Green River LibGuides: Graphic Fiction & Non-Fiction: Graphic Materials in the Classroom

Useful websites

Comics Worth Reading
Independent Opinions, News, and Reviews of Graphic Novels, Manga, and Comic Books
Comic Book Syllabus
"This site is designed to help educators at all levels find comic books and graphic novels that can be used as innovative and engaging teaching tools. Titles are arranged by subject matter."

Education Database

Articles on Education

Use the library education database ERIC to find professional and scholarly articles on education topics, including using graphic materials in instruction.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Searching the Databases

Find Works on Education & Graphic Materials

Use the One Search and other library databases to find useful articles, books, and multimedia on teaching with graphic fiction and non-fiction.

Use Subject Terms for the most relevant results.

Holman Library One Search (All Library Resources)
Search this catalog to find books, ebooks, films, as well as articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and more.
more...less...
Tips: How to Use the Holman Library One Search

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Search over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Database Tutorial: Academic OneFile Advanced Search(Gale)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.

Comics in the Classroom

Do comics belong in the classroom? What's your take on the use of fiction and non-fiction graphic novels for educational purposes? Join the ongoing conversation!