Research Guide: Newspapers

Use this guide to learn more about how to find, use, and evaluate newspapers

Using resources at other libraries

Using other public library collections

Did you know that you can access the KCLS online resources as a student or employee of GRC? The tabbed box below provides information on how you can use your student or staff info to log in to access the library's digital collections. 

KCLS Newspaper Databases

Press Display at KCLS 

Are you a resident of King County?  Try the "Press Display" database at the King County Library System to view articles from 1400 world news publications, in many languages, with up to sixty days of back issues archived. To find it, go to the databases page, and click the Magazines and Newspapers link in the drop down box. Find other useful news links there too. (King County Library card number required).

Search by topic:

(click on images to enlarge) press reader screen showing top stories menu bar

Or search by type and topic

screenshot of press reader page results showing newspapers and magazines

Green River Students can freely use the KCLS libraries!

King Count Library System logo

As a student at Green River College, you automatically have access to library resources at King County Library System, including the history databases below. 

Log in to KCLS Databases
  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)
  • Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23
  • Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23
  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

KCLS/GRC Online Library Resources - students/faculty (other libraries)

Green River Students:

You can access KCLS online resources automatically as a student at GRC.

  • KCLS LOGIN =  GRC + your student username

    • GRC must be capitalized
    • username is the part before the @ in your GRC email address.
    • username must be in lower-case letters.
      • Example KCLS login =  GRCsmith.jane.23
         

  • PIN NUMBER = the last four characters of your log in

    • Example pin number  =  e.23   (derived from GRCsmith.jane.23)

Faculty / Staff:

  • Faculty /Staff need to opt-in to access items from KCLS using a GRC log in.
  • GRC IT will need to activate your account. Please click on the link below to fill out the opt-in form:

Note: When you sign up for KCLS/GRC online access, your account will be activated during the next account update. KCLS/GRC updates run once a week; requests received by Friday afternoon will be ready Monday morning.
 

Already signed up for KCLS/GRC access?

Find KCLS resources here:

Come ask us at the Holman Library Reference desk, or check out our "How to Log In at Green River College" guide for more assistance: