Green River LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racist, Culturally Responsive Education: Sexism and Discrimination Against Women

Sexism and Discrimination Against Women

Featured Resources

Featured Websites and Organizations

ACLU: Women's Rights
Find articles, videos, and various resources on this portal in the larger ACLU website.
Amnesty International: Women's Rights
Find articles, videos, and other resources on this portal on the Amnesty International website
Center for Reproductive Rights
"The Center for Reproductive Rights is a global human rights organization of lawyers and advocates who ensure reproductive rights are protected in law as fundamental human rights for the dignity, equality, health, and well-being of every person."
Equality Now
"Equality Now is a feminist organization using the law to protect and promote the human rights of all women and girls. We create, reform, challenge, and apply the law to establish enduring equality for women and girls everywhere."
Equal Rights Advocates
"Equal Rights Advocates fights for gender justice in workplaces and schools across the country. Since 1974, we’ve been fighting on the front lines of social justice to protect and advance rights and opportunities for women, girls, and people of all gender identities through groundbreaking legal cases and bold legislation that sets the stage for the rest of the nation."
The Everyday Sexism Project
"The Everyday Sexism project aims to take a step towards gender equality, by proving wrong those who tell women that they can’t complain because we are equal. It is a place to record stories of sexism faced on a daily basis, by ordinary women, in ordinary places. "
Gender At Work
"Gender at Work brings together new knowledge on deep structures of inequality and discriminatory social norms with innovative approaches and tools to transform them in organizations and communities"
Human Rights Watch: Women's Rights
Article and information from the Human Rights Watch
MenEngage Alliance
"MenEngage Alliance is a space for members to come together in solidarity with those most targeted by gender injustice and patriarchal systems to collectively dismantle structural barriers to women’s rights and gender equality. "
National Organization for Women (NOW)
National Organization for Women is dedicated to its multi-issue and multi-strategy approach to women’s rights, and is the largest organization of feminist grassroots activists in the United States.
Promundo
"Promundo-US is a global leader in advancing gender equality and preventing violence by engaging men and boys in partnership with women, girls, and individuals of all gender identities."
Womankind Worldwide
"Womankind Worldwide strengthens and supports women’s rights organisations and movements with the resources they need to challenge oppression and change the lives of women, in the home, the workplace and the communities they live in."
Women for Women International
"Women for Women International supports women in war-torn regions with financial and emotional aid, job-skills training, rights education and small business assistance so they can rebuild their lives."

Featured Videos

48 Things Women Hear In A Lifetime (That Men Just Don't)
Crash Course: Sex Discrimination
The Culture of Complicity
more... less...

"In this episode, we examine how mainstream cultural norms in music, advertisement, publications, gaming, and pornography have created an overtly sexualized and objectified image of women that has impacted social norms and the behavior of men and women."
The Pay Gap: Sexism or Something Else?
Miss Representation
Raising Awareness About Gender Equality
more... less...

"Badger and John Immesoete discuss the omnipresence of ads that objectify women and the damage it causes. Badger created a set of requirements that her company's ads must meet so they present women in a positive way. She describes the petition she led to ensure the Cannes festival does not award gender-biased ads."
Sexism and the English language
TED Talks: How Sexism Affects Us All
TED Talks: The Credibility Gap: How Sexism Shapes Human Knowledge
TED Talks: The Dangerous Ways Ads See Women
TED Talks: What Women Want Men To Know About Sexism

Generation M: Misogyny in Media and Culture
DVD only - available in the Main Collection 305.42 G326 2008 DVD

Featured Podcasts

Daily: Turning misogyny into terror
Season 1, Ep. 157 of The Bunker Daily podcast "A poisonous online culture of misogyny is radicalising young men to hate women – producing terrifying consequences from routine rape and death threats against female politicians to actual violence and murder. Author of Men Who Hate Women and founder of the Everyday Sexism project Laura Bates posed as a young boy to infiltrate these online worlds and discover how they groom kids as young as 11 into misogyny."
Dismantling Patriarchy – Close Encounters and Imperfect Strategies
Episode 18 of the podcast Gender At Work, from Aug 2021
History Becomes Her (podcast)
"Who inspires the women making history right now? History Becomes Her is a weekly Mashable podcast about women who are shaping the world, presented by Rachel Thompson. Each episode, we speak to women making change now about the women of the past who paved the way for them."
Nature, Nurture, And Our Evolving Debates About Gender
An episode of Hidden Brain from National Public Radio (NPR). Originally aired 2017, reposted here - a 52 minute listen with transcripts
Our Body Politic (podcast)
"Created and hosted by award-winning journalist Farai Chideya, Our Body Politic is unapologetically centered on reporting on not just how women of color experience the major political events of today, but how they're impacting those very issues. Weekly episodes feature in-depth conversations about the economy, health, politics, education, the environment, and the most prescient issues—because all issues are women's issues."
What Would a Feminist Do? (podcast)
A podcast with Jessica Valenti from The Guardian "brings you interviews, advice and real life stories from the front lines of feminism. She talks about everything from periods or lack there of, to cyberbullying, objectification, crafting an equal and egalitarian relationship, abortions and sex education.
Womanica (podcast)
Thinking back to our history classes growing up, we had one question: Where the ladies at? Enter, Womanica. In just 5 minutes a day, learn about different incredible women from throughout history. On Wonder Media Network’s award-winning podcast, we’re telling the stories of women you may or may not know — but definitely should.
Women's Hour (podcast)
From the BBC - Women's Hour offers "Women's voices and women's lives - topical conversations to inform, challenge and inspire."

Featured Books and eBooks

Women and Men: Cultural Constructs of Gender

Main Collection

Misogyny in American Culture: Causes, Trends, and Solutions

In Gale Ebooks

The Incel Rebellion:The Rise of the Manosphere and the Virtual War Against Women

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender

Reference Collection--in-library use only

Feminism and Men: Reconstructing Gender Relations

Sexism in America: Alive, Well, and Ruining our Future

Main Collection; also available as an ebook in ProQuest Ebook Central (link above)

Dismantling Rape Culture: The Peacebuilding Power of ‘Me Too’

Black Women and Popular Culture : The Conversation Continues

Equal at the Creation: Sexism, Society, and Christian Thought

Gendertrolling: How Misogyny Went Viral

Critical Perspectives on Sexual Harassment and Gender Violence

In the Company of Men: Male Dominance and Sexual Harassment

Reckoning: the Epic Battle Against Sexual Abuse and Harassment

Online Misogyny as Hate Crime: A Challenge for Legal Regulation?

You Should Smile More: How to Dismantle Gender Bias in the Workplace

She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement

Down Girl: the Logic of Misogyny

Tainted Witness: Why We Doubt What Women Say About Their Lives

Everyday Sexism

Assigned: Life With Gender

100 Times: a Memoir of Sexism

Language and Sexism

Indelible in the Hippocampus: Writings From the Me Too Movement

Women's Retreat: Voices of Female Faculty in Higher Education

Breaking the Silence Habit: a Practical Guide to Uncomfortable Conversations in the #metoo Workplace

SLUT: A Play and Guidebook for Combating Sexism and Sexual Violence

Not All Dead White Men: Classics and Misogyny in the Digital Age

After #MeToo: Feminism, Patriarchy, Toxic Masculinity and Sundry Cultural Delights

The Rise of Women: The Growing Gender Gap in Education and What It Means for American Schools

Featured Gender/Sexuality Databases

Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale)
Access over 1.5 million pages of full-text primary sources about social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. This database offers a detailed global view of LGBTQ history.
Contemporary Women’s Issues OneFile (Gale)
Full-text journals covering issues that influence women’s lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gender Studies OneFile (Gale)
Full-text scholarly journal articles covering gender, marriage & family, and LGBTQ+ issues.
Women’s Studies Archive (Gale)
Provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and personal journals.