Green River LibGuides: S SCI 160 Introduction to Gender Studies (Marshman): Getting Started/ Browse for Topic Ideas

Explore Possible Topic Ideas

Explore Gender Topics in Current Issues Databases

Holman Library current issues databases are a good place to explore possible research topics.

Use them to get a sense of the complexity of issues and to find a focus for your research. Once you have your topic, you can also use them to start getting informed.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text viewpoint essays, topic overviews, journal articles, news, and statistics. A great place to find evidence to support argumentative essays.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more

Explore Current Issues

Holman Library current issues databases are a great place to explore possible research topics. Use them to generate ideas and to get a sense of the complexity of issues.

Explore Gender Topics in the News Media

Your topics are in the news! Explore the current conversation using library databases and a selection of news media.

Library Databases - Limit to Newspapers & Magazines

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)

Select Online News & Current Issues Sources

National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
On the Media
The media on the media - a fascinating, left-leaning examination of the latest in the news
TED Talks
Talks that cover the gamut of current issues. Explore talks by Topic, including Gender, Sexuality, and Intersectionality. Or search for a TED Talk on a specific subject. Be sure to asses: Is the speaker an expert on this topic?
The Atlantic (website)
Search The Atlantic's website for articles on topics related to U.S. society, politics, education,, business, or news. The magazine is available in print in Holman Library and online through 2018 in Academic One File.

Explore Gender Topics with the Library One Search

Use the One Search to browse for everything in our collection on a subject!

Browse the results to see who is talking about your topic - and what they focus on.

Click on a title to learn more about that source.

Holman Library One Search (All Library Resources)
Search this catalog to find books, ebooks, films, as well as articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Sample Search of Body Image AND teen* AND boys OR men

Where do I start?!

Begin your research:

I suggest starting with one or more project themes that interest you from your assignment.
Spend some initial time learning about the topics to decide what you want to focus on for the entire quarter.
Begin to build your understanding of your topic and refine you focus with background information that will help you understand what the topic is about. I call it mapping out the landscape of the topic. Identify WHO this is about, WHAT the issues are, WHY this is an issue, WHERE & WHEN this is an issue, HOW it is addressed
Start a list of keywords (search terms) that capture what you want to learn about
Use your keywords to search library tools for reference materials, books, news and multimedia, and scholarship
Narrow and focus your initial topic as you learn more.