Use this search to help you limit by resource, date and more. Find specific types of websites, such as those created for academic purposes (.edu) or government (.gov).

Includes coverage of global agriculture/farming industries in order to enhance export opportunities and global food security

Includes topics such as domestic crops and animal products, farm economy, and food consumption.

As a leader in international efforts to eliminate hunger, FAO provides data and articles on a variety of crops and livestock systems

Offers a framework to understand the complexity of food systems as well as country profiles of food systems

Created in conjunction with the Smithsonian Institution, this online exhibition "Key Ingredients: America by Food" is an interactive timeline that provides information about the history of food in the US.

From NPR

Statistics and graphs, from Tulane University.

"IFPRI collects data, tests models, and generates important findings on how gender relates to food and nutrition security; the gendered impacts of agricultural development projects; power and resource allocation within the household; market development and trade; institution building; land tenure; natural resource management; and overall economic development and poverty reduction."

From Northwest Harvest.

By Marilyn Morgan, who taught a course by the same name ,at the Harvard Summer School.

From the National Museum of American History (Smithsonian).

Includes definitions, key statistics & graphics, as well as a number of other helpful resources.

Articles and other resources for Food Security on the website for the United Nations

Dedicated to discovering, exploring and promoting the world's foods, their histories, and relevance today, this website provides information about food and food history. Search through articles, images, and more.

This website produces and curates news and analysis on food, agriculture and technology challenges and innovation trends. Read about past and current trends in the food/technology industry.

Collection of historic cookbooks mostly from the 19th century.

This website explores the influences and inventions that have shaped American food habits over the past two hundred years.

This website, created by award-winning food writer, recipe developer, Tory Avey, explores the history behind the food.

This food-centric website includes full-length articles, columns, in-depth interviews, essays — plus slide shows, audio, and video — on a variety of topics, including food and popular culture, history, and humor.

This website includes a variety of information on culinary practices, past and present, in their historical context.

This blog is written by Ivan Day - author and historian of food culture and professional chef - and includes information about the history of food and shows the use of old cooking techniques and tools as old recipes are recreated.

This blog is written by an author and foodie who has a love of the history. Read articles about specific foods, recipes, and the history behind them.