LibGuides: ENGL 235 Introduction to Technical Communication (Wilber): Find Data...

A few statistics

Used judiciously, a little data can provide needed factual support to an argument or analysis.

This page provides links to a few statistical and data sources. The tools can be tricky to use, so please remember that you can ask a librarian for help.

For more leads to reliable statistics:

Research Guide: Statistics
by Jennifer Rohan Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 70 views this year

Nonpartisan Research

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides reports and statistics on the issues, attitudes and social trends shaping America and the world.

GRC Sources

Searching for Green River-related Info

Green River College 2014-2015 Financial Report
Institutional Effectiveness: Data and Research
Data about Green River College programs, students, finances. Also includes links to some County, State and Federal data sources.
Institutional Effectiveness: Student Demographics

Using library databases

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College

Washington State Statistics

Washington State - Research and Data
Statistics for Washington State: Criminal justice, economy, education, stats by county...etc.
U.S. Census Bureau: Quick Facts - Washington
Snapshot of demographic, economic and housing statistics for Washington state. Search box in upper right hand corner for city and county data.
Puget Sound Regional Council Data
Data is available on a wide variety of demographic information, in spreadsheet formats, on race, income, housing, building permits, employment, transportation, etc. plus links to labor force, per capita income, population and regional consumer price index information.
FDIC State Profiles: Washington
Select economic and financial indicators, from the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation.
King County Data and Reports
Performance, Strategy and Budget (PSB) reports and analysis

National Statistics

Locating U.S. statistics online

Linked below are a list of websites where you can locate statistics on various topics.

U.S. Census Data
Search census data limiting by topic, geography, years and codes (replaces American FactFinder)
more...less...
The Census Bureau stopped releasing new data in American FactFinder (AFF) at the end of June 2019 and transitioned to data.census.gov for data releases formerly on AFF. AFF will remain as an archive system for data and functionality that are not yet available in data.census.gov until March 31, 2020. After March 31, 2020, our American FactFinder will be decommissioned and no longer available.
USA.gov: Data & Statistics
From the federal government. All sorts of statistics about Americans, from population to economics to energy.
Congressional Research Service - Reports from U. of North Texas
The Congressional Research Service provides detailed information to Congress on a wide range of issues, most of them packed with statistics. No web site has all of them, but UNT collects a good number of them.
U.S. Census Bureau: Statistical Abstracts Series
Holman Library has print versions.
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Census data reflects the demographic make-up of the U.S., with figures on family size and structure, income, health insurance coverage, and much, much more.
USA.gov
Federal web portal to national and state level agencies and information. Use USA.gov to look up statistics, reports, laws & legislation, and more.
Social Explorer (free edition)
Use the Maps function to track demographic and other data visually on the United States map.
Data.gov Access open data sets on a variety of topics from the US Executive Office.