Green River LibGuides: ENGL 126 Research Writing: Humanities: Find Reviews & the Popular Conversation

Find Reviews, Interviews, & the Popular Conversation on Literature & the Arts

Using Magazines and Newspapers

Look for reviews, analysis and author/ artist interviews in library periodical databases.

Use relevant keywords
Use limiters to select newspapers and magazines at Source Type
Use limiters to limit to reviews under Document Type
Limit to full-text if you want to only see articles you can immediately download
IMPORTANT: Avoid reviews that merely summarizes and give a thumbs up or down. Look for lengthier, substantive articles that discuss ideas, style, character, context, and more.

(click on image to enlarge)

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide range of academic fields including biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

Holman Library One Search (Advanced Search)
Use the advanced search options to select source type (books, videos, scholarly peer-reviewed articles), online format, date ranges and more .
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Limiting in Gale Literature

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.

To find Reviews and News in Gale Literature Limit to Reviews and News at Content Type as shown in the image below.

(click on image to enlarge)

Multimedia in Holman Library & Online

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

LA Review of Books You Tube Channel
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.
National Public Radio (NPR): Fresh Air
Fresh Air Fresh Air from WHYY, the Peabody Award-winning weekday magazine of contemporary arts and issues

Reviews on the Web

Look for useful online journals, arts magazines, and other culture resource sites that review and discuss literature and other arts and cultural productions.

Be sure to assess what kind of source you've found and if the content is informed and substantive.

Sample sites for Literature:

LA Review of Books
LA Review of Books offers free online reviews, interviews, and more. "The Los Angeles Review of Books is a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting and disseminating rigorous, incisive, and engaging writing on every aspect of literature, culture, and the arts."
Seattle Times Book Reviews
Browse Seattle Times book reviews online
The Root It's Lit - book reviews
New Yorker book reviews
Browse book reviews in The New Yorker
Women Write About Comics
An online journal that features a diverse group of intersectional, international feminists who provide equally diverse insight into the world of comic book culture and the comic book industry at large.

Sample Sites for Film and Television:

Combustible Celluloid
Criterion Forum
Entertainment Weekly: Film Reviews
indieWIRE
Metacritic
Metacritic is a good source of television reviews, as well as film reviews.
Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE)
MRQE is a searchable index of all published and available movie reviews, news, interviews, and other material associated to movies.
New York Times: Movie Reviews
PopMatters
"PopMatters is an international magazine of cultural criticism and analysis...with the mission to educate as well as entertain, our scope is broadly cast on all things pop culture and...bridges academic and popular writing"

For a longer list of film and television review sites:

Film and TV Reviews