LibGuides: Research Guide: Primary Sources: Newspaper Articles

"The Current" - Green River College Digital Newspaper Archive

The Current - Digital Archive
Full-text, searchable archive of the Green River College student newspaper for most issues from 1965-2013
GRC Newspaper LibGuide

"The Current" Green River College Student Newspaper Digital Archive contains issues from 1965-2009, with more recent issues added regularly.

Keyword search the full text of all issues.
Or search by date range or a specific date.
Use as a primary source! (Articles from a specific time period can be primary sources, eg, newspaper articles that reported student protests in the 1960s or the college's name change in 2014.)

King County Library System (KCLS) - History Databases

Green River Students can freely use the KCLS libraries!

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to online library resources at King County Library System, including the history databases below.

Log in to KCLS Databases

To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

History Databases

19th Century US Newspapers
Daily Life through History
Historical Statistics of the US (may open in some browsers and not others)
New York Times Historical

King County Library System (KCLS): College Student Accounts
Browse all KCLS databases by clicking on College Students >> Find Online Services to Use from Home >> Databases

Historical Newspapers

Using Historical Newspapers

Washington State Historic Newspapers
Search Washington state newspapers, various dates between the 1850s to 1890s or browse topics.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Covers 1789-1922. Also contains a directory of publication information 1690-present. TIP: Limit by State as needed.
International Newspapers
Does not contain full text of newspapers but links to some collections and provides a listing of newspaper digitization efforts worldwide.
The Black Press Collective
Dedicated to archiving the Black Press to preserve the significance of the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas.

Historical Newspapers in Library Databases

Newspapers -- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."

Newspapers in Holman Library Databases

Alt-Press Watch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. "Challenge mainstream media coverage" for new perspectives on your topics.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For viewpoints not covered by the mainstream press, a bilingual (English and Spanish) database of ethnic, minority and native newspapers, magazines and journals.
Global Issues in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles featuring global viewpoints on international issues, country reports, primary source documents, statistics, videos, and more
Newspapers -- Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes selected national, international and regional newspaper articles, as well as television and news radio transcripts.
Newspapers -- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."
Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National and Washington newspapers. To see included titles, enter the database, click on the Databases Selected; link at the top left, scroll down to ProQuest Newspapers and click on View Titles.
Newspapers -- Washington Digital Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search early newspapers published in Washington State. Includes Puget Sound Argus, Spokane Falls Review, Walla Walla Statesman, and Yakima Herald.

More Recent Newspapers

ProQuest news and newspapers

Contains 350+ national and Washington State newspapers, 1959-2016.
You can limit your search results to a specific time period.
Newspaper articles from a specific time period can be primary sources (for example, newspaper articles that reported the terrorist attacks of 9/11/2001 or articles that reported the Monica Lewinsky sex scandal from the mid-1990s)

Newspapers -- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
To see included titles, click PUBLICATIONS link.

Recommended National News Websites

The New York Times

The New York Times (website)
Check out the day's news and issues in the online NY Times. Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
The New York Times (June 1980- present in ProQuest)

The Washington Post

The Washington Post
Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
The Washington Post (December 1996-present in the ProQuest database)

The Los Angeles Times

Los Angeles Times
Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
The Los Angeles Times (December 1996-present in the Proquest database)

The Christian Science Monitor

Christian Science Monitor
Free online access is limited, Full text is available in the library's ProQuest database.
Christian Science Monitor (January 1980-present in the Proquest database)