Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

S SCI 160 Introduction to Gender Studies (Marshman): Using Reference for Topic Ideas and Background Info

A Guide to Research in Gender Studies - for students in Michelle Marshman's class

Start with Reference

Start your research project by gathering background information on your subject.

Use the library's print and online reference sources to provide:

  • overview
  • context
  • history
  • terminology
  • theory
  • directions to take your research...

Write down important keywords you find in your reference sources! You will use them to look for more information on your topic.

Online reference sources

Use the following online reference database for encyclopedia articles.

To use the catalog to search for online reference sources in our collection, enter your search terms and select Limit to: eBooks. Narrow your search results to reference materials by linking to add filter: Reference Collection.

Featured Print Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America

306.766 E56 2004

Queers in History: The Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Historical Gays, Lesbians, Bisexuals, and Transgenders

306/7609S839q 2009

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World’s Cultures

306.703E56 2003 

Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development

305/203E56 2009

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender

305.403E56 2001

Asian American History and Culture: An Encyclopedia

973.0495A8327 2010 

Domestic Violence: A Reference Handbook

362.829M133d 2008

Encyclopedia of Family Life

306.85 E56

Religion and American Cultures: An Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity, and Popular Expressions

200.973R3817 2003 

Class in America

305.5097C614 2007

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences

300.3I61 2008 

Encyclopedia of Religion in America

200/973E56 2010

Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion

200.82E56

Criminal Justice

345.7305C929 2006

Encyclopedia of Education

370.3E56e 2003

Encyclopedia of Racism in the United States

305/8E555 2005

American Decades 2000-2009

973.91A512 2000-09

Encyclopedia of Women and Sports

796.082S553e 1996

Spotlight on Reference