Green River LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racist, Culturally Responsive Education: Culturally Responsive Educators

Culturally Responsive Educators

Featured Resources

Online Teaching Resources

Respect Differences? Challenging the Common Guidelines in Social Justice Education
by Ozlem Sensoy and Ronin DiAngelo
Abstract: In social justice education, it is common to establish guidelines for classroom discussions. We examine the limits of these guidelines in achieving the goals of social justice education, arguing that they are not responsive to power relations. Rather than creating a supportive space for dialogue, these guidelines actually can interfere with achieving social justice education goals. We also describe our efforts to engage alternative strategies for responding to power in the social justice classroom.
Positionality: Whiteness as a Social Construct that Drives Classroom Dynamics
A 1998 paper by Juanita Johnson-Bailey and Ronald M. Juanita
Humanities in Class Webinars
From the National Humanities Center "Live, interactive webinars connect educators with scholars and experts in humanities fields to discuss compelling topics. Webinars are free of charge but require registration."
Inclusive Classroom Climate
From the Yale Poorvu Center of Teaching and Learning
Inclusive Teaching Strategies (Yale)
From the Yale Center for Teaching and Learning - includes a downloadable PDF
Language of Appeasement
By substituting diversity and inclusion rhetoric for transformative efforts to promote equity and justice, colleges have avoided recognizable institutional change, contends Dafina-Lazarus Stewart. Inside Higher Ed, March 2017
Why Diversity and Equity Matter: Reflections from a Community College President
This essay by Francisco C Rodriguez, chancellor of the LA Community College district, offers a clear and compelling introduction. It was published in the winter 2015 issue of New Directions for Community Colleges.

Scholarly and Trade Journals

"As Soon as They Hear 'Undocumented,' They Stop Advising": Theorizing a (Sub)conscious Evasion of Responsibility from Institutional Agents to Undocumented Students
a 2021 article from Educational Studies
"I Would Have Become Wallpaper Had Racism Had Its Way": Black Female Professors, Racial Battle Fatigue, and Strategies for Surviving Higher Education
A 2021 article from the Peabody Journal of Education
Advancing Social Justice Work at the Intersections of Multiple Privileged Identities
An Agenda to Strengthen Culturally Responsive Pedagogy
ProQuest - Journal of English Teaching July 2011
Breaking the University Myth: Deepening Student Engagement through Culturally Relevant Pedagogy and Creative Practice
A 2017 article from Diálogo
Collaborative Translation: Negotiating Student Investment in Culturally Responsive Pedagogy
ProQuest article - Journal of Language Arts July 2016
Core Teaching Practices: Addressing Both Social Justice and Academic Subject Matter
Gail Richmond, Journal of Teacher Education, November-December 2017
The Divided Self: The Double Consciousness of Faculty of Color in Community Colleges
A 2013 article from Community College Review
New Directions for Community Colleges
Education journal available in ERIC
The Race Card: An Interactive Tool for Teaching Multiculturalism
From Multicultural Perspectives, 01 July 2006
The Role of High School and College Counselors in Supporting the Psychosocial and Emotional Needs of Latinx First-Generation College Students
Stereotype Threat and Academic Performance: New Findings from a Racially Diverse Sample of College Freshmen
Stereotype Threat Deconstructed
Talking About Social Class Reduces College Achievement Gap
Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education Aug 25, 2014
Too Hungry To Stay In School
Jan. 15, 2018. NYTimes Editorial by Sara Goldrick-Rab
Using Implicit Bias Training to Improve Attitudes toward Women in STEM

Chronicle of Higher Education
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your faculty or student info, or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email address and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!

Featured Education Journals

Use the links to search within the featured journals here, or use the journal search to look for periodicals by name or keyword.

New Directions for Community Colleges
Education journal available in ERIC
Community College Journal
Available in ProQuest and on the library periodical shelves
Education Journals
265 journals in this subject area
All Journals List - Print & Electronic
Search for a journal by its title (leave off "The," "A," "An" at the beginning of titles).

Library Databases

Consider the databases linked below to find more articles

Chronicle of Higher Education
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your faculty or student info, or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email address and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!
Educator’s Reference Complete OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journals cover pre-K, K-12, and higher education topics such as technology, bilingual education, diverse classrooms, academic achievement, and testing. Provides full text for Journals in the ERIC database.
ERIC (EBSCO)
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Featured Videos

Use the links below to access the films featured here, or consider searching in the library's collection to find related streaming films.

Inclusive Teaching and Learning Strategies: Culturally Responsive Techniques
TED Talks: Culturally Responsive Education: What’s in a Name?
TED Talks: How College Fails Us: Reimagining Higher Education
TED Talks: How Racial Bias Works -- and How to Disrupt It
TED Talks: TrillEDU: Culturally Responsive Pedagogy
Pronouns: What they are and why they matter
TED-Ed Educator Talks
At TED we believe that education is the ultimate idea worth spreading. That’s why this channel — designed for teachers, by teachers — is exclusively dedicated to celebrating and elevating the ideas of educators working in classrooms and schools throughout the world. Whether you’re here for professional or personal development, you can expect to discover excellent Talks from inspired educators published regularly.

Films on Demand
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more.

Featured Podcasts

Use the links below to access the featured podcasts.

GatorCast with President Suzanne Johnson
Higher Education Anti-Racist Teaching (H.E.A.R.T.) Podcast
"The Higher Education Anti-Racist Teaching (H.E.A.R.T.) The podcast focuses on elevating our learning about antiracist teaching at colleges and universities. In this podcast, we explore what antiracist teaching in higher education is, what it entails, what challenges educators face, and any advice our guests can give our audience in their antiracist teaching journey."
The Key with Inside Higher Ed
Featured here on Apple Podcasts (but available for Android too) this podcast has "candid conversations with higher-ed newsmakers on how colleges and universities are coping with the pandemic and recession -- with a special focus on equity and lower-income students."
National Public Radio (NPR): Higher Ed
Podcast from NPR
Real Talk: A Diversity in Higher Ed Podcast
A podcast "Addressing issues of equity and inclusion with authenticity and vulnerability"
Reckoning Higher Ed Podcast
"Reckoning Higher Ed (RHE) is dedicated to investigating and understanding the forces impacting higher education. Moreover, RHE will explore these trends to prognosticate what higher education will look like in the coming years. If you are interested in higher education, be it a professional in the field, or one that interacts with higher ed, or even if you just want to understand universities and colleges better, this podcast is for you!"
Resilient Campus Podcast
Speak Out with Tim Wise
"Speak Out with Tim Wise is an informative and entertaining podcast focused on racial and economic justice in the age of Trump.
It features the biting and humorous commentary of its host, along with interviews with some of the nation’s leading scholars, activists and artists as well as grass roots organizers whose voices are often ignored in mainstream media."
Teaching in Higher Ed Podcast
"Faculty Development for Professors
This is the space where we explore the art and science of being more effective at facilitating learning. We also share ways to increase our personal productivity, so we can have more peace in our lives and be even more present for our students."
This Week In Higher Education
A California-based "podcast discussing the latest issues and personalities in Higher Ed "

Find More

Additional Resources

Find other great resources in Holman Library.

Holman Library One Search (All Library Resources)
Search this catalog to find books, ebooks, films, as well as articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.

more... less...

Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Consider these subject headings listed below to find books of the topics.

Discrimination in education -- United States
Poor children -- Education -- United States
Children with social disabilities -- Education -- United States
Academic achievement -- Social aspects -- United States
Performance
Success
Affirmative action programs in education
Segregation in education
Stereotype Threat
Academic Performance
Inclusive Education

If we don't have what you're looking for, please use InterLibrary Loan to borrow it for free. If you think Holman Library should own a copy, please submit a request to purchase.