LibGuides: ENGL 235 Introduction to Technical Communication (Wilber): Find Current News Journalism & Trade Publications

Current News Journalism & Trade (Professional) Publications

Journalism

Turn to news journalism and trade publications to find the current conversation on trends and issues, whether in education or other areas.

To Find News Publications:

Limit to magazines and newspapers to find current news, analysis, and opinion for the general public.
Try a range of search terms to find relevant and robust discussions.
If you find a ton of articles, try limiting to magazines only or to features and cover stories to find longer, more substantial writing.
To find opinion pieces, limit your searches in library databases to Opinion and Editorials.
Be sure to set an appropriate date limit to find current enough information.

To Find Trade (Professional) publications

Limit to trade at source type.
Try a range of search terms to find relevant and robust discussions. Pay attention to useful terminology you find along the way!
Be sure to set an appropriate date limit to find current enough information.

Holman Library Databases

Multidisciplinary databases

ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles from ProQuest's electronic collections, including a digital newspaper archive, thousands of academic journals, and popular magazines like Newsweek and Rolling Stone.
Database Tutorial: ProQuest Advanced Search
Database Tutorial: How to Select & Cite Sources in ProQuest (and more)
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

The Alternative Press

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.

Sample Online News Sources

The Seattle Times
Washington state's largest circulating newspaper. Print editions available in Holman Library
Auburn Reporter
The News Tribune
Tacoma and regional newspaper, with local and national news section.
National Public Radio (NPR)
Independent and topical radio news. Be sure to check the long list of programs distributed through NPR.

Why Use Journalism?

Current News Journalism & Trade Publications

Turn to current news journalism for informed and accessible discussions of issues facing institutions of higher ed, students, and families - and for anything and everything else going on in our world and communities.

Turn to current trade publications for informed and accessible discussion of news and trends for professionals in a specific field. Trade publications are a subset of journalism. Trade, or Professional, magazines are update professionals on current news and issues impacting the field, best practices, new products, and professional development. Trade publications often feature an editorial on a current issue as well.

Education News Sources

Education News

Look for the ongoing conversation for educators on current issues in Higher Ed.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Publishes news, commentary and job openings in higher education. Updated daily. Log in using your faculty or student info, or create a personal account on chronicle.com using your GRC email address and then use your personal username and password for access from anywhere!

Inside Higher Ed
Find news and opinion pieces on the state of higher education in the United States.
Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Online News source: Our mission is to provide our audience information that is honest, thorough and balanced. Diverse seeks to be a catalyst for change, and our ultimate objective is to contribute to the building of educational, cultural, social and economic structures that will allow every individual to achieve his or her full human potential and contribute to the greater good of the community and the nation.

Education News for the Public

Nice White Parents - Podcast
"From Serial and The New York Times: 'Nice White Parents' looks at the 60-year relationship between white parents and the public school down the block"
NPR Education desk
Seattle Times Education Lab