Green River LibGuides: ENGL 128 Research Writing: Science, Engineering and Business: Find Business Information

Find Business Information (English 128)

Holman Library Business Databases

Holman Library supports your business research with several different database resources. Look over the list below and look through the other tabbed pages here to find a range of business information on your topic.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Supports research in key business areas such as accounting, finance, management, and marketing with peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, company profiles, industry reports, and news.
Business Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search ABI/INFORM, The Wall Street Journal and ProQuest business journals in one search.
Business Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, case studies, SWOT analyses, financial reports and other in-depth statistical data on US and international companies, and tools to compare global economies, countries, and industries.
Business OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Find Business News

Find current business news in library databases, the Wall St. Journal, and in other online sources.

Library Databases

Newspapers -- Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Major trade and industry news about companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics from more than 3,850 publications. Included in ProQuest Combined Databases search.

Select Business News Publications in Library Databases

The Wall St. Journal
Housed in ProQuest; Jan 2, 1984 - present
Harvard Business Review
Full text in Ebsco Business Source Complete from 2007 and in periodicals collection. "Harvard Business Review Digital Articles are uploaded daily to HBR.org. While EBSCO captures all digital articles published by Harvard Business Review, we upload this content bi-weekly. "Big Idea" articles are not included."

Wall St. Journal Online Resources:

Wall St. Journal Podcast: Tech News Briefing
Get the latest in technology news for your weekday commute. The Wall Street Journal's reporters and editors highlight leading companies, new gadgets, consumer trends and cyber issues. From San Francisco to New York to the hottest conferences, our journalists help you stay plugged in.
Wall St. Journal Podcast: What's News
One of the original business news podcasts. Mirrored after the popular Wall Street Journal column. Get caught up on your commute Monday through Friday. Listen as our journalists cover top stories and share timely insights on business, the economy, markets, and politics.
Wall St. Journal Podcast: Your Money Briefing
Your must-listen for valuable money and market stories from The Wall Street Journal. Each weekday our journalists from Heard on the Street, the Intelligent Investor and other popular features share insights on investing, markets, taxes and retirement planning.
Wall St. Journal Podcast: Opinion: Potomac Watch
From the award-winning opinion pages of The Wall Street Journal, Paul Gigot, Kim Strassel and Bill McGurn discuss the latest from Washington. Get critical perspective and the analysis you need on developments from the nation’s capital. Join them every Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.

Additional Business Resources Online

Marketplace Radio
National Public Radio (NPR): Planet Money
Imagine you could call up a friend and say, "Meet me at the bar and tell me what's going on with the economy." Now imagine that's actually a fun evening. That's what we're going for at Planet Money. Want to know more?
BBB: Council of Better Business Bureaus
Puget Sound Business Journal
Get news on regional businesses, the economy, and the environment. Some content is freely available online.
New York Times: Business
The online business section of the NY TImes. Note that you have access to the entire NYTimes through the library's ProQuest database.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Financial and business news from around the world

KCLS

GRC students can automatically use digital resources at King County Library System.

KCLS has the following business databases that are not available through Holman Library:

Data Axle Reference Solutions (Create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, locate people, and search for jobs. Get accurate company and residential data for the U.S. and Canada.)
Morningstar Investment Research Center (Stay current with investing data and reports. Find mutual fund and stock data and portfolio analysis. Get up-to-date financial news and commentary. Analyze holdings and exposure with the Portfolio X-Ray Tool. Learn about personal finance topics like stocks or retirement.)
Value Line Investment Survey Reports (Get stock analysis from Value Line. Learn about Exchange-Traded Funds (ETFs) and historical stock information.)

King County Library System (KCLS): College Student Accounts
Browse all KCLS databases by clicking on College Students >> Find Online Services to Use from Home >> Databases

To Log In:

GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.) Type GRC in capital letters and your username with all lowercase letters. Example:

GRCsmith.jane.23
Wrong: GRCSmith.Jane.23 (Must use lowercase for the username.)

Your Pin Number is the last four characters of your log in.

Example: e.23

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning has thousands of streaming video tutorials taught by experts covering IT, business, and creative topics.

Select Business from the homepage menu to find practical video tutorials on all aspects of business.

(Click on image to enlarge)