U.S. History in Context (Gale)This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowFor viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowA full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
ProQuest Combined DatabasesThis link opens in a new windowSearch millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowSearch more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Related Articles
Rethinking Race and Place: The Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History ProjectMost black migrants to the far West arrived during and after World War II, and the vast majority of them settled in California, a state whose history tends to stand in for the entire West Coast. Because Seattle's black population has hovered around ten percent of the city's total during the last halfcentury, the city's image has been literally and metaphorically peripheral to the places whose stories tend to anchor our understanding of African American history and the civil rights movement.
Northwest African American History MuseumOur vision is a Pacific Northwest region where the important histories, arts and cultures of people of African descent are embraced as an essential part of our shared heritage and future. Exhibitions, educational resources, links and more.
BlackPast.orgAfrican American history project by UW Prof Quintard Taylor. Specializes in African American history of the West.
History LinkPacific Northwest history. Search or explore.
Seattle's Ethnic PressRead about Seattle's African American press during the Civil Rights Movement
Seattle in Black and White : The Congress of Racial Equality and the Fight for Equal Opportunity by 
My People Are Rising by 
