LibGuides: One Book 2017-2018: March ( book 3): Student Activism

Books at Holman Library

Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee: Films on Demand Playlist of titles and segments:

Southern Poverty Law Center: What Students Need to Know - the Alt-Right on Campus About the Southern Poverty Law Center The Southern Poverty Law Center is dedicated to fighting hate and bigotry and to seeking justice for the most vulnerable members of our society. Using litigation, education, and other forms of advocacy, the SPLC works toward the day when the ideals of equal justice and equal oportunity will become a reality.

Holman Library Databases:

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Complete -Advanced Searching Tutorial