Skip to Main Content

Student Technology and Logins

GRC Logins, Technology Support Desks, On-Campus Technology (computer labs, printing...etc.), Remote Technology (OneDrive, Zoom..etc.), Software Programs, Library Account

Career Planner

Step 1 - Register & Activate

After creating your own account, you can use the Career Planner database to research a specific career - finding profiles on jobs that list requirements, education and training needed, wages, employment outlook, and links to additional resources. The information on this page will help you to create & activate an account.

  1. Set up your account in the GRC Career Planner using the link below

 

  • Similarly, you can also click on the hyperlinked text in the database's description, as shown in the image here
image of hyperlinked text that appears in the database description image of hyperlinked text that appears in the database description (click on image to enlarge)
hyperlinked text that appears in the database description (click on image to enlarge)
 

  1. Fill in the form using your GRC student email account and your first & last name. And pick your password.

Image of the screen with the form to fill in with your student email address Image of the screen with the form to fill in with your student email address (click on image to enlarge)
Screen with the form to fill in with your student email address (click on image to enlarge)
 

  1. After you fill out the form, you will need to check your student email account for an email that asks you to activate your Career Planner account.

image shows the message 'Please check your email to activate your account and login' image shows the message 'Please check your email to activate your account and login' (click on image to enlarge)
Message of 'Please check your email to activate your account and login' (click on image to enlarge)
 

  1. Log into your student email account and select the "Click here to activate" link in the activation email. Be sure to check your Junk and/or Clutter folders if you don't see it in the inbox.

Note: the email will come from "SchoolData.net" and will likely have the title of "Professional Development Wait List Confirmation" as shown in the image below.

email showing the 'click link to activate' link from Career Planner's registration process email showing the 'click link to activate' link from Career Planner's registration process (click on image to enlarge)
Email showing the 'click link to activate' link from Career Planner's registration process (click on image to enlarge)
 

  1. Once you click the link from your email to activate your account, you will see this message below.

Account Creation activation successful - message Account Creation activation successful - message (click on image to enlarge)
Account Creation activation successful message (click on image to enlarge)
 

Step 2 - Log In

After creating your own account, you can use the Career Planner database to research a specific career - finding profiles on jobs that list requirements, education and training needed, wages, employment outlook, and links to additional resources. The information on this page will help you to log in to your account.

  1. Click on the database button below

Note: when logging in from off-campus, you may first be prompted to log in as usual, using your network login (the same info you use to access Canvas). 

  1. The log in box, shown below, is where you will enter in your student email address and password

image of log in page for Career Planner image of log in page for Career Planner (click on image to enlarge)
Log in page for Career Planner (click on image to enlarge)
 

  1. Once you are successfully logged in, you will see the start screen below and can begin searching.

Note:  You may be required to reset your password immediately. If so, follow the steps to reset your password. A code will be sent to your student email.

career planner homepage career planner homepage (click on image to enlarge)
career planner homepage (click on image to enlarge)

Search Tips

  • Using the menu on the left, you can search for career information using a simple keyword, as shown in the image below. Or search by larger career fields, interest areas, personality types, and more.
career research page of the database, showing the menu on the left and search boxes to search careers career research page of the database, showing the menu on the left and search boxes to search careers (click on image to enlarge)
career research page of the database, showing the menu on the left and search boxes to search careers (click on image to enlarge)
 
  • Each career summary includes information on career duties, requirements, training, wages, employment outlook, and links to resources like career associations and more. You can also see a list of related careers.
search results showing tabs of information about each career search results showing tabs of information about each career (click on image to enlarge)
search results showing tabs of information about each career (click on image to enlarge)
 
Watch this brief video on how to use career planner: