Green River LibGuides: One Book 2017-2018: March, Book Three: Civil War & Reconstruction

Books in Holman Library

Come in to the library to check these and many other books about the Civil War.

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
History Reference Source (EBSCO Explora) This link opens in a new window Covering topics in U.S. and world history from the earliest civilizations through the 21st century, EBSCO History Reference Source is a research database containing full-text journals, magazines, reference books, and thousands of primary source documents.
History Study Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Primary and secondary sources covering global history from ancient times to the present day. Study Units offer editorially selected material on over 500 historical topics. Over 40,000 documents, articles, images and links to websites.

Library of Congress: Abraham Lincoln Papers
"The papers of Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), lawyer, representative from Illinois, and sixteenth president of the United States, contain approximately 40,550 documents dating from 1774 to 1948, although most of the collection spans from the 1850s through Lincoln’s presidency (1861-1865). "
African Americans in Civil War Medicine from the National Institutes of Health
This online exhibit "Binding Wounds, Pushing Boundaries: African Americans in Civil War Medicine looks at the men and women who served as surgeons and nurses and how their work as medical providers challenged the prescribed notions of race and gender."
The Civil War: Black American Contributions to Union Intelligence
AN article from "Studies in Intelligence", Winter 1998-1999
National Archives: Black Soldiers in the Civil War
An article from the publication "Social Education" - on the National Archive website.
Library of Congress: Photographs of African Americans During the Civil War
A collection of images, in a digital collection from the Library of Congress
13th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution: Abolition of Slavery (1865)
From the America's Historical Documents collection at the National Archives