Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guide: Citations: MLA Presentation Slides Citations Example

Tips for Citing Images

Reproducing Images, Charts, Tables & Graphs

Reproducing happens when you copy or recreate an image, table, graph or chart that is not your original creation. If you reproduce one of these works in your assignment, you must create a note underneath the image, chart, table or graph to show where you found it. 

Citing Information From an Image, Chart, Table or Graph

If you refer to information from an image, chart, table or graph, but do not reproduce it in your paper, create a citation both in-text and on your Reference list.

If the information is part of another format, for example a book, magazine article, encyclopedia, etc., cite the work it came from. For example if information came from a table in an article in National Geographic magazine, you would cite the entire article.

If you are only making a passing reference to a well known image, you would not have to cite it, e.g. describing someone as having a Mona Lisa smile.

Figure Numbers

Each image you reproduce should be assigned a figure number, starting with number 1 for the first image used in the assignment.

Title

Images may not have a set title. If this is the case give a description of the image where you would normally put the title.

Copyright Information

When reproducing images, include copyright information in the citation if it is given, including the year and the copyright holder. Copyright information on a website may often be found at the bottom of the home page.

Using Images in a Presentation

Citing Images During your Oral Presentation

When you show a PowerPoint or other visuals in an oral presentation, you need to provide a caption to cite your source as you speak  

MLA guidelines for illustrative visual material other than tables (photos, maps, graph, chart, line drawing, etc.):

  • Images should be labeled Figure (usually abbreviated Fig.), assigned a numeral and given a caption (information about the source)
  • Type both label and caption directly below the image
  • If the caption provides complete bibliographic information about the source and the source is not otherwise cited in the text, no entry is needed for the source in the works cited list
  • If full bibliographic details are provided in the caption, punctuate the caption like a works-cited entry but do not invert the name of the creator
  • Otherwise, use commas to separate elements in a caption and provide full publication details in the works-cited list

example:

photograph Doreothea_Lange_Toward_LA_1937

Fig.1. Dorothea Lange. "Toward Los Angeles, California." 1937. Library of Congress: Farm Security Administration.

MLA guidelines for tables:

  • A table is usually labeled Table, numbered and titled
  • Type both label and title on separate lines above the table, capitalize as you would a title (not all caps)
  • Place the source of the table and any notes in a caption immediately below the table (designate notes to the table with lowercase letters rather than numerals)
  • Contents of the table should be double-spaced
  • Use dividing lines as needed for clarity
  • If the caption provides complete bibliographic information about the source and the source is not otherwise cited in the text, no entry is needed for the source in the works cited list
  • If full bibliographic details are provided in the caption, punctuate the caption like a works-cited entry but do not invert the name of the creator
  • Otherwise, use commas to separate elements in a caption and provide full publication details in the works-cited list

example:

Table 1                                                                                                                                                       Title of Table, Capitalized.

Year Option 1 Option 2
2001 20,001 120,001
2002 20,002 120,002
2003 20,003 120,003

Source information for the table. If the caption provides complete bibliographic information about the source and the source is not otherwise cited in the text, no entry is needed for the source in the works cited list

  a. Any notes about the information presented in the table. 

Additional Resources

Quick Guide - MLA