Research Guide: Newspapers

Use this guide to learn more about how to find, use, and evaluate newspapers

Finding Online Articles Through the Library - Examples

Exploring if the full text of this newspaper article is available through Holman Library:

Article on the Washington Post Website

  • Publication: The Washington Post
  • Website Version Article Title: "An American life: How Asian migrants built unique communities"
  • Authors: Kim Bellware, Emily Liu, Anne Branigin and Shannon Liao 
  • Website Publication Date: May 31, 2022
  • Print Version Article Title: (no print version listed)
  • Print Publication Date: (no print date listed)

(Click image to enlarge)

screenshot of the article from the Washington Post website

 

Finding This Article Through Holman Library:

  • Try searching the author(s), Publication Title, and the article headline (or key terms from the article headline), and look for a similar result published around the same date:

(Click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of an HL One Search result for searching 'washington post' and part of the article title

Exploring if the full text of this newspaper article is available through Holman Library:

Article Search Results on the NYT Website

  • Publication: The New York Times
  • Website Version Article Title: "The Roots of Haiti's Misery: Reparations to Enslavers"
  • Authors: Catherine Porter, Constant Méheut, Matt Apuzzo and Selam Gebrekidan
  • Website Publication Date: May 20, 2022
  • Print Version Article Title: "A Land of Riches, but Not for Its Own People"
  • Print Publication Date: May 22, 2022

(click images to enlarge)

New York Times header

New York Times website search result example

Finding This Article Through Holman Library:

  • Try searching the author(s) and Publication Title if you are not sure how the print version was titled, and look for a similar result. If you do know the print article title - try adding that in:

(click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of a search for the NYT article with the print version title in HL One Search

Exploring if the full text of this newspaper article is available through Holman Library:

Article on the Seattle Times Website

  • Publication: The Seattle Times
  • Website Version Article Title: "In search of better data, Seattle plans to require landlords to report rents"
  • Author: Heidi Groover
  • Website Publication Date: May 31, 2022 (published 6:09pm, updated 9:02pm)
  • Print Version Article Title: (no print version listed)
  • Print Publication Date: (no print date listed)

(click images to enlarge)

Seattle Times website screenshot

 

Finding This Article Through Holman Library:

  • Try searching the author(s), Publication Title, and the article headline (or key terms from the article headline), and look for a similar result published in the similar time range:

(Click on image to enlarge)

screenshot of a Seattle Times article result in the EBSCO databases

 

Some newspapers and magazines are available in print at the Library

Some publications do not have complete full text access available online through the Holman Library. If you see a note that the newspaper or magazine is available in the "Holman Library Periodical Collection," we may have access to the print version of the article, and you can copy it or scan it to make a digital version at the library. You can click on the listing to see how far back the print issues are available:

(Click on the images to enlarge)

HL One Search showing the Seattle Times available in print at the library

Seattle Times issues at the Holman Library, showing past issues for the last two weeks are available

You can then find that issue on the shelf in our "periodical collection" section of the library (there's a map of the library with the collection marked in the southeast corner below). 

Or you can write down or take a photo/screenshot of the issue date you want to find and come to the library's Reference Desk-- the librarians are happy to help you find the exact issue on the shelf!

Exploring if the full text of this magazine article is available through Holman Library:

At the top of the article

  • Publication: The Atlantic
  • Article Website Version Title: "Why the Last Ten Years of American Life Have Been Uniquely Stupid"
  • Author: Jonathan Haidt
  • Website Publication Date: April 11, 2022

(click on the image to enlarge)

screenshot of the top of the website version of the Atlantic article

At the bottom of the article

There is a note about how the article appears in the print version of the magazine. This is the information for how the version that is in the library databases will show up:

(click image to enlarge)

'This article appears in the May 2022 print edition with the headline "After Babel."'

  • Print Version Article Title: "After Babel"
  • Print Publication Date: May 2022 issue

Finding this article through Holman Library:

  • Try searching the author(s) and Publication Title if you are not sure how the print version was titled, and look for a similar result. If you do know the print article title - try adding that in:

(click on the image to enlarge)

image of an HL One Search showing the top result for "After Babel" from The Atlantic

If you can't access the article...

If you find the article, but the full text is not available through Holman Library, you can request it emailed to you through Interlibrary Loan: 

If cannot find the article you are looking for at all, please ask a librarian for help and we can assist you in tracking it down! 

How to find an online article through the library

In order to find a current web article through our databases, you will want to note four major elements:

  • The title of the publication
  • The title of the article
  • The author(s) of the article
  • The date published - on the website, and if any, print publication info (often at the bottom of the article)

Use HL One Search

Our Holman Library One Search tool will search across multiple online collections and our print holdings, so you will see the most complete available results:

Why are recent news articles tricky to find in the library databases?

Recent news and feature articles are often available through the library, but sometimes articles may have different headlines or different publication dates.

Many major news sites began as (and still are) print publications - for example, The Washington Post, New York Times, and The Seattle Times began as newspapers. The Atlantic, Time, Wired, Rolling Stone, The New Yorker, (and many more) began as print magazines.

Over time, the two types of content (print and web) merged so more and more things that started in the "print timeline" showed up online with different layouts (librarians call this process "container collapse"). 

Because of this mixing, the same article may have different titles and publication dates for the 'print' version or the 'website' version. Generally, though, the content will be similar between these two versions:

How you found the article Publication version
(print or web)
You found the article through a web search (like Google) or on the publication's website  "Web" version 
You found the article through the library One Search, or in a library database "Print" version