Find more information on the websites linked below.
Linked below are articles from scholarly journal articles, or trade publications. See the "Find More Resources" tab in this guide to see a list of suggested databases to search for additional related academic articles like the ones featured here.
Use the links below to access the films featured here, or consider searching in the library's collection to find related streaming films.
Source Citations
(1) from: Yilmaz, Ismail, and Ilkay Akyay. "Identity." Encyclopedia of Social Deviance, edited by Craig J. Forsyth and Heith Copes, vol. 1, SAGE Reference, 2014, pp. 355-356. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX6501000154/GVRL?u=aubu98092&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=771848d6. Accessed 9 Nov. 2021.
(2) Lemonik Arthur, Mikaila Mariel. "Identity Politics." Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosaic, edited by Charles A. Gallagher and Cameron D. Lippard, vol. 2, Greenwood, 2014, pp. 565-566. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3160000322/GVRL?u=aubu98092&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=3d35e564. Accessed 9 Nov. 2021.
(3) Falcón, Sylvanna M. "Intersectionality." Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, edited by Jodi O'Brien, vol. 1, SAGE Publications, 2009, pp. 467-469. Gale eBooks, link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3073900240/GVRL?u=aubu98092&sid=bookmark-GVRL&xid=75212c0b. Accessed 9 Nov. 2021.
Image: McPhetridge, Misty. Intersectionality Diagram. ICMA, icma.org/articles/pm-magazine/ intersectionality-lgbtqia-community. Accessed 16 Nov. 2021
Main Collection
Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection
(click on image to enlarge)
Identity refers to an aspect of who a person is. "The term identity refers to a person's individual expression of himself or herself (personal identity) or group affiliation in reference to a culture, nation, gender, or religion (social identity). Identity can be described as distinctive characteristics of a person or groups of different affiliations. It refers to degrees of sameness with other persons or groups in a particular field."(1)
"Identity politics refers to activism, politics, theorizing, and other, similar activities based on the shared experiences of members of a specific social group (often relying on similar experiences of oppression)." (2)
(click on image to enlarge)
Adapted by Sylvia Duckworth from Canadian Council for Refugees
"Intersectionality is a framework meant to describe a person or a social problem holistically. Originating from the experiences of women of color who were often pigeonholed by race or gender, or as experiencing racism or sexism, but never both; intersectionality is directed at the gaps in academic literature, law, research, and activism. In short, intersectionality provides further and more complex understandings of people's multiple identities and of experiences with racism, sexism, classism, heterosexism, and other forms of discrimination." (3) An i
