Holman Library Databases

Databases for Health & Nursing

KCLS Health-Related Databases to Consider
  • ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database
  • PTSDpubs

KCLS/GRC Log In Instructions

For Students:

Green River College students have access to the KCLS databases:

  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
  • Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
  • Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23
For Faculty/Staff:

Faculty & Staff may sign up for access to KCLS Online Databases. To opt-in, complete the online sign-up form linked below.

Useful General Collections

Background information

Information on current issues

Newspaper, magazine, and journal articles

Tips: How to Search in Different Databases

 

CINAHL Database

Video Tutorial: How to Search EBSCO databases (including CINAHL)

Advanced Searching in CINAHL

 

Search tips and options in EBSCO databases (common databases include Academic Search Complete, CINAHL Ultimate, Business Source Complete, Pyschology and Behavioral Science Collection)

CONSTRUCT A SEARCH

(click on image to enlarge) Option: Use quotation marks to keep a phrase together in your search Option: Use AND to connect ideas and narrow your search Option: In the same box, use OR to expand your search to synonyms or related concepts Option: Limit your results to full text so that you can read articles immediately. If you do not apply this limiter, it is ok - - you will see more results, but some of those you may need to request through the free Interlibrary Loan service to read the full text. Option: Limit to "peer-reviewed" to find highly credible scholarly articles Option: Set customized limits on publication date

 

(click on image to enlarge) Some databases offer additional limiters below the search boxes Option: Choose limiters that make sense for your search The more limiters you choose, then the fewer, more focused, and maybe more relevant results you will have. If you are not finding enough results, remove some of the limiters

 

SEARCH RESULTS

(click on image to enlarge)

Under "Access Options" some search results offer full-text of articles so that you can read them immediately

(click on image to enlarge)

Some search results do not offer full text. Click to check if other databases offer full text for you. If not, a page will indicate that no full text is available. However, you can follow the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" links on that page to request the article for free

 

MORE INFO ABOUT A SPECIFIC ARTICLE

(click on image to enlarge)

Click on the title of an article to find out more about it and to determine if it is relevant to your needs

(click on image to enlarge)

Click the quotation mark icon to find the citation for this article Choose your citation style (APA, MLA...etc.) Make sure this computer-generated citation matches standard citation format Click Access Options to show your options to read the full text of this article Click the arrow icon to share/save this document to email or use the "create a link" option to create a persistent, stable link to this article

(click on image to enlarge)

Under “Additional Information” Find other helpful info about this article Journal Name = Ageing & Society Publication Date = Nov2024 Volume # and Issue # = 44(11) Page numbers = 2376-2396

(click on image to enlarge)

Note helpful subject terms that you can use in subsequent searches that you perform Read the abstract (article summary) to determine if the article is relevant to your needs

(click on image to enlarge)

A DOI (digital object identifier) is a persistent link to the article on the journal's website. A DOI is also part of the citation for the article

 

Video Tutorial: Using CINAHL MeSH Subject Headings

Source: "Using the CINAHL/MeSH Headings Feature in the New EBSCOhost User Interface - Tutorial" by EBSCO Tutorials, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to search using the CINAHL/MeSH subject headings feature in order to find more relevant articles.

Searching Nursing & Allied Health Source

ProQuest Video Tutorials

How to Refine a Search & Select and Cite Sources

Source: "Search Results" by ProQuest Training, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to sort, refine, and filter your search results in ProQuest Research Library.

Advanced Searching

Source: "Advanced Search" by ProQuest Training, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to use the advanced search function in ProQuest Research Library including using parameters to narrow your search results and the thesaurus to ensure your search terms yield the best results.

Searching PubMed

PubMed Overview Tutorial

Source: "PubMed Advanced Search" by USC Libraries, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to build an advanced search, filter results, and save useful results in PubMed.

Other PubMed Tutorials

PubMed Online Training

PubMed User Guide FAQs

How do you tell if an article in PubMed comes from a peer-reviewed journal?

You cannot limit a PubMed search to peer-reviewed or refereed journals; however, most journals indexed for PubMed are peer-reviewed.

If you find an article (example: Guidelines for the nursing management of gestational diabetes mellitus: An integrative literature review), you can

1. Click on the journal title (in the above example: Nurs Open)

2. To see more info about that journal, click: Search in NLM Catalog 

3. On the journal info page, you will know the journal is peer-reviewed  if you see: Current Indexing Status: Currently indexed for MEDLINE

4. If you see: Current Indexing Status: Not currently indexed for MEDLINE, you may have to search in other library databases or the journal's website to determine its peer-review status

 

Useful Research Guides in Health & Nursing

Tags: website