Green River LibGuides: One Book 2021-2022: So You Want to Talk about Race: Is It Really about Race?

Understanding the Impact and Areas of Racial Disparities

Articles
Videos

(click on image to enlarge)

-Image from the linked PDF below "What Racism Looks Like: An Infographic"

Chapter 1: Is It Really About Race?

A Closer Look at the Data

Yes! The inequality seen in all facets of American life can be directly attributed to systemic and institutional racism. The images and links in this box aim to point you to the data that clearly shows the presence of racial disparities.

America's Enduring Racial Caste System
By Isabel Wilkerson, author or Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents. Article published in New York Times Magazine, July 2020

Income & Wealth

6 facts about economic inequality in the U.S. A 2020 article from the Pew Research Center
15 Charts That Prove We’re Far From Post-Racial A 2017 article from Huffington Post
Stanford Scholars Examine Systemic Racism, How to Advance Racial Justice in America A2021 interactive article about systemic racism, with links to other sub-topical areas impacted by racism, from Stanford News
Constitutional Racism a 2020 article from Civil Rights Movements: Past and Present
Disparities in Wealth by Race and Ethnicity in the 2019 Survey of Consumer Finances A 2020 article from the Federal Reserve
Economics and Race a 2020 article from Civil Rights Movements: Past and Present
Examining The Black-white Wealth Gap A 2020 article from Brookings
In 1870, Henrietta Wood Sued for Reparations—and Won A 2019 article from the Smithsonian Magazine
On Views of Race and Inequality, Blacks and Whites Are Worlds Apart A 2016 article from the Pew Research Center
The Perils of Racial Progress Narratives A 2020 article from Racism in America: A Reference Handbook
Racial Economic Inequality An article from Inequality.Org
Systematic Inequality: How America's Structural Racism Helped Create the Black-White Wealth Gap A 2018 from the Center for American Progress
Systemic Racism A 2014 article from Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Talking About Race: Social Identities And Systems of Oppression Part of the larger portal resource of Talking About Race, from the National Museum of African American History and Culture
Wealth Inequality: Perpetuation and Persistence a 2016 article from People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration

Employment, Hiring Processes & Job Conditions

African Americans Face Systematic Obstacles to Getting Good Jobs A 2019 article from the Center for American Progress
Gap In U.S. Black And White Unemployment Rates Is Widest In Five Years A 2020 article from Reuters
On the Persistence of the Black-White Unemployment Gap a 2020 article from the Center for American Progress
Race And Underemployment In The US Labor Market A 2019 article from Brookings
Race in the Labor Market: The Role of Equal Employment Opportunity and Other Policies A 2019 article from The Russell Sage Foundation Journal of the Social Sciences
Why Are Employment Rates So Low Among Black Men? A 2021 article from Brookings

Health, Life Expectancy, & Healthcare

Note: Includes disparities in access to healthy, nutritious, and affordable food

Examining the Impact of Structural Racism on Food Insecurity: Implications for Addressing Racial/Ethnic Disparities A 2018 article from the journal Family Community Health
Food Deserts and Health A 2016 article from People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration
Health Concerns From COVID-19 Much Higher Among Hispanics and Blacks Than Whites A 2020 article from Pew Research Center
Health Inequality Actually Is a “Black and White Issue”, Research Says A 2020 article from Michigan Health
Implicit Bias and Racial Disparities in Health Care An article from the American Bar Association
Introduction to COVID-19 Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities A 2020 article from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Food Insufficiency Persist during the Pandemic A 2020 article of the Urban Wire, a blog of the Urban Institute
Racism and Health: Evidence and Needed Research A 2019 article from the Annual Review of Public Health
Why Black, Indigenous and Other People of Color Experience Greater Harm During the Pandemic an article from Smithsonian

Housing, Neighborhood & Physical Environment

Note: Includes disparities with public transportation

A 'Forgotten History' Of How The U.S. Government Segregated America A 2017 article and audio by Terry Gross on NPR
Black Home Ownership - If You Don’t Know, Now You Know (The Daily Show) A video from The Daily Show
Environmental Racism a 2020 article from Civil Rights Movements: Past and Present
Housing a 2020 article from Civil Rights Movements: Past and Present
Housing Segregation and Redlining in America: A Short History (CodeSwitch) A video from CodeSwitch on NPR
The Latent Racism of the Better Homes in America Program A 2020 article from JSTOR Daily
The Racial Segregation of American Cities Was Anything But Accidental A 2017 article from the Smithsonian
Redlining a 2020 article from Civil Rights Movements: Past and Present
Segregation in America A report from the Equal Justice Initiative

Policing, Mass Incarceration & Criminal Justice

The Brazen Daylight Police Murder of George Floyd and The Racist Origin of American Policing A 2021 article from the Fourth World Journal
Crime and Race, Class, and Ethnicity A 2019 article from Race and Ethnicity in America: From Pre-contact to the Present
The History of Policing And Race In The U.S. Are Deeply Intertwined A 2019 article/6 minute listen, All Things Considered, from NPR
The History of Policing in the United States A 6 part article series by "Dr. Gary Potter is a professor of online and on-campus courses for the EKU School of Justice Studies"
How Racist Policing Took Over American Cities, Explained By A Historian a 2020 article from Vox
The Long, Painful History of Police Brutality in the U.S. A 2017 article from the Smithsonian
The Police Are Killing One Group at a Staggering Rate, and Nobody Is Talking About It. A 2015 article from Mic.com
Police Brutality a 2014 article from Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
Race Distinctions In American Law (1910) A 1910 book written by Gilbert Stephenson, digitized on Archive.org
Racial Disparities in Sentencing: ACLU
Report to the United Nations on Racial Disparities in the U.S. Criminal Justice System April 2018 from the Sentencing Project
The White Man's Burden; a Discussion of the Interracial Question With Special Reference to the Responsibility of the White Race to the Negro Problem A book, written circa 1910, regarding race in America.
A Year After George Floyd Killing, Fewer Americans Support Black Lives Matter Movement, Poll Finds A 2021 article from Forbes.com

Education

Black-White Achievement Gap a 2015 article from The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
Black Male Students from Preschool Through High School a 2016 article from People of Color in the United States: Contemporary Issues in Education, Work, Communities, Health, and Immigration
Educational Achievement Gap a 2014 article from Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic
The Racism of History Textbooks A 2015 article from JSTOR Daily
Stanford Scholars Develop Interventions to Reduce Disparities in School Discipline and Support Belonging Among Negatively Stereotyped Boys A 2019 article from Stanford News
Teachers More Likely to Label Black Students as Troublemakers, Stanford Research Shows A 2015 article from Stanford News
Structural Racism at a Glance: Education Infographic from Erasing Racism
To Understand Structural Racism, Look To Our Schools A 2020 article from the Seattle Times

At Green River College

Take a look at the images and link below to see how the numbers break down at Green River College for the 2019-2020 academic year (See: Fact Sheets).

(click on image to enlarge)

grc student dempographics showing 41% white students, 23% Asians, 14% Hispanic, 9% 2 or more races, 7% Black/African american, 3% other race, and 1% of both Pacific Islander and American Indian

(click on image to enlarge)

GRC employee - chart showing the number of full time and part time faculty by "female" and "of color" as well as those same factors for Classified Staff and exempt staff - showing less than 35% people of color in overall employement

Institutional Effectiveness: Data and Research Data about Green River College programs, students, finances. Also includes links to some County, State and Federal data sources.

Is Structural Racism Real?

View categories below to find featured videos on the topics.

How Structural Racism Works: Tricia Rose A lecture at Brown University
Inside the Mind of White America A 2016 video from BBC News
Marley Dias talks Institutional Racism A 2016 video from the National Education Association
Under Our Skin: What Do We Mean When We Talk About Race? A multimedia project by The Seattle Times
The Race Gap: How U.S. systemic racism plays out in Black lives A video from Reuters
Racism in America: A History in Three Acts A lecture by Goucher College
Racism Is Real -Systematic Racism Explained - Black Lives Matter A video from Brave New Films
What Are Structural, Institutional And Systemic Racism?
White Supremacy: The Rise and Spread in America A video from the Daily Show

Slave Narratives

Main Collection

How to Be an Antiracist

Main Collection

Massive Resistance: The White Response to the Civil Rights Movement

Main Collection

Civil Rights in the United States

Reference Collection--in-library use only

Featured Article

"Racism, and the implicit biases, explicit stereotypes, and microaggressions that feed this beast, is part of Western socialization and conditions that convince society that whiteness, maleness, Christianity, affluence, thinness, able-bodiedness and the like are what is desirable at all costs. Anything and anyone else not within these norms are not valuable and should be eliminated; anything and anyone that exists outside these norms are easily marginalized and dismissed."

- Nicole Cooke

Tell Me Sweet Little Lies: Racism as a Form of Persistent Malinformation
A 2021 article by Nicole Cooke, from the Hypothesis