Library Research: A Step-By-Step Guide

Use this guide to learn more about the research process

Holman Library One Search Strategies

How to find books, videos and articles? 

  1. Click on the Holman Library One Search below and Combine Search Words relating to your topic, such as: mass incarceration racism justice
  2. In the Left-Hand Column of the search results page, Filter your search by...
  • Peer-reviewed Journals...to give you scholarly analysis or scientific research on a very specific area of your topic
  • Books / Book Chapters... to give you an in-depth analysis of the complexity of your large topic
  • Newspapers...to give you facts or up-to-date info on your topic
  • Videos... to provide first-hand accounts of participants or to view the topic from a documentary angle

(click image to enlarge:)
First, you will likely need to perform several searches with different search words Examples:  search #1 = online dating search #2 = internet dating search #3 = dating websites search #4 = online dating culture search #5 = online dating norms search #6 = "internet daters" attitudes  Next, filter by "Reference Entries to give you basic background about your topic. Then filter by different source types - Peer-reviewed, Books and Audio Visual can be helpful types of sources Results may include online sources AND hardcopy sources available on library shelves

  1. First, you will likely need to perform several searches with different search words

Examples:

  • search #1 = online dating
  • search #2 = internet dating
  • search #3 = dating websites
  • search #4 = online dating culture
  • search #5 = online dating norms
  • search #6 = "internet daters" attitudes
  1.  Next, filter by "Reference Entries to give you basic background about your topic.
  2. Then filter by different source types - Peer-reviewed, Books and Videos can be helpful types of sources
  3. Results may include online sources AND hardcopy sources available on library shelves

What Can I Find in Primo One Search?

click image to enlarge:

 

What can I find in Primo One Search? In Primo you can find your library account.  Sign in to see items you borrowed, renew your items or save useful searches to your personal "e-shelf" for later us.  You can also find physical items on the library shelves such as books, dvds, cds and print journals.  You can also find non full-text books and articles available through interlibrary loan.  You must choose the "include results with no full-text" option to search for items that can be requested from other libraries.  You can also find online items from library databases and vetted free sources, such as journals, magazines and some newspapers, electronic books, streaming videos and more.  BUT not everything from library databases is included in Primo.  Instead use individual library databases to find encyclopedia articles, more extensive newspaper results and perform more powerful searches, especially for primary sources, biographies, trade journals, graphs and subject headings.

What is Holman Library One Search?

What is Holman Library One Search?

Holman Library One Search is a tool that performs a very basic search of all the library's databases simultaneously, along with a small selection of vetted open-source eBooks and open access articles.  The results list will contain a wide variety of books, eBooks, videos, images, magazines, scholarly peer-reviewed journals, and some newspapers.  Websites are not included in Primo results.

 

When Should You Use One Search?

Use Holman Library One Search if...
  • you want a general survey of what's available through the Library on your topic     
  • you just need enough information to get started on your research project
  • you need a wide variety of source types
  • you are short on time
  • you want to see good sources the library does not have immediate access to, but that you can still get through interlibrary loan

 

Instead of One Search, use individual library databases if...
  • you want a very thorough examination of your topic - individual databases will yield more thorough results
  • you are looking for reference or encyclopedia articles (you can fine-tune searches better with Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  • you need newspaper articles, especially (there is better coverage through ProQuest or Academic Search Complete)
  • you need to do a specific search using more powerful database limiters, such as finding primary sources, biographies, trade journals, graphs, and searching by subject headings