Green River LibGuides: Media Making: Photos & Slide Shows

SlideShare

Want to see what others are doing? You can browse professional presentations online with LinkedIn's SlideShare, a hosting service for professional content including presentations, infographics, documents, and videos. Users can upload files privately or publicly in PowerPoint, Word, PDF, or OpenDocument format.

Slide Show Resources

The Non-Designer's Presentation Book

Main Collection

Call Number: 658.45 W726n 2010

The basics of design and typography for the non-designer.

Designing Science Presentations: A Visual Guide to Figures, Papers, Slides, Posters, and More

eBook

Designing Science Presentations guides researchers and graduate students of virtually any discipline in the creation of compelling science communication.

Digital Photography Essentials

Main Collection

Call Number: 771 A581d 2016

Providing a strong combination of practical instruction with visual inspiration, Digital Photography Essentials, covers the basics of photography: different ways to approach a subject, how to develop projects, and image manipulation.

Powerpoint Tips and Tricks

eBook

A handy resource for beginning, intermediate, or advanced PowerPoint users, this three-panel guide features helpful time-saving hints so that you can get the most out of Microsoft's dynamic presentation software.

Digital Photographer's Handbook

Main Collection

Call Number: 778.3 A581d 2012

This manual outlines key photography techniques and includes a series of projects designed to develop and refine skills.

SlideSharing Resources Online

Slidesharing resources

You will find many slide creation and sharing tools online. Here are a few popular slidesharing resources:

Prezi
Visual storytelling software alternative to traditional slide-based presentation formats. Prezi presentations feature a map-like overview that lets users pan between topics, zoom in on details, and pull back to reveal context.
Adobe Express Slideshow Maker
Free, online slideshow app from Adobe. Customize built in templates or create your own.
Google Slides
Free online presentation software from Google. Users can create a new presentation and edit with others at the same time. Slides can be used to edit PowerPoint files.

PowerPoint Presentations

Learning to Use PowerPoint

PowerPoint presentations don't need to be boring or simplistic. PowerPoint offers a surprisingly robust set of tools for academic work.

You may:

add recorded narration to your slideshow
customize the look and feel of your slides and transitions between slides
embed video, audio, and images
and more - all to make the content of your presentations reflect the complexity of your subject and engage your audience.

Check out these short tutorial videos from Microsoft. Subjects covered include everything from getting started to more advanced formatting.

PowerPoint Training Videos
View a collection of videos teaching various aspects of using PowerPoint for Windows.

What Can You Do? Looking at some options

Using Instagram

Instagram
Instagram is a photo and video-sharing social networking service. Capture, edit & share photos, videos & messages with friends & family.

An example from Instagram

Photos can be an extremely effective and powerful messaging tool. Check out the Instagram account of Charity: Water, an organization that brings clean and safe drinking water to people in need around the world:n and safe drinking water to people in need around the world.

Charity: Water on Instagram

Another example

Here's one model: a slide presentation on how to conduct an oral history interview, courtesy of SlideShare, from My StoryCatcher.com

My StoryCatcher
The team of educators, web designers, and mLearning experts at My Storycatcher develop and implement educational, multi-media programs.

Photo Editing Tools

On Campus Computers & In the Digital Media Lab:

Did you know you can access Adobe Photoshop on the computers here on campus? Photoshop is the software for editing and manipulating images found in Adobe's Creative Cloud.

Additional Photo Options:

Customize your presentations with your own photos. There are many options for free, downloadable photo editing software:

Fotor
For use with PCs & Macs, desktops and mobile, - a user-friendly, robust picture editing tool
GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program)
GIMP is a cross-platform image editor available for GNU/Linux, OS X, Windows operating systems. It is free software, you can change its source code and distribute your changes. Also includes many customization options and 3rd party plugins.
PhotoScape
PhotoScape is a graphics editing program, developed by MOOII Tech, Korea. The basic concept of PhotoScape is 'easy and fun', allowing users to easily edit photographs taken from their digital cameras or even mobile phones.
Adobe Photoshop Express
A "light" version of Adobe Photoshop. Download it to your computer or mobile device.

Tutorials

Need more help?

Try these helpful tutorials.

Prezi Tutorials
The ins and outs of Prezi Video. These how-to videos show you how to create your first video, make edits, share it with the world, and more.

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides access to thousands of streaming video tutorials taught by experts covering I.T., business, and creative topics. Includes tutorials on photography, photo editing, photo journalism and more.

LinkedIn Learning - How to log on at GRC
Find info here on how to set up your account.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for films on many topics, such as Anthropology, Biology, Business & Economics, Careers, and many more including tutorials on using application like PowerPoint.