Nursing

This is a guide for GRC's nursing students.

Before you search...

BEFORE YOU SEARCH, make sure you know...

Find Different Research Study Types

Find Systematic Reviews & Meta-Analyses of Quantitative Studies

Use the linked tools in the key databases box on this page and employ some of these search strategies:

1. FIRST, use the PICO acronym to construct the basics of your question and identify key search words. Add those words to a database.

2. THEN, try adding the different strategies below to your key search words
(these will help narrow your results, but you still need to look at individual articles/abstracts and assess if they are systematic reviews or meta-analyses

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option - copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
      "systematic review*" OR "meta-analysis" OR "meta analysis" 
       
    • option-  in the search box type: systematic review and then choose "subject" from drop-down menu. In  the "OR" search box type: meta-analysis and then choose "subject" from the drop-down menu
  • PUBMED
    • option - after you search, click both Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis under the "article type" filter in the left-hand column
       
    • option - FIRST, add your specific topic words to the query box. Then copy and paste this text string into the search box and choose "add with AND"

      "systematic"[filter] OR "meta-analysis"[pt] OR "meta-analysis as topic"[mh] OR "meta analy*"[tw] OR metanaly*[tw] OR metaanaly*[tw] OR "met analy*"[tw] OR "integrative research"[tiab] OR "integrative review*"[tiab] OR "integrative overview*"[tiab] OR "research integration*"[tiab] OR "research overview*"[tiab] OR "collaborative review*"[tiab] OR "collaborative overview*"[tiab] OR "systematic review"[pt] OR "systematic reviews as topic"[mh] OR "systematic review*"[tiab] OR "technology assessment*"[tiab] OR "technology overview*"[tiab] OR "technology appraisal*"[tiab] OR "Technology Assessment, Biomedical"[mh] OR HTA[tiab] OR HTAs[tiab] OR "comparative efficacy"[tiab] OR "comparative effectiveness"[tiab] OR "outcomes research"[tiab] OR "indirect comparison*"[tiab] OR "Bayesian comparison"[tiab] OR (("indirect treatment"[tiab] OR "mixed-treatment"[tiab]) AND comparison*[tiab]) OR Embase*[tiab] OR Cinahl*[tiab] OR "systematic overview*"[tiab] OR "methodological overview*"[tiab] OR "methodologic overview*"[tiab] OR "methodological review*"[tiab] OR "methodologic review*"[tiab] OR "quantitative review*"[tiab] OR "quantitative overview*"[tiab] OR "quantitative synthes*"[tiab] OR "pooled analy*"[tiab] OR Cochrane[tiab] OR Medline[tiab] OR Pubmed[tiab] OR Medlars[tiab] OR handsearch*[tiab] OR "hand search*"[tiab] OR "meta-regression*"[tiab] OR metaregression*[tiab] OR "data synthes*"[tiab] OR "data extraction"[tiab] OR "data abstraction*"[tiab] OR "mantel haenszel"[tiab] OR peto[tiab] OR "der-simonian"[tiab] OR dersimonian[tiab] OR "fixed effect*"[tiab] OR "multiple treatment comparison"[tiab] OR "mixed treatment meta-analys*"[tiab] OR "umbrella review*"[tiab] OR (("multiple paramet*"[tiab]) AND ("evidence synthesis"[tiab])) OR (("multi-paramet*"[tiab]) AND ("evidence synthesis"[tiab])) OR ((multiparameter*[tiab]) AND ("evidence synthesis"[tiab])) OR "Cochrane Database Syst Rev"[Journal] OR "health technology assessment winchester, england"[Journal] OR "Evid Rep Technol Assess (Full Rep)"[Journal] OR "Evid Rep Technol Assess (Summ)"[Journal] OR "Int J Technol Assess Health Care"[Journal] OR "GMS Health Technol Assess"[Journal] OR "Health Technol Assess (Rockv)"[Journal] OR "Health Technol Assess Rep"[Journal]


 

  • CINAHL
    • option -  use this limiter if you want to make sure you capture more focused results:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Review - High Specificity
       
    • option -  use this limiter if you want to make sure you capture a broader range of results:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Review - High Sensitivity
       
    • option -  use this limiter if you want a balance between Sensitivity and Specificity:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Review - Best Balance
       
    • option FIRST, add your specific topic words to the search box. THEN copy and paste this text string into another search box connected with AND:

      (MH "meta analysis" OR MH "systematic review" OR MH "Technology, Medical/EV" OR PT "systematic review" OR PT "meta analysis" OR (((TI systematic* OR AB systematic*) N3 ((TI review* OR AB review*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*))) OR ((TI methodologic* OR AB methodologic*) N3 ((TI review* OR AB review*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*)))) OR (((TI quantitative OR AB quantitative) N3 ((TI review* OR AB review*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*) OR (TI synthes* OR AB synthes*))) OR ((TI research OR AB research) N3 ((TI integrati* OR AB integrati*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*)))) OR (((TI integrative OR AB integrative) N3 ((TI review* OR AB review*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*))) OR ((TI collaborative OR AB collaborative) N3 ((TI review* OR AB review*) OR (TI overview* OR AB overview*))) OR ((TI pool* OR AB pool*) N3 (TI analy* OR AB analy*))) OR ((TI "data synthes*" OR AB "data synthes*") OR (TI "data extraction*" OR AB "data extraction*") OR (TI "data abstraction*" OR AB "data abstraction*")) OR ((TI handsearch* OR AB handsearch*) OR (TI "hand search*" OR AB "hand search*")) OR ((TI "mantel haenszel" OR AB "mantel haenszel") OR (TI peto OR AB peto) OR (TI "der simonian" OR AB "der simonian") OR (TI dersimonian OR AB dersimonian) OR (TI "fixed effect*" OR AB "fixed effect*") OR (TI "latin square*" OR AB "latin square*")) OR ((TI "met analy*" OR AB "met analy*") OR (TI metanaly* OR AB metanaly*) OR (TI "technology assessment*" OR AB "technology assessment*") OR (TI HTA OR AB HTA) OR (TI HTAs OR AB HTAs) OR (TI "technology overview*" OR AB "technology overview*") OR (TI "technology appraisal*" OR AB "technology appraisal*")) OR ((TI "meta regression*" OR AB "meta regression*") OR (TI metaregression* OR AB metaregression*)) OR (TI meta-analy* OR TI metaanaly* OR TI "systematic review*" OR TI "biomedical technology assessment*" OR TI "bio-medical technology assessment*" OR AB meta-analy* OR AB metaanaly* OR AB "systematic review*" OR AB "biomedical technology assessment*" OR AB "bio-medical technology assessment*" OR MW meta-analy* OR MW metaanaly* OR MW "systematic review*" OR MW "biomedical technology assessment*" OR MW "bio-medical technology assessment*") OR ((TI medline OR AB medline OR MW medline) OR (TI cochrane OR AB cochrane OR MW cochrane) OR (TI pubmed OR AB pubmed OR MW pubmed) OR (TI medlars OR AB medlars OR MW medlars) OR (TI embase OR AB embase OR MW embase) OR (TI cinahl OR AB cinahl OR MW cinahl)) OR (SO Cochrane OR SO health technology assessment OR SO evidence report) OR ((TI comparative OR AB comparative) N3 ((TI efficacy OR AB efficacy) OR (TI effectiveness OR AB effectiveness))) OR ((TI "outcomes research" OR AB "outcomes research") OR (TI "relative effectiveness" OR AB "relative effectiveness")) OR (((TI indirect OR AB indirect) OR (TI "indirect treatment" OR AB "indirect treatment") OR (TI mixed-treatment OR AB mixed-treatment) OR (TI bayesian OR AB bayesian)) N3 (TI comparison* OR AB comparison*)) OR ((TI multi* OR AB multi*) N3 (TI treatment OR AB treatment) N3 (TI comparison* OR AB comparison*)) OR ((TI mixed OR AB mixed) N3 (TI treatment OR AB treatment) N3 ((TI meta-analy* OR AB meta-analy*) OR (TI metaanaly* OR AB metaanaly*))) OR (TI "umbrella review*" OR AB "umbrella review*") OR ((TI multi* OR AB multi*) N2 (TI paramet* OR AB paramet*) N2 (TI evidence OR AB evidence) N2 (TI synthesis OR AB synthesis)) OR ((TI multiparamet* OR AB multiparamet*) N2 (TI evidence OR AB evidence) N2 (TI synthesis OR AB synthesis)) OR ((TI multi-paramet* OR AB multi-paramet*) N2 (TI evidence OR AB evidence) N2 (TI synthesis OR AB synthesis))

Find Meta-Synthesis of Qualitative Studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option-  FIRST, add your specific topic words to the search box. Then add this word to the next search box combined with AND: Meta-Analysis
  • CINAHL
    • option -  In the Search Options or Refine Results, choose this filter: Meta-Analysis

Find Clinical Guidelines

  • INTERNET SEARCH
    • conduct an internet search using this formula:
      nursing "clinical guidelines" "your topic"
      OR
      nursing "practical guidelines" "your topic"

      example: nursing "clinical guidelines" "wound management"
      note that you will need to determine if the guidelines are evidence-based
  • ANY DATABASE
    • use the "Clinical Guidelines" links in the key databases box on this page to search for clinical guidelines using some of these search strategies:
      • search for a specific topic
      • search with this word: nursing
      • if provided, use "nursing" limiter or filter tools
      • search for guidelines published by nursing associations or organizations

 

  • CINAHL
    • option -  In the Search Options or Refine Results, choose this filter: Practical Guidelines

Find RCTs (randomized controlled trials)

Use the linked tools in the key databases box on this page and employ some of these search strategies:

1. FIRST, use the PICO acronym to construct the basics of your question and identify key search words. Add those words to a database.

2. THEN, try adding the different strategies below
(these will help narrow your results, but you still need to look at individual articles/abstracts and assess if they are qualitative studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option-  in the search box type: randomized controlled and then choose "subject" from drop-down menu
       
    • option (RECOMMENDED)- copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
      ("Randomized Controlled Trial" OR "randomized controlled study" OR "randomised controlled trial" OR "randomised controlled study" OR "Controlled Clinical Trial" or "Pragmatic Clinical Trial" or "Equivalence Trial" or "Clinical Trial, Phase III" OR "experimental controls" OR placebo OR "double-blind")

 

  • CINAHL
    • option -  in the search box type: (MH "Randomized Controlled Trials+")
  • PUBMED
    • Use Mesh subject heading = ""Randomized Controlled Trial" [Publication Type]"

Find Controlled Trials Without Randomization (quasi-experimental studies)

Use the linked tools in the key databases box on this page and employ some of these search strategies:

1. FIRST, use the PICO acronym to construct the basics of your question and identify key search words. Add those words to a database.

2. THEN, try adding the different strategies below
(these will help narrow your results, but you still need to look at individual articles/abstracts and assess if they are qualitative studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option (RECOMMENDED)- copy and paste the following text string into one search box: ("quasiexperimental" OR quasi-experimental" OR "non-random" OR "nonrandom" OR "quasi-random" OR "quasirandom")
  • CINAHL
    • option -  in the search box type: (MH "Nonrandomized Trials")

Find Cohort, Case Control, Cross-Sectional, Case Studies (non-experimental studies)

Use the linked tools in the key databases box on this page and employ some of these search strategies:

1. FIRST, use the PICO acronym to construct the basics of your question and identify key search words. Add those words to a database.

2. THEN, try adding the different strategies below
(these will help narrow your results, but you still need to look at individual articles/abstracts and assess if they are qualitative studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option (RECOMMENDED)- copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
      ("cohort study" OR "case control" or "cross-sectional study" OR "case study" OR  "case series" OR "nonexperimental studies" OR longitudinal OR "retrospective study" OR "prospective study")
  • CINAHL
    • option -  in the search box type: (MH "Prospective Studies") OR (MH "Cross Sectional Studies") OR (MH "Case Control Studies")
       
  • PUBMED
    •  in the search box type: ((("Cohort Studies"[Mesh]) OR "Case-Control Studies"[Mesh]) OR "Cross-Sectional Studies"[Mesh]) OR "Case Reports" [Publication Type]

Find Individual Qualitative Studies

Use the linked tools in the key databases box on this page and employ some of these search strategies:

1. FIRST, use the PICO acronym to construct the basics of your question and identify key search words. Add those words to a database.

2. THEN, try adding the different strategies below
(these will help narrow your results, but you still need to look at individual articles/abstracts and assess if they are qualitative studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option-  in the search box type: qualitative and then choose "subject" from drop-down menu
       
    • option - copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
      "qualitative research" OR "qualitative study" OR "qualitative methods" OR interview OR ethnograph* OR phenomenol* OR "grounded theory" OR "focus groups" OR "lived experience" OR "narrative"
       
    • option (RECOMMENDED) - copy and paste this text string into the search box to capture "high specificity" or more focused results:
      • FIRST copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
        "qualitative research" OR "qualitative study" OR "qualitative methods" OR interview OR ethnograph* OR phenomenol* OR "grounded theory" OR "focus groups" OR "lived experience" OR "narrative"
      • THEN, select NOT from the drop-down options of the next search box and copy and paste this text string into that one box:
        "Experimental Studies" OR "Nonexperimental Studies" OR "Quasi-Experimental Studies" OR “randomized controlled” OR “control group"
         
    • option - copy and paste this text string into the search box to capture "high sensitivity" or broader results:
      ethnograph* OR phenomenol* OR ethnonurs* OR "grounded theor*" OR "purposive sample" OR hermeneutic* OR heuristic* OR semiotics OR "lived experience" OR “lived experiences” OR narrative* OR "life experiences" OR "cluster sample" OR "action research" OR "observational method" OR "content analysis" OR "thematic analysis" OR "constant comparative method" OR “field study” OR “field study” OR "theoretical sample" OR "discourse analysis" OR "focus group" OR “focus groups” OR "ethnological research" OR ethnomethodolog* or interview OR interviews OR “qualitative validity” OR qualitative OR diaries OR “participant observation” OR “non-participant observation” OR “descriptive research”
       
  • PUBMED
    • Use Mesh subject heading = "Qualitative Research"


 

  • CINAHL
    • option -  use this limiter if you want to make sure you capture more focused results:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Qualitative - High Specificity
       
    • option -  use this limiter if you want to make sure you capture a broader range of results:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Qualitative - High Sensitivity
       
    • option -  use this limiter if you want a balance between Sensitivity and Specificity:
      Search Options > Clinical Queries > Qualitative - Best Balance
       
    • option (RECOMMENDED) - copy and paste this text string into the search box to capture "high specificity" or more focused results
      • FIRST copy and paste the following text string into one search box:
        (TI “qualitative”) or (AB “qualitative”) or (AB phenomonol*) OR (AB “grounded theory”) or (AB “focus groups”) or (MH "Qualitative Studies+") or (MM "Interviews+") or (MH "Narratives")
      • THEN, select NOT from the drop-down options of the next search box and copy and paste this text string into that one box:
        (MH "Experimental Studies+") OR (MH "Nonexperimental Studies+") OR (MH "Quasi-Experimental Studies+") or (AB “randomized controlled”) or (AB “control group")

Find Meta-Synthesis of Qualitative Studies

  • ANY DATABASE
    • option-  FIRST, add your specific topic words to the search box. Then add this word to the next search box combined with AND: Meta-Analysis
  • CINAHL
    • option -  In the Search Options or Refine Results, choose this filter: Meta-Analysis

Search Filter Sources

Many advance search strategies on this page come from:

Key Databases

Holman Library One Search

Selected Health Science Databases

Complete List of Health Science Databases

List of Individual Nursing Journals

Clinical Guidelines

Journal Article Searching on the Free Web

Subjects: Health Sciences