It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CQ ResearcherBrowse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Streaming Video database
Searching for Films
Use the library's Films on Demand database to find streaming educational films & journalism in order to learn more about your topic.
Created for the specialized, subject-specific information needs of upper-level undergraduates and graduate students, this ebook collection provides a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic library collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
Focusing on the academic and trade information needs of community college students, this multidisciplinary collection covers programs and fields of study offered in community colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study.
Over 52,000 full-text online books for Green River College programs -- Aviation, Business, Computer Technologies, Criminal Justice, English, Humanities, Nursing & Allied Health, Social Sciences, Sciences, Wastewater Technology.
Holman Library Databases by Subject
Search Holman Library Databases by Subject to find articles within a specific discipline.
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to use your Green River College student ID# to log in from off campus.
InterLibrary Loan: No library has it all! But the InterLibrary Loan (or ILL) is a service offered by Holman Library for borrowing books and articles from other libraries. InterLibrary Loan requests are free to current GRC students, faculty and staff.
For your research, it is important to search many places.
First, start with the books and articles available through the Holman Library.
Then, If you find books and articles that the Library does NOT have access to, just request them through Interlibrary Loan.
Using Interlibrary Loan increases the amount of resources available to you and helps you become a more thorough researcher.
Books and other items that require mailing may take 1-2 weeks.
Articles and other digital items may arrive within 2-5 days. Use your email as your contact info and the article will be sent directly to you.
If you need help filling out this form, call the library reference desk at (253) 931-6480.
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your GRC ID # or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!
Google Advanced Search
Google Advanced Search
Find websites that are more relevant to your needs by using the advanced search features in Google
You are researching how stem cells from human embryos might help cure neurological diseases, especially Parkinson's disease
As outlined in the example search in the image below, you can use the following advanced search limiters are used and why:
Limiter: this exact word or phrase
this will wrap whatever words you place into the box in quotation marks - that will limit the results to websites with this exact phrase
Limiter: any of these words
By putting in "neural disease" OR "Parkinson's disease" - your search will show you websites that refer to either neural disease OR specifically to Parkinson's disease (a type of neural disease). This broadens your search
Limiter: none of these words
Use this limiter by putting in a term or phrase that you do not want to see on any of the websites. The example word of cloning will not show up in your results about stem cells.
Limiter:site or domain
And since you hope to find good, authoritative websites that have content that have been thoroughly researched, limit your results to government (.gov) websites
Use this search to help you limit by resource, date and more. Find specific types of websites, such as those created for academic purposes (.edu) or government (.gov).
Evaluating Sources with ASPECT
Evaluate your sources
Make sure the sources you use are of good enough quality for your research.
If you use poor quality sources, your research paper or presentation could contain errors, overly-biased information or out-of-date facts
Using credible sources makes you a more credible source
Knowing how to evaluate sources applies to the "real world," not just academics. For instance, we need to be able to find accurate medical information, be informed about the issues we vote on during election time, present reliable information to coworkers in a meeting...etc.