Research Guide: Primary Sources

This guide was created to help you learn more about primary sources

"The Current" - Green River Digital Newspaper Archive

The Green River College Student Newspaper

"The Current" Green River College Student Newspaper Digital Archive contains issues from 1965-2009, with more recent issues added regularly.

  • Keyword search the full text of all issues.
  • Or search by date range or a specific date.
  • Use as a primary source! (Articles from a specific time period can be primary sources, eg, newspaper articles that reported student protests in the 1960s or the college's name change in 2014.)

Digital Collections on the Web

Digitial Collections on the Web

Washington State

National Collections

An International Focus

Alternative Voices

UW Digital Collections

University of Washington Digital Collections

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of the UW Digital Collections website, showing a list of collections by topic

Primary Source Examples

Primary Source Examples

Report to the Emperor

What might the tone of this report reveal about the reception of Buddhism in China?

 

photo of a Buddha statue, from early 7th century

Photographs

What might this boy and this photograph reveal about the nature of child labor?

image of a 5-year-old boy, dressed in working clothes - from the early 1900s

Image Source: Hine, Lewis Wickes. Manuel, the young shrimp-picker, five years old... Feb. 1911. Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2018676266/. Accessed 1 Apr. 2020.

Drawings

What might this reveal about how children coped with the September 11, 2001 national tragedy?

image of a drawing of an american flag, created by a child after 9/11

Image Source: Woodward, Brittany. My Country Tis of Thee. 2001. Library of Congress, https://www.loc.gov/item/afc911000236/. 

Subjects: History