Green River LibGuides: Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racist, Culturally Responsive Education: Anti-Racism

Related Guides

One Book 2021-2022: So You Want to Talk about Race
by Jody Segal Last Updated Dec 3, 2025 9061 views this year
Black Lives Matter Movement Resources
by Jody Segal Last Updated Nov 29, 2025 615 views this year

Anti-Racism Resources

Featured Audio & Video

Featured Websites and Organizations

#FightRacism at Stand Up For Human Rights
Find information and resources on this website which "aims to foster a global culture of tolerance, equality and anti-discrimination"
Being Antiracist
National Msueum of African American History and Culture: To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives.
Black Lives Matter (website)
"Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes."
BlackPast.org
African American history project by UW Prof Quintard Taylor. Specializes in African American history of the West.
The Center for Antiracist Research
"The Boston University Center for Antiracist Research represents a collaborative research and education effort across multiple disciplines to build a world where racial equity and social justice prevail."
Center for Policing Equity
"The Center for Policing Equity is a research center founded at University of California-Los Angeles and now based at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice."
Color of Change
"Color Of Change is the nation’s largest online racial justice organization...Color of Change leads campaigns that build real power for Black communities. "
Equal Justice Initiative
The Equal Justice Initiative is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic injustice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society.
Human Rights Campaign
Advocacy, information and resources on GLBTQ equal rights
NAACP - National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
"The NAACP's mission is to ensure the political, educational, equality of minority group citizens of States and eliminate race prejudice."
Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI)
"The Race and Social Justice Initiative (RSJI) is the City’s commitment to eliminate racial disparities and achieve racial equity in Seattle."
Racial Equity Tools
"Racial Equity Tools . . . offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large."
Southern Poverty Law Center
"The SPLC is a catalyst for racial justice in the South and beyond, working in partnership with communities to dismantle white supremacy, strengthen intersectional movements, and advance the human rights of all people."
Stop Asian Hate
Stop Asian American Pacific Islander Hate is a website of resources aimed bringing awareness and an end to "acts of hate towards the Asian American and Pacific Islander communities"
National Museum of African American History & Culture: Slavery and Freedom
Looks at African American History
United Nations: Fight Racism
Information and resources aimed at ending racism.

Featured Videos

Use the links below to access the films featured here, or consider searching in the library's collection to find related streaming films.

Featured Podcasts

Use the links below to access the featured podcasts.

Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
"Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice."
National Public Radio (NPR): Code Switch
Podcasts and News on race & culture
Seeing White
Produced and hosted by John Biewen, Scene on Radio comes from the Center for Documentary Studies (CDS) at Duke University and is distributed by PRX
1619 (New York Times Podcast)
"1619 is a New York Times audio series, hosted by Nikole Hannah-Jones, that examines the long shadow of American slavery. "
National Public Radio (NPR): Code Switch
Podcasts and News on race & culture
About Race with Reni Eddo-Lodge (podcast)
From the author behind the bestselling "Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race," comes a podcast that takes the conversation a step further. Featuring key voices from the last few decades of anti-racist activism"
Ibram X. Kendi with Brene Brown on Unlocking Us (podcast)
An episode of "Unlocking Us" with Brene Brown speaking with "How to Be Anti-Racist" author, Kendi
Pod Save the People (Podcast)
"On Pod Save the People, DeRay Mckesson explores news, culture, social justice, and politics with Sam Sinyangwe, Kaya Henderson and De’Ara Balenger. They offer a unique take on the news, with a special focus on overlooked stories and topics that often impact people of color."
Pod For The Cause
From The Leadership Conference on Civil & Human Rights, this is a podcast "created for those of you wanting to effect change, who understand the importance of restoring our democracy and want to engage in deep conversation around the issues. "
Be Antiracist with Ibram X. Kendi (Podcast)
A podcast by Ibram X. Kendi - listen online or with Apple Podcasts
Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast
"Momentum: A Race Forward Podcast features movement voices, stories, and strategies for racial justice."
Witness Black History
A podcast from the BBC World Service

Sources cited on this page:

NEA Center for Social Justice. "Racial Justice in Education: Key Terms and Definitions." NEA Center for Social Justice, National Education Association, Jan. 2021, www.nea.org/ professional-excellence/student-engagement/tools-tips/racial-justice-education-key-terms-and. Accessed 12 Nov. 2021.

Featured Books and eBooks

Dear White People

Main Collection

The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together

How to Have Antiracist Conversations: Embracing Our Full Humanity to Challenge White Supremacy

Stamped from the Beginning

Main collection

Blackballed: The Black and White Politics of Race on America's Campuses

Main Collection

The Myth of the Model Minority: Asian Americans Facing Racism

Main Collection

Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?

Main Collection

So You Want to Talk about Race

Black American Female Undergraduates on Campus

Available online through EBSCO eBook Collection--Click book title for access

White Fragility: Why it's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism

Main Collection

White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son: The Remix

Main Collection

The State of the African American Male

Everyday Antiracism : Getting Real About Race in School

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection

Seeing White

ProQuest Ebook Central

Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work For Racial Justice

Book cover for "Overcoming Educational Racism in the Community College:"

Overcoming Educational Racism in the Community College: Creating Pathways to Success for Minority and Impoverished Student Populations

Terminology

Anti-Racism

Anti-racism is "the work of actively opposing racism by advocating for changes in political, economic, and social life. Anti-racism tends to be an individualized approach, and set up in opposition to individual racist behaviors and impacts."

-Source cited at the bottom of this guide

Holman Library

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racist, Culturally Responsive Education

Related Guides

Related Guides

Anti-Racism Resources

Featured Audio & Video

Featured Websites and Organizations

Featured Articles

Featured Videos

Featured Podcasts

Featured Books and eBooks

Dear White People

The Sum of Us: What Racism Costs Everyone and How We Can Prosper Together

How to Have Antiracist Conversations: Embracing Our Full Humanity to Challenge White Supremacy

Stamped from the Beginning

Blackballed: The Black and White Politics of Race on America's Campuses

The Myth of the Model Minority: Asian Americans Facing Racism

Why Are All the Black Kids Sitting Together in the Cafeteria?

So You Want to Talk about Race

Black American Female Undergraduates on Campus

White Fragility: Why it's So Hard for White People to Talk about Racism

White Like Me: Reflections on Race from a Privileged Son: The Remix

The State of the African American Male

Everyday Antiracism : Getting Real About Race in School

Seeing White

Uprooting Racism: How White People Can Work For Racial Justice

Overcoming Educational Racism in the Community College: Creating Pathways to Success for Minority and Impoverished Student Populations

Terminology

Anti-Racism

People of Note

Anti-Racism Activists to Follow