Our children believe that justice for people of color includes all people of color. And our children are not willing to let anything slide. Our kids are fighting for a world more just and more righteous than we had ever dared to dream of. The debates we have about gay marriage, transgender bathroom rights, immigration, whether it's all lives matter" or "black lives matter" have been largely settled in the social world of our youth and they are looking at us dismayed and perplexed at why we just don't get it. In the days after the election of Donald Trump, my older son and a few hundred of his classmates walked out of class and marched to city hall. They were angry and frightened. They had been working so hard to build a better, more inclusive world, and we adults had just royally fucked it up for them. My son sent me video of the protest and I posted it online. Quite a few adults commented: "Shouldn't these kids be learning instead of protesting?" But they had been learning, far more than we apparently had, and that was why they were protesting.
-From "So You Want to Talk About Race" Chapter 13
Highlighted below are just a few of the larger issues concerning race and education in the US. Use the links below to access the articles, and consider the "Dig Deeper into Your Research" tab of this guide to search for more articles on these topics within the library's subject-specific databases like ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) or Academic Search Complete.
The following articles come either from subject-specific encyclopedias (overview articles), or from popular sources like websites, magazines, and newspapers.
Use the links below to access scholarly journal articles, either found freely online, or accessed through the library's databases.
The following articles come either from subject-specific encyclopedias (overview articles), or from popular sources like websites, magazines, and newspapers.
Use the links below to access scholarly journal articles, either found freely online, or accessed through the library's databases.
The following articles come either from subject-specific encyclopedias (overview articles), or from popular sources like websites, magazines, and newspapers.
Use the links below to access scholarly journal articles, either found freely online or accessed through the library's databases by logging in when prompted.
The following articles come either from subject-specific encyclopedias (overview articles), or from popular sources like websites, magazines, and newspapers.
Use the links below to access scholarly journal articles, either found freely online, or accessed through the library's databases by logging in when prompted.
Videos can be a great place to get information. Linked below are some featured - both from the library's streaming collection, as well as videos on the web.
Everyday Antiracism : Getting Real About Race in School
by
Reclaiming Community: Race and the Uncertain Future of Youth Work
by
The Cultural Matrix: Understanding Black Youth.
by
After the Rebellion: Black Youth, Social Movement Activism, and the Post-Civil Rights Generation
by
