Green River LibGuides: HUMAN 160 Introduction to Gender Studies (Sims): Find Scholarly Articles

Holman Library Databases by Subject

Searching by subject

Search Holman Library Databases by Subject to find articles within a specific discipline.

Holman Library Databases by Subject
See all of the library's database collections, sorted by subject area. This list is a good place to see the entire list of electronic article resources available in a specific field. You will need to log in with your GRC email address and password to access off-campus.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Limit to Scholarly/Peer Reviewed Sources to find the scholarly conversation on your texts & topics.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search 2,000 full-text scholarly peer-reviewed journals in Science, Social Sciences, Humanities and Health Sciences

Holman Library One Search (All Library Resources)
Search this catalog to find books, ebooks, films, as well as articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

TIPS:

Slowly build a search using and adding relevant keywords.
Look for and use relevant Subject Terms.
Read abstracts to get a sense of what an article is about.
Be selective. You do not need many resources. Explore and build your own interesting conversation of annotated sources.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows you to search the web for peer-reviewed article and book citations. You can use these citations to track down the items at Green River or request them by Interlibrary Loan.

Journals by title

Here's a list of some of the library's Gender Studies journals. Search a title in the Journal Titles list to find out where/how to access it:

Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
"Differences highlights theoretical debates across the disciplines that address the ways concepts and categories of difference—notably but not exclusively gender—operate within culture."
Feminist Review
"Feminist Review sustains its unique role as an interdisciplinary, agenda-setting publication. Situated outside traditional disciplinary boundaries Feminist Review insists on the theoretical and strategic centrality of gender in all its complexity."
Feminist Studies
Contains "feature articles of feminist analysis on a variety of topics."
Frontiers: A Journal of Women's Studies
"Publishes feature articles in all areas of women’s studies, especially those that show the diversity of women in race, ethnicity, class, and sexual orientation."
Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism
" Meridians: feminism, race, transnationalism, a feminist, interdisciplinary journal whose goal is to provide a forum for the finest scholarship and creative work by and about women of color in U.S. and international contexts."
Ms.
Ms. magazine "Features articles on a wide variety of women’s issues, U.S. and international news items, sections on health and work life, and opinion pieces." It is not a scholarly journal.
Psychology of Women Quarterly
"Psychology of Women Quarterly (PWQ) is a feminist journal that publishes primarily qualitative and quantitative research...related to the psychology of women and gender. Topics include career choice and training; management and performance variables; education; lifespan role development and change; physical and mental health and well-being; physical, sexual, and psychological abuse.
Women's Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal
"Publishes feature articles about women in anthropology, art, economics, history, literature, sociology and the sciences. Also includes book and film reviews and some poetry and fiction."

What is InterLibrary Loan?

InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service for ordering books and articles from other libraries that Holman Library does not own. It is usually free - try it today!

When you find an item you would like to request through InterLibrary Loan, fill out the Student InterLibrary Loan Request Form.

Use WorldCat to search for books in other libraries.

If you have questions, check out our Frequently Asked Questions page.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and articles from other libraries using ILL
WorldCat
A great resource for InterLibrary Loan that searches collections from libraries worldwide.