A word on paywalls! Online newspapers limit the number of free articles you get per month. Check our library databases to see if we have it in our collection too.
As you read and learn, you will refine your topic focus and develop research questions to answer in your essay.
Use resources on this page to help you find and focus a researchable topic for the quarter.
Look through topics in this database by clicking on "Browse Reports by Topic"
(click on image to enlarge)
IBy scrolling down on the homepage of this database, you are given the option to choose a larger category to browse through, rather than just searching by keyword as shown in the image below.
(click on image to enlarge)
When you go to this database, you'll see the advanced search page. However, by clicking on the larger "Gale Ebooks" title in the upper left, you can be taken to a page where you can see all the collections in the database listed out by subject. As shown in the image below, you can easily look through the listings of subjects off to the left to browse through subject-specific encyclopedias.
GVRL has collections on business, environment, medicine, science, and technology.
(click on image to enlarge)
As in this search shown in the image below for the broad topic: "green economy":
(click on image to enlarge).
Browse Article Titles and the Subjects List for ways to focus your search results
(click on image to enlarge).
As shown in the image below, this website is a great one for looking at both sides of a controversial topic. Search by keyword, or look through the lists of current and common topics to view articles.
(click on image enlarge)
|
Fracking Hybrid Cars Renewable energy Alternative energy Internet taxation Retail Store Security Ecotourism Genetically Modified Organisms Dark Chocolate and Depression Down's Syndrome Plastic Surgery Antibiotics Overuse Concussions in Athletics |
Fluoride in Water Supply Artificial Wetland Management Hidden Costs of Self-Employment Bamboo Flooring Endangered Species Acupuncture Software Piracy Organ Cloning Cell Phones and Health Effects Vitamin C and Cancer Drone Technology Aluminum and Breast Cancer Internet Security Housing Costs, Boom and Bust Cycle |
Newspapers are ripe with researchable topics! Headlines can generate topics or you can dig deeper for an issue that interests you. Use the links below to find news articles to get ideas for topics.
