One Book 2021-2022: So You Want to Talk about Race

One Book Research and Resource Guide for "So You Want to Talk About Race"

Dig Deeper into Your Research - by Source Type and Resource

Background Articles

Getting background info on your topic is a great place to start your research.

Learn about the history, issues, stakeholders, terminology, and more - before searching for more complex information.

Background sources are also a great place to find keywords on a topic and leads to helpful resources.

Newspaper and Magazine articles

Use the links below to search in library databases for current news and analysis of the news. You can also find editorials and opinion on the op-ed pages.

Search tips:
  • Search by keyword to find relevant sources. Look for additional relevant keywords as you search.
  • Limit to "full-text" if you need to access only articles that you can immediately download. 
  • Set an appropriate date limit to find current enough information.
  • To limit your search to only magazine and/or new articles, select magazines or newspapers at Publication Type.
  • If you choose newspaper articles, look for substance! Try limiting to cover story, feature, front page for longer articles.
  • You can limit to editorials or opinion to find argumentative essays on current issues.
Search directly in Newspaper collections:
Local Sources: 

Streaming films

Use the library's Films on Demand database to find streaming educational films & journalism in order to learn more about your topic.

Accessing films through KCLS 

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System. 

King County Library System logo

 

Use the links below to find streaming videos!
  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
  • Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
  • Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

Steaming Video Databases
  • Access Video
  • Hoopla
  • Kanopy

Radio & Podcasts

Print books

You can easily limit to just printed, physical books that you can check out and/or use inside the library. Search titles, authors, or keywords in the box below. Once you find a title, jot down the Call Number and be sure to ask a librarian for help locating items on the shelves.

Holman Library logo


Electronic Books

Use the database links below to go directly to the library's collection of ebooks. Be sure to search by title, author, or just general keywords.

Find the Arguments in Editorials, Viewpoints, & Opinion

Use the resources below to find a range of informed opinion on your topics.

Source: " Legal Research Tutorial: Finding Case Law Using Google Scholar " by Library of Congress , is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Step into the Scholarly Conversation

The library has over 100 databases, all housing books and articles from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, and more. The databases linked below have a mix of content in them. Be sure to select Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals to find scholarship.

Search using keywords or subject terms, and be sure to limit to full-text if you need to access only articles that you can immediately access/download now. You may also use InterLibrary Loan to request articles from other libraries free of charge.

Holman Library Databases
Open Access Online Legal Archives

Holman Library logo

Use Holman Library One Search to:
  • Search for a range of source types at once, including books, articles, audiovisual, and more from Holman Library
  • Get an overview of information on a subject
  • Track down citations
  • Connect your key ideas with AND or OR in the Advanced Search.
  • Use filters on the left to limit by specific source type, date range, and more.

Finding Sources on the Web

You will find a range of Web sources throughout the pages of this research guide, from advocacy and activist organizations, research institutes, not-for-profit support agencies, and governmental sources. 

As with any source, be sure to assess for:

  • authority and expertise (authority is contextual, and it may range from firsthand experience to academic study)
  • bias
  • currency
  • reliability
  • purpose
Tips for effective Web searching:

Target specific source types with URL searching within specific domains. 

  • site:.gov for governmental sources (variant: site:wa.gov for a state government)
  • site:.org for sites registered as not-for-profit (assess! Some are organizations working on an issue. Use the About Us tab to learn more about their perspective. You will also find some news sources, wikipedia, and other .orgs).
  • site:.edu for education sites (beware student work you find online. .edu does not guarantee scholarly)
  • site:.mil for military info
  • site:.com for commercial websites (news sources are usually .coms. In other words, we don't need to throw out all .coms!) 

You can also use Google Advanced Search, linked below.

(Click on video to open in another window)
Source: "Searching Google Effectively" by Joshua Vossler, UWF Libraries, Educational use.

Why Use Different Source Types?

Using a Variety of Resources

Different types of articles give you different perspectives on your issue

Newspaper articles
  • Good for facts and up-to-date information.
  • They often provide little analysis of a topic, and may not provide much background especially if it is an ongoing issue.
  • Some newspaper articles can share similarities with popular magazine articles.
Popular Magazine articles
  • Good for summarizing information on a topic for the general public.
  • They often provide some background, summarize research findings, and may provide some analysis of a topic.
  • In addition they sometimes provide the "human side" of an issue by featuring the story of a person or people affected by that issue.
Trade Journal articles
  • Good for finding articles written for specific professions (police officer, veterinarian...etc.)
  • They may offer analysis of how an issue affects the profession.
Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed or Academic Journal articles
  • Good to find results of scientific or academic research.
  • They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a very specific area of your topic.

Related guides

More info?

The pages/tabs in this guide are all aimed at linking you to information on the various CJ topics in this guide. However, you might find it useful to take a look at the following guides for more resources and tutorials.