LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Find Websites

Advanced Google Searching

Use Google Advanced Search for power searching on the general web

Google Advanced Search
Use this search to help you limit by resource, date and more. Find specific types of websites, such as those created for academic purposes (.edu) or government (.gov).

(Click on image to enlarge)

Is it a GOOD website?

Remember to evaluate all your sources for credibility

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central, a digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Search the full PubMed to access all the 19 million citations for articles on medicine and the life sciences. Use Holman Library's Journals List to see if full text is available.

American Health Care Association
Provides research, data, statistics, and trends on care quality, long-term care, and other aspects of health care.
U.S. Census Bureau: Disability
MedlinePlus
Provides authoritative information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues for patients, family members, and friends.
Centers for Disease Control: National Center for Health Statistics
This division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention gathers statistics on all manner of health topics, from aging and birth rates to diseases and physical activity. The place to start looking for health statistics.
State Health Facts
Data on demographics, health, health policy, financing, health coverage, access and state legislation; data sources are indicated

National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research
Under the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) at the U.S. Department of Education; includes a page on Legislation and Policy

EthnoMed: Cultures
Provides information on how cultural perspectives on medicine, health and illness affect patient treatment in the health care system.

African American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Native American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Asian American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Hispanic American Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health
US National Library of Medicine Population Groups
Minority Health Equity
Community Profiles
Queensland
see section on “Health Beliefs and Practices"
Native Voices: Native People's Concepts of Health and Illness
National Library of Medicine
Indigenous Studies Portal: health
University of Saskatchewan
Minority Population Profiles
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, these profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports.
DiversityRX: Culturally Competent Care
Cultural issues that arise in the delivery of individual and community-based health services.
more...less...
Includes care management, clinical interactions, community education, mental heal & substance abuse, patient education & support and patient safety.
Native Planet: Indigenous Cultures
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS): Cultural and Linguistic Competency