Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guide: Citations: ARTICLES - MLA Works Cited

Basic Formula For MLA Works Cited Citations
Include as much of the following as possible:
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, Contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication Date, Location. Date Accessed.

Author.

•    one author: Last Name, rest of name as presented in the source. (example: Williams, Fred Laurence.)
•    two authors: reverse name of first author followed by a comma, then second author’s first name and then last name. (example: Cordell, Barbara, and Jane Buckle.)
•    more than two authors: reverse the name of the first author, follow with a comma and et al.  (example: Browne, Charlene, et al.) 

Title of Source. Put name of source in italics. **However, if citing an article or part of the source, put that title in quotation marks with no italics: "Article Name."
Title of Container, •    When the source is part of a larger whole, the larger whole can be thought of as a container (example: a whole book is a container for a book chapter)
•    Put the title of the container in italics (if you have cited an article or part of the whole source container)
Contributors, Example: Edited by,
Version, Example: 7th ed.
Number, Any numbered sequence. Example: vol. 3, no. 7,
Publisher, (none required for articles)
Publication Date, Date as given on source with the following style: day, month (abbreviated). year,. Example: 8 Sep. 2019,
**If season is given, use lower-case. Example: spring 2020,
Location.

•    Example of website: www.cnn.com
do not include http:// in the URL
•    Example of chapter pages in a hardcopy book: pp. 250-259.
•    Example of article from database: pp. 195-212. ProQuest Research Library, https://doi.org/10.3149/jmh.1203.195.
**if no “DOI,” include stable URL or “permalink” without the http://

Citation Examples

The following citation is for an article, a report, located within the database CQ Researcher.

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.gree
nriver.edu/cqresearcher/document.php?id=cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

MLA Works Cited Citations Formula Example
Author, Cooper, Mary H.
Title of Source. America's Pampered Pets.
Title of Container, CQ Researcher
Contributors,  
Version,  
Number, vol. 6, no. 48
Publisher, CQ Researcher Online
Publication date, 27 Dec. 1996
Location. pp. 1129-52
Additional Container
Title of Container,  
Contributors,  
Version,  
Number,   
Publisher,  
Publication date,  
Location.

ezproxy.greenriver.edu:

2048/login?url=http://library.

cqpress.com.ezproxy.

greenriver.edu/

cqresearcher/cqresrre

1996122700

Access date. Accessed 6 Nov. 2020.

The following citation is for a print copy of a newspaper article.

Schafer, Sarah. "Home Offices Get Hard Look." Washington Post, late ed., 5 Jan. 2000, sec. E, p. 1. 

This table shows how the elements of this citation look within the MLA formula template.

MLA Works Cited Citations Formula Example
Author. Schafer, Sarah.
Title of Source. "Home Offices Get Hard Look."
Title of Container, Washington Post,
Contributors,  
Version, late ed,
Number,  
Publisher,  
Publication date, 5 Jan. 2000
Location. sec. E, p. 1.
Additional Container
Title of Container,                                
Contributors,  
Version,  
Number,   
Publisher,  
Publication date,  
Location.

 

Access date.  

**Note: If this were not a print newspaper, but one accessed electronically through the databases, then you would fill in the additional container with the name of the database (Title of Container), the full URL to the article (Location), and the date you accessed it (Access date). 

Using "Containers" in MLA

The 8th edition of the MLA handbook introduced one standard citation format that applies to every source type. Additionally, citations no longer indicate format. Instead, in the new MLA style, citations are built around the concept of containers. So what is a container?

A website, a book, a journal, and a newspaper are all examples of containers, because each contains content. You can have containers within containers too. It may sound complicated, but use the formula and fill in the information you have for a source and you'll soon have a citation. In the blue chart here, you can see the formula with some examples.

Below is a link to an MLA practice template that you can print and use to help you create citations. 

Citing Articles from Library Databases- MLA

Articles from Library Databases

Article from a database:

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher, vol. 6, no. 48, 27 Dec. 1996, pp. 1129-52. CQ Researcher Online, library.cqpress.com.ezproxy.greenriver.edu/cqresearcher/docu
ment.php?id=
cqres. Accessed 6 Nov. 2000.

Journal article from a database:

Doyle, Christine. "Louisa May Alcott: New Texts and Contexts." Children's Literature. vol.27, 1999, pp. 211-17. ProQuest. search.proquest.com/docview/195572106?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.

Journal article from a database with a doi:

DeMaria, Anthony N. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Journal of the American College of Cardiology, vol. 42, no. 2, 2003, pp. 373-74. ProQuest Periodicals, https://doi.og/10.1016/S0735-1097(03)00800-3. Accessed 15 Sept. 2016. 

Journal article with two authors:

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian, vol. 33, no. 4, 2006, pp. 28-31. Academic OneFile, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=20502611&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 20 Oct. 2003.

Journal article with three or more authors:

Brinkworth, Grant D., et al. "Long-Term Effects of a very-Low-Carbohydrate Weight Loss Diet Compared with an Isocaloric Low-Fat Diet After 12 Mo."  American Journal of Clinical Nutrition, vol. 90. no. 1, 2009,p.23.ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/231940252?accountid=1558 Accessed 15 Sep. 2016.

*for 3 or more authors, just list the first author (last, first), followed by et. al. as shown here.

Journal article with no author:

Anonymous. "Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy" Journal of Financial Planning, vol. 20, no. 11, Nov. 2007, p. 14. ProQuest Research Library, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/217550151?accountid=1558. Accessed 15 Jan. 2008.

Newspaper article:

Berthelsen, Christian. "Mattel Sues Publisher Over Barbie Essays." New York Times, late ed., 6 Dec. 1999, sec. C, p. 18. ProQuest Periodicals, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/431324106?accountid=1558. Accessed 4 June 2013.

Magazine article:

Fowler, Paige. "The Imperfect Man's Guide To Perfect Health." Men's Health, vol.30, no. 10, Dec. 2015, pp. 70-72. Academic Search Complete, ezproxy.greenriver.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/ login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=11067671
8&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 15 Sept. 2016. 

Original Content in a Database:

"Nursing Assistants - Duties." Career Planner, SchoolData. Accessed 20 Nov.
     2020.

Citing Articles from PRINT Journals, Magazines & Newspapers - MLA

Various Kinds of Articles in Print Format

Articles in journals paginated by volume:

Watson, James and Francis Crick. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Nature. vol.171, 1953, pp. 937.

Articles in journals paginated by issue

Jones, Howard Mumford. “The Attractions of Stupidity.” St. Croix Review. vol. 30, no. 2, 1997, pp. 6-10.

Articles in weekly or biweekly magazines

Jasper, William F. “Good Cop, Bad Cop: Alarming Expansion and Bad Police Work Define Today’s FBI.” New American,  vol.  30,  May 1997, p. 226.

Articles in monthly or bimonthly magazines

Gerry, Ross. “Tempo Training for Freestyle.” Swimming Technique,  Apri.-Jun.,1997, pp. 40-42. 

 Unsigned articles in magazines

"The Guv'nor." Inside Soap, 21 Jan. 2000, pp. 12-13. 

Articles in daily newspapers

Munsey, Christopher, and P. J. Shuey. "Bomb Threats to Become Felony." Capital [Annapolis], 8 May 1997, sec. A, p. 1.

Schafer, Sarah. "Home Offices Get Hard Look." Washington Post, late ed., 5 Jan. 2000, sec. E, p. 1. 

Unsigned articles in newspapers

"Hog Farmers Squabble Over Pork Promotion." The Sun [Baltimore], Howard County ed., 5 Jan. 2000, sec. 3C. 

Editorials in newspapers

Krauthammer, Charles. "Why Feed a Mortal Enemy?" Washington Post, late ed., 25 Apr. 1997, A27 sec. Editorial. 

Letters to the Editors of newspapers

Beckman, Allyson. Letter. The Sun [Baltimore] 2 Nov. 2006, late ed., D10 sec.

Reviews of books

Eakin, Emily. "Uncovering an Interracial Literature of Love… and Racism." Review of An Anthology of Interracial Literature: Black-White Contacts in the Old World and the New, by Werner Sollors. Washington Post, 17 Apr. 2004, sec. B, p. 9. 

Stone, John. "An Intimate Journal.” Rev. of Running Late, by Dannie Abse. The Lancet, vol. 368, no. 9538, 2006, p. 833. 

Reviews of films

Wrathall, John. Review of That Thing You Do!, directed by Tom Hanks. Sight and Sound, Feb. 1997, p. 57. 

Chang, Justin. "Brawny 'X-Men' Spawn." Review of X-Men Origins: Wolverine, directed by Gavin Hood. Daily Variety 30 Apr. 2009, pp. 1-2. 

Automatic Citation Generator

NoodleTolls icon

NoodleTools

automatically generates citations
in the correct format!

Quick Guide - MLA