Enrich your understanding of the events, people, places, and issues portrayed in March, book 3 with some outside research and reading. Start your research with background information from an academic encyclopedia.
Read closely for...
Wikipedia often comes up as the first / an early result if you search any of these topics on the web. But unlike the academic reference articles linked on this page, the articles in Wikipedia are not automatically written and edited by experts. Anyone can write for and edit Wikipedia!
This makes it difficult to trust Wikipedia to give us the level of subject expertise we need to use for college-level research. It's much better to choose a relevant article from an academic subject encyclopedia instead.
Start with the following online library databases to gather background information (who, what, where, why, etc.) on your topic.
These academic resources are more reliable than Wikipedia. Why not Wikipedia? While Wikipedia is easy to find and use (and a great public project), articles in Wikipedia are anonymous and openly edited. That means for academic purposes, Wikipedia is not an authoritative resource.
(GVRL, U.S. History in Context, or Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
You will enter your topic (your choice from the list to the left) in the search box. Use "quotation marks" if your topic is more than one word, to keep the phrase together. Make sure the "Keyword" search option is selected, and hit "Search."
Look near the top of your article results list to see how many results your search found. The article title will appear on top of the encyclopedia title. You can select an article by clicking on the article title to open. (Avoid clicking on the encyclopedia title.)
In order to choose a good background article, look for an article that covers your topic from an encyclopedia related to the ideas from the book March. In the search results below, I would select an article from the Encyclopedia of African American History and Culture or Race and Racism in the United States as results that match themes from the book.
I would NOT choose the result from a literature encyclopedia, because literature is the study of fiction, and the events in March are real-life events.
Voting Rights Act of 1965
Civil Rights Act of 1964
Mississippi Freedom Summer
Jim Crow or Jim Crow laws
The U.S. Civil War
Fannie Lou Hamer
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
Segregation AND United States
Brown v. Board of Education
March on Washington
The Poor People's March
St. Augustine AND civil rights movement
Civil Rights Movement
Lyndon B. Johnson AND civil rights movement
John F. Kennedy AND civil rights movement
Sixteenth Street Baptist Church And Birmingham
Integration AND Central High School
Lunch counter sit-ins
Letter from Birmingham Jail
Black Panther Party
Women in the Civil Rights Movement
Students AND Civil Rights Movement
The graphic novel March - Book Three focuses on the climax of what is now referred to as The Civil Rights Movement. Having knowledge of the following people, places, and events will enrich your understanding of this very complex piece of American history and your appreciation and enjoyment of the text.