Green River LibGuides: ENGL 128 Research Writing: Science, Engineering and Business: Start with Reference to Build your Foundation

Online reference sources

Reference

Use the following online reference databases to find background information on English 128 research topics.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
Science Reference Source (EBSCO Explora) This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Browse by topic or keyword to find information covering a broad range of important issues in health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Weekly reports dating back to 1923.
Science In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from academic journals, magazines, and newspapers in addition to experiments and projects. Includes images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.

Reference in Ebsco -- Ebooks Community College Collection
Search within 3000+ reference books across the disciplines, including the humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and health.
Reference in ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of searchable academic reference sources in multiple disciplines

Tips on Reading a Reference Article

Using Reference Articles

Use reference articles to understand the general view of what is happening with an issue, who is involved, and why there is debate over it.

You can use important words or ideas (see the highlighted words in the example below) as keywords to build more focused or related searches.

(click on image to enlarge)

Why Reference

Mapping out your Research Topic

Reference is a great place to start

Read reference for:

background knowledge - the who, what, when, where, why, how's of a topic
terminology common to that field
an overview of the history of a subject or issues
leads to more information
reliable informtion. Unlike Wikipedia, you can see the academic authority of the author of the articles.

A reference collection is a set of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other items that provide background information on a topic.

In college libraries, reference collections include specialized encyclopedias such as the Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change or the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine.