SOC 202 The Sociology of Food

Find Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals through the Holman Library

 
1. FIRST, click the link above to access the Holman Library One Search which searches for books, videos, journals and more.
 
2. THEN, design a search an initial search and perform at least a couple different, subsequent searches.
  • You may wish to start with this search first:
    [enter your food name]
    AND
    history OR industry OR economics OR commodity OR agribusiness OR chain 
     
  • For subsequent searches, try formulas for other search designs

 

  • Click images to enlarge and see all examples below:

1. In the first search boxy, type your food 2. “And” narrows and focuses your search to the specific aspect of food you want to know more about  3. If there are synonyms or related words to the concept, you have the option of to add them with “OR” (within the second search box)

 
3. AFTER YOU SEARCH, filter in the left column by show only = PEER-REVIEWED JOURNALS

filter by "show only" = peer-reviewed

4. NEXT, choose a relevant article. Click "view online" to read the article:

impact of fair trade book

6. FINALLY, manipulate the article and database tools:
 
The library has articles in different vendor "platforms," so the interfaces may look slightly different, but the strategies to manipulate the articles are similar:

 

6A. Manipulate the article - EBSCO platform
  • click image to enlarge:

 

  1. Read the abstract (summary) to determine if the article is relevant to your needs
  2. Click "full text" to read the entire article. Double check to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly "peer-reviewed" article
  3. "Subject terms" may be helpful for future searches that you perform
  4. Save a link to this article so you can access it later
  5. There is a database-generated citation, but they are occasionally incorrect.
  6. There are the pieces of info that you can use to create  a citation on your own

 

6A. Manipulate the article - PROQUEST platform

click image to enlarge:

 

 

  1. Read the abstract (summary) to determine if the article is relevant to your needs
  2. Click "full text" to read the entire article. Double check to make sure it meets the criteria for a scholarly "peer-reviewed" article
  3. "Subject terms" may be helpful for future searches that you perform
  4. Save a link to this article so you can access it later
  5. There is a database-generated citation, but they are occasionally incorrect.
  6. There are the pieces of info that you can use to create  a citation on your own

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journal Article Checklist

Can't Find the Full Text of Article?

If you can't access the full-text of an article, request it for free through:

Search in Specific Journals and Databases

  • You may wish to search in specific journals:
  • You may wish to search in specific databases: