Green River LibGuides: One Book 2017-2018: March, Book Three: Civil Rights Movement (w/ Timelines)

Books in Holman Library

Featured Books

Freedom Riders: 1961 and the Struggle for Racial Justice by Raymond Arsenault
Call Number: 323.0975 A781f 2007 & ebook

ISBN: 0195136748

Main Collection & ebook
Freedom Rights: New Perspectives on the Civil Rights Movement by Danielle L. McGuire (Editor); John Dittmer (Editor)
Call Number: 323.1196 F853 2011

ISBN: 9780813134482

Main Collection
I Am a Man!: Race, Manhood, and the Civil Rights Movement by Steve Estes
Call Number: 323.1196 E79i 2005 and ebook

Main Collection
Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention by Manning Marable; G. Valmont Thomas (Read by)
Call Number: 320.54 X1yMma 2011

Main Collection
Massive Resistance: The White Response to the Civil Rights Movement by George Lewis
Call Number: 305.800973 L674m 2006

Main Collection

John Lewis interview with Bill Moyers

Bill Moyers Interviews Congressman John Lewis

On the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington, Bill Moyers interviews John Lewis about that day and other events in the Civil Rights Movement.

Civil Right Movement Timelines

Civil Rights Movement Timeline - History.com
A timeline of the Civil Rights Movement from President Truman's 1948 decree banning segregation in the US military and ending with President Johnson signing the Civil Rights Act of 1968, also known as the Fair Housing Act. Each entry links to an article on the topic.
Jim Crow Museum: Timelines of American History
The museum offers several timelines you can choose from and explore: Africa Before American Slavery, Slavery in America, Reconstruction, Jim Crow, Civil Rights, and Post Civil Rights.
Equal Justice Initiative - A History of Racial Injustice
A calendar of racial injustice in the US, spanning four centuries of US history and including events leading up to and through the civil rights movement.
Each of the 365 calendar entries links to an introductory article.
Milestones Of The Civil Rights Movement - from the PBS series Eyes on the Prize"
15 events highlighted in Eyes on the Prize
Civil Rights Timeline from the JFK Presidential Library
A limited timeline of the Civil Rights Movement that highlights JFK's role.

Web Resources

Library of Congress: Voices of Civil Rights
The exhibition Voices of Civil Rights documents events during the Civil Rights Movement in the United States. This exhibition draws from the thousands of personal stories, oral histories, and photographs collected by the “Voices of Civil Rights” project, a collaborative effort of AARP, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights (LCCR), and the Library of Congress, and marks the arrival of these materials in the Library's collection.
National Archives: Black Soldiers in the Civil War
An article from the publication "Social Education" - on the National Archive website.
The Civil War: Black American Contributions to Union Intelligence
AN article from "Studies in Intelligence", Winter 1998-1999
Civil Rights Movement Resources
"This guide compiles links to civil-rights resources throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on civil rights and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers."
Library of Congress: Civil Rights Act of 1964
This online exhibit from the Library of Congress, contains primary source materials, a timeline, various multimedia, and more.
National Public Radio (NPR): Songs of the Civil Rights Movement
The Leadership Conference: Civil and Human Rights Coalition
StoryCorps: Civil Rights Movement
Veterans of the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement: Oral history
National Public Radio (NPR): Hidden Kitchens: The Club From Nowhere: Cooking for Civil Rights