Green River LibGuides: Nursing: Find Web Sites

Before you search...

BEFORE YOU SEARCH, make sure you know:

how to evaluate the credibility of websites

Advanced Google Searching

Use Google Advanced Search for power searching on the general web

Note your ability to limit to one particular domain (.gov, .edu, .org):

Google Advanced Search
Use this search to help you limit by resource, date and more. Find specific types of websites, such as those created for academic purposes (.edu) or government (.gov).

(Click on image to enlarge)

Video: Using the C.R.A.P. Test to Evaluate Websites

Selected Nursing Websites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Find research on various health topics, including federal reports, publications, and Web sites, among others.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Contains over 11,300 studies from the National Institutes of Health, other federal agencies, and private industry.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
Use this database--provided via the U.S. Department of Agriculture--to search for nutrition research. You may also browse by subject, including dietary guidance, weight and obesity, and professional and career resources
Healthfinder.gov
Use this encyclopedia-like database to find general medical information.
Lab Tests Online
Find information on clinical laboratory tests commonly used to diagnose diseases and conditions.
Lippincott's Nursing Center
Access nursing journals and peer-reviewed nursing Web sites, obtain drug updates, and more...
MEDLINE Plus
Use this encyclopedia-like database to find general medical information; includes a medical dictionary.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Find professional medical information and data, photographs, audio, and video from Merck.
National Institutes of Health
Find general health information and links to the various national health institutes, including the National Library of Medicine.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS allows users to find key statistics on a variety of health resources. Includes data download and other tools.
Mayo Clinic
Mayo Clinic's Diseases & Conditions pages
US Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Selected Websites

Selected Websites for Cross-Cultural Medicine & Health Psychology

EthnoMed: Cultures
Provides information on how cultural perspectives on medicine, health and illness affect patient treatment in the health care system.
Browse the "Clinical Topics" OR "Cultures" drop-down menus at the top of the website

US National Library of Medicine Population Groups

African American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Native American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Asian American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Hispanic American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Minority Health Equity
Community Profiles
Queensland
see section on “Health Beliefs and Practices"
Native Voices: Native People's Concepts of Health and Illness
National Library of Medicine
Indigenous Studies Portal: health
University of Saskatchewan
Minority Population Profiles
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, these profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports.
DiversityRX: Culturally Competent Care
Cultural issues that arise in the delivery of individual and community-based health services.
more...less...
Includes care management, clinical interactions, community education, mental heal & substance abuse, patient education & support and patient safety.
Native Planet: Indigenous Cultures
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS): Cultural and Linguistic Competency