009.

Webpage with author

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Peace, Richard. “Fathers and Children: Understanding Nature.” The Novels of Turgenev: Symbols and Emblems.  U of Bristol P, 20 July 2002. www.brisolpress=lsi.org/node/62516. Accessed 5 May 2005.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Peace, Richard. “Fathers and Children: Understanding Nature.” The Novels of Turgenev: Symbols and Emblems.  U of Bristol P, 20 July 2002. Accessed 5 May 2005.

Webpage of government publication

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

United States Department of Agriculture. "Grain Stocks." Economics, Statistics, and Market Information, United States Department of Agriculture, 30 Sept. 2025, https://esmis.nal.usda.gov/publication/grain-stocks. Accessed 10 Oct. 2025.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

United States Department of Agriculture. "Grain Stocks." Economics, Statistics, and Market Information, United States Department of Agriculture, 30 Sept. 2025. Accessed 10 Oct. 2025..

Email

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Woodward, Julian. “Newborn FAQs.” Received by Michelle Roberts, 28 Mar. 2008.

Discussion lists

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Stein, Cindy. “Chessie Rescue - Annapolis MD." Received by Chessie-L listserv, 16 May 1997.

Example Formula for a Website with no Author

 

Standard Works Cited Example

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

"Cher." Biography.com. A&E Television, 2008. www.biography.com/people/cher-9246148 7 Feb. 2009. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author.  
Title of Source. "Cher."
Title of Container, Biography.com,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher, A&E Television,
Publication date, 2008,
Location.

www.biography.com/people/

cher-9246148.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container,  
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.  
Access date. Accessed 7 Feb. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

Clark, Beverly Lyon. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930." The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2013, pp. 43-101 Ebrary. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Clark, Beverly Lyon.
Title of Source. "Cher."
Title of Container, Biography.com,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher, A&E Television,
Publication date, 2008,
Location. pp. 43-101.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container,  
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.  
Access date. Accessed 7 Feb. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Online Audio-Visual Materials - MLA

Online Audio-Visual Materials

Radio and TV episodes/segments from Library Databases

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

"Beyond Vick: Animal Cruelty for Sport." Morning Edition, NPR, 8 Aug. 2007. Academic OneFile, search.proquest.com/docview/189 828779?accountid=1558. Accessed 5 May 2008.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

"Beyond Vick: Animal Cruelty for Sport." Morning Edition, NPR, 8 Aug. 2007. Academic OneFile. Accessed 5 May 2008.

Radio and TV episodes/segments from websites

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

"Federal Prosecutors Eye MySpace Bullying Case." All Things Considered, NPR, 14 Jan. 2008. www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=18121662. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

"Federal Prosecutors Eye MySpace Bullying Case." All Things Considered, NPR, 14 Jan. 2008. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008..

Films and film clips on the web

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

"The Landlord." Funny or Die, 2007, www.funnyordie.com/videos/74/the-landlord-from-will-ferrell-and-adam-ghost-panther-mckay ?_cc=__d___&_ccid=4fab531c-3e90-49f0-a9e2-1ddc91844d1e. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

"The Landlord." Funny or Die, 2007. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.

Lectures, speeches, addresses, readings, and other web video presentations

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Bittman, Mark. "What’s Wrong with What We Eat." TEDTalks, TED Conferences, Dec.2007, www.ted.com/talks/mark_bittman_on_ what_s_wrong_with_what_we_eat?language=en. Accessed 18 May 2009. Speech.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Bittman, Mark. "What’s Wrong with What We Eat." TEDTalks, TED Conferences, Dec.2007. Accessed 18 May 2009. Speech..

Artwork from Library Databases

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Clark, Larry. Man with Baby. Circa 1960. ARTstor, library.artstor.org.greenriver.idm.oclc.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=8D1Efjk2M
jY5MTs4YVN7R3IgW38vfA%3D%3D&userId=gjtOdDop&zoomparams=. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Clark, Larry. Man with Baby. Circa 1960. ARTstor. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008. 

Artwork from the web

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Close, Chuck. Ronald. 2002. The Museum of Modern Art, www.moma.org/collection/works/108890?locale=en. Accessed 23 Sept. 2016. .
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Close, Chuck. Ronald. 2002. The Museum of Modern Art. Accessed 23 Sept. 2016. .

Photograph from the web

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Viewing the Unfortunates at the Morgue. 2005. The Triangle Factory File, Cornell University, trianglefire.ilr.cornell.edu/primary/photosIllustrations/slideshow.html?image_id=757&sec_id=3#screen. Accessed 23 Sept. 2016.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Viewing the Unfortunates at the Morgue. 2005. The Triangle Factory File, Cornell University. Accessed 23 Sept. 2016.

Electronic Articles from Library Databases - MLA

Articles from Library Databases

Article from a database:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2000.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, Accessed 6 Nov. 2000.

Journal article from a database:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Doyle, Christine. "Louisa May Alcott: New Texts and Contexts." Children's Literature, vol.27, 1999, pp. 211-17. ProQuest. search.proquest.com/docview/195572106?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Doyle, Christine. "Louisa May Alcott: New Texts and Contexts." Children's Literature, vol.27, 1999, pp. 211-17. ProQuest. Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.

Journal article from a database with a doi:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

DeMaria, Anthony N. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Journal of the American College of Cardiology, vol. 42, no. 2, 2003, pp. 373-74. ProQuest Periodicals, https://doi.og/10.1016/S0735-1097(03)00800-3. Accessed 15 Sept. 2016.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

DeMaria, Anthony N. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Journal of the American College of Cardiology, vol. 42, no. 2, 2003, pp. 373-74. ProQuest Periodicals, Accessed 15 Sept. 2016.

Journal article with two authors:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=20502611&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 20 Oct. 2003.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, Accessed 20 Oct. 2003.

Journal article with three or more authors:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Brinkworth, Grant D., et al. "Long-Term Effects of a very-Low-Carbohydrate Weight Loss Diet Compared with an Isocaloric Low-Fat Diet After 12 Mo." American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, vol. 90. no. 1, 2009, p.23. ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/231940252?accountid=1558 Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.

*for 3 or more authors, just list the first author (last, first), followed by et. al. as shown here.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Brinkworth, Grant D., et al. "Long-Term Effects of a very-Low-Carbohydrate Weight Loss Diet Compared with an Isocaloric Low-Fat Diet After 12 Mo." American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, vol. 90. no. 1, 2009, p.23. ProQuest Research Library, Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.

*for 3 or more authors, just list the first author (last, first), followed by et. al. as shown here.

Journal article with no author:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Anonymous. "Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy" Journal of Financial Planning, vol. 20, no. 11, Nov. 2007, p. 14. ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/217550151?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Anonymous. "Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy" Journal of Financial Planning, vol. 20, no. 11, Nov. 2007, p. 14. ProQuest Research Library, Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.

Newspaper article:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Cullen, Jim. "Library Technology Today." Seattle Times, 21 May 2010, p. B5. NewsBank, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://infoweb.newsbank.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=NewsBank&p_theme=aggregated5&p_action=doc&p_docid=12BFFC. Accessed 20 May 2010.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Cullen, Jim. "Library Technology Today." Seattle Times, 21 May 2010, p. B5. NewsBank, Accessed 20 May 2010.

Magazine article:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Parker, Ian. "The Digital Librarian." The New Yorker, 15 Mar. 2015, pp. 30-35. ProQuest, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/166666. Accessed 20 Mar. 2015.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Parker, Ian. "The Digital Librarian." The New Yorker, 15 Mar. 2015, pp. 30-35. ProQuest, Accessed 20 Mar. 2015.

 

Original content from a database:

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example "Nursing Assistants - Duties." Career Planner, SchoolData. Accessed 20 Nov. 2020.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style) "Nursing Assistants - Duties." Career Planner, SchoolData. Accessed 20 Nov. 2020.

Example Formula for a CQ Researcher Article

 

Standard Works Cited Example

The following citation is for an article, a report, located within the database CQ Researcher.

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Examples
Examples
Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Cooper, Mary H.
Title of Source. America's Pampered Pets.
Title of Container, CQ Researcher,
Contributors,
Version,
Number, vol. 6, no. 48,
Publisher, CQ Researcher Online,
Publication date, 27 Dec. 1996,
Location.

pp. 1129-52.
Examples
ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container,  
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.

ezproxy.greenriver.edu:

2048/login?url=http://library.

cqpress.com.ezproxy.

greenriver.edu/

cqresearcher/cqresrre

1996122700
Access date. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Cooper, Mary H.
Title of Source. America's Pampered Pets.
Title of Container, CQ Researcher,
Contributors,
Version,
Number, vol. 6, no. 48,
Publisher, CQ Researcher Online,
Publication date, 27 Dec. 1996,
Location. pp. 1129-52.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container,  
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location. CQ Researcher Online.
Access date. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Example Formula for Journal Article from Library Database

 

Standard Works Cited Example

The following citation is for a journal article from a database:

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=20502611&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 20 Oct. 2003. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball.
Title of Source. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." 
Title of Container, Teacher Librarian,
Contributors,
Version,
Number, vol. 33, no. 4,
Publisher,  
Publication date, 2006,
Location.

pp.28-31.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container, Academic OneFile,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.

ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?

url=http://search.ebscohost.

com/login.aspx?direct=true&db

=aph&AN=20502611&site=

ehost-live&scope=site.
Access date. Accessed 20 Oct. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, Accessed 20 Oct. 2003. . 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball.
Title of Source. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." 
Title of Container, Teacher Librarian,
Contributors,
Version,
Number, vol. 33, no. 4,
Publisher,  
Publication date, 2006,
Location. pp.28-31..

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container, Academic OneFile,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.  
Access date. Accessed 20 Oct. 2020.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Electronic Books - MLA

Electronic Books

Chapter from ebook from a library database

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Dzau, Victor J. and Mark A. Creager. "Chapter 231: Diseases of the Aorta." Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, McGraw-Hill, 1999.  Access Medicine. ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=c8h&AN=109831540&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 7 Sept. 20.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Dzau, Victor J. and Mark A. Creager. "Chapter 231: Diseases of the Aorta." Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, McGraw-Hill, 1999.  Access Medicine. Accessed 7 Sept. 20.

Chapter from edited ebook from library database

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Kaplan, Temma. "Human Rights for Women Are Receiving Greater Attention." Human Rights, edited by Laura K. Egendorf. Greenhaven Press, 2004. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&ccd=c8h&AN=107894466540&site=ehost-live&scope=t. Accessed 6 Nov. 2006.
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Kaplan, Temma. "Human Rights for Women Are Receiving Greater Attention." Human Rights, editerd by Laura K. Egendorf. Greenhaven Press, 2004. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.  Accessed 6 Nov. 2006..

Chapter with no author in ebook from library database

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

"Narcissistic Personality Disorder." Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, APA, 2000. STAT!Ref. Teton Data Systems, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=117803135&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 24 Sept. 2016. .
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

"Narcissistic Personality Disorder." Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, APA, 2000. STAT!Ref. Teton Data Systems. Accessed 24 Sept. 2016. .

Chapter from an ebook edition from a library database

Examples
Citation Element Example
Standard Works Cited Example

Price, Joanna. "Bret Easton Ellis: Overview." Contemporary Novelists, 6th edition, edited by Susan Windisch Brown, St. James Press, 1996. Literature Resource Center. galegroup.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/ic/bic1/MagazinesDetailsPage/MagazinesDetails
​Window?disableHighlighting=false&displayGroupName=Magazines&currPage=&scanId=&query. Accessed 7 Jan. 2008..
Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

Price, Joanna. "Bret Easton Ellis: Overview." Contemporary Novelists, 6th edition, edited by Susan Windisch Brown, St. James Press, 1996. Literature Resource Center. Accessed 7 Jan. 2008..

 

Example Formula for a Chapter within an Electronic Book

 

Standard Works Cited Example

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

Clark, Beverly Lyon. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930." The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’ , Johns Hopkins University Press, 2013, pp. 43-101 Ebrary, www.site.ebrary.com.greenri
ver.edu. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Clark, Beverly Lyon.
Title of Source. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930."
Title of Container, The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher, Johns Hopkins University Press,
Publication date, 2013,
Location. pp. 43-101.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container, Ebrary,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location. www.site.ebrary.com.greenriver.edu.
Access date. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

The following citation is for a chapter within an electronic book.

Clark, Beverly Lyon. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930." The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’, Johns Hopkins University Press, 2013, pp. 43-101 Ebrary. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example of electronic book chapter
Author. Clark, Beverly Lyon.
Title of Source. "Waxing Nostalgic, 1900-1930."
Title of Container, The Afterlife of ‘Little Women’,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher, Johns Hopkins University Press,
Publication date, 2013,
Location. pp. 43-101.

ADDITIONAL CONTAINER
Part of the Formula		 Example of electronic book chapter
Title of Container, Ebrary,
Contributors,
Version,
Number,
Publisher,
Publication date,
Location.  
Access date. Accessed 13 Sept. 2016.

 

**Note the use of two containers. The source is the book chapter. The first container is the larger source (the book title), and the second container is the database in which this book was accessed digitally (database name).

Artificial Intelligence Tools - MLA

Text Generated by AI Tool

 

Standard Works Cited Example

There are not yet official MLA Guidelines on how to cite artificial intelligence-created-sources.(AI)

However the MLA Style Team is working on ways to address citing these types of tools. Below are their suggestions from the blog How Do I Cite Generative AI in MLA Style? which follows the Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations .  These guidelines may change. When they do, they will be updated here.

 

The following citation is for a content generated from an AI prompt:

“Describe the theme of nature in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park” prompt. ChatGPT, model GPT-4o, OpenAI, 23 Sept. 2024, chatgpt.com/share/66f1b0a0-d704-8000-be9a-85f53c850607. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template

Part of the Formula Example Explanation
Author.   MLA style does not recommend treating an AI tool as an author
Title of Source. “Describe the theme of nature in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park” prompt. Describe what was generated by the AI tool. This may involve including information about the prompt in the Title of Source element if you have not done so in the text. 
Title of Container, ChatGPT, name the AI tool
Contributors,  
Version, model GPT-4o, Name the specific AI model or model version as specifically as possible. For instance, this example was developed using the GPT-4o model of ChatGPT.
Number,  
Publisher, OpenAI, Name the company that made the tool.
Publication date, 23 Sept. 2024, Give the date the content was generated.
Location. chatgpt.com/share/66f1b0a0-d704-8000-be9a-85f53c850607 Give the stable, shareable URL for accessing the generated content. If the tool you are using doesn’t provide a stable, shareable URL, provide the general URL for the tool.
MLA Works In-Text Citation Example for the full Works Cited citation above

MLA Formula for In-Text Citation with no author and no page number:

("Shortened Title").

 

Example  (“Describe the theme”).
In-Text and Paraphrase and In-Text Quote

Note:

  • To introduce your in-text paraphrase or quote, refer to the prompt you used in the AI tool

Example:

When asked to describe the  theme of nature in Mansfield Park, ChatGPT indicated that physical locations like Mansfield Park and Sotherton reflect the morality and choices of the people who live in them (“Describe the theme”).

Accessible Digital Works Cited Example (check with your instructor before using this style)

The following citation is for a content generated from an AI prompt:

“Describe the theme of nature in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park” prompt. ChatGPT, model GPT-4o, OpenAI, 23 Sept. 2024. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

Part of the Formula Example Explanation
Author.   MLA style does not recommend treating an AI tool as an author
Title of Source. “Describe the theme of nature in Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park” prompt. Describe what was generated by the AI tool. This may involve including information about the prompt in the Title of Source element if you have not done so in the text.  Hyperlink the text for accessible Works Cited entries
Title of Container, ChatGPT name the AI tool
Contributors,  
Version, model GPT-4o, Name the specific AI model or model version as specifically as possible. For instance, this example was developed using the GPT-4o model of ChatGPT.
Number,  
Publisher, OpenAI, Name the company that made the tool.
Publication date, 23 Sept. 2024. Give the date the content was generated.
Location.    

There are not yet official MLA Guidelines on how to cite artificial intelligence-created-sources.(AI)

However the MLA Style Team is working on ways to address citing these types of tools. Below are their suggestions from the blog How Do I Cite Generative AI in MLA Style? which follows the Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations .  These guidelines may change. When they do, they will be updated here.

  • For images generated by AI, follow the same citation formula for text generated by AI.
  • If you include the full citation below the image and the image is not cited elsewhere in the essay or presentation, you do not need to include the full citation in the Works Cited page.
  • Below the image include: Fig. 1

Example:

Anteater Playing a Guitar while Balancing on a Ball

Fig. 1. "Create a graphic-novel-style image of an anteater playing a guitar while balancing on a ball," prompt. DALL-E, version 2, OpenAI, 18 Apr. 2023, labs.openai.com.

Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations (9th Edition)

Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations

Include as much of the following as possible:

Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, Contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date Accessed.

Elements of a Citation and Examples
Part of the Formula Examples and Explanation
Author. •    one author: Last Name, rest of name as presented in the source. (example: Williams, Fred Laurence.)
•    two authors: reverse name of first author followed by a comma, then second author’s first name and then last name. (example: Cordell, Barbara, and Jane Buckle.)
•    more than two authors: reverse the name of the first author, follow with a comma and et al.  (example: Browne, Charlene, et al.)
Title of Source. • Put name of source in italics.
• HOWEVER, if citing an article or only part of the source, instead put that title in quotation marks with no italics: “Article Name.”

Title of Container,

 • When the source is part of a larger whole, the larger whole can be thought of as a container (example: a whole book is a container for a book chapter)
• Put the title of the container in italics (if you have cited an article or part of the whole source container)
Contributors, Example: edited by,
Version, Example: 7th ed.,
Number, Any numbered sequence. Example: vol. 3, no. 7
Publisher, (however, no publisher is required for articles)
Publication date, date as given on source but following this date style: 28 Jan. 2020,
Location.

• Example of website: www.cnn.com (do not include http:// in the URL)
• Example of chapter pages in a hardcopy book: pp. 250-259.
• Example of article from database: pp. 195-212. ProQuest Research Library,
https://doi.org/10.1000/182
**if no “DOI,” include stable URL or “permalink” without the http://

 

Quick Guide - MLA

Quick Guide - MLA Citation Style

Automatic Citation Generator

NoodleTools

Access online tutorials using the links below: