Graphic Fiction & Non-Fiction

For research into graphic novels, memoirs, history, science, comics & more

Find Background Info for Context & Topic Overviews

Multidisciplinary Reference Collection

The Subject Encyclopedias in a reference collection are useful for introductory analysis; overviews of key issues, concepts, history, people, and terminology; and leads to key resources.

  1. Enter simple keywords that capture your research. Connect and focus key ideas with AND.

(click on images to enlarge)

Enter keywords

  1. Look over the results list. Review titles, encyclopedias, intro sentences, and dates. Review SUBJECTS in the menu to the right. 

GVRL 2 search results

  1. Select & read. Use a range of reference articles for different perspectives.

Select and read for a range of perspectives

Explore Historical Contexts:

Follow these steps:
  1. Type in KEYWORDS that capture what you want to find information about
     OR, if an option:
    BROWSE for an entry point to your info.
  2. Select the kind of information you need, for example, primary sources (for comics or historical texts) or reference (for background info). In the image below, the search is for "civil rights movement". The box on the right helps you limit by source type. 

(Click on image to enlarge)

US History in Context: Civil Rights

Find Secondary Sources

Find Primary Sources

KCLS Historical Newspaper Collection

Green River Students can freely use the KCLS libraries!

King Count Library System logo

Use the links below to find relevant supplemental resources on your topic!

  • To Log in: use GRC + your student username. (The part before the @ in your GRC email address.)

  • Example OLD email: GRCjsmith23

  • Example NEW email: GRCsmith.jane.23

  • PIN number: your pin is the last four characters of your log in. Example: e.23

Databases to consider:

Find Topic and Work Overviews, Biographies, Interviews and Reviews of Literary Texts & Authors

Build your understanding of a literary text by reading introductory articles about the author or work, reading what the author has to say about their texts, and book reviews for the general public.

Follow these steps:
  1. Search by author and/or title. 
    You can also look for articles about the genre overall. 

(Click on image to enlarge)

Search by title

  1. Open: topic & work overview, biographies, reviews and news, and interviews to get started.

(Click on image to enlarge)

Topic and Work Overviews

Contexts

Why Reference?

Start with Subject Encyclopedia Articles for background information on different aspects of your topic. 

You can learn about:

  • Biography
  • History
  • Concepts 
  • Issues
  • Literary Themes, Genres & Analysis

Why Historical Contexts?

Learn about historical eras, issues and events with secondary sources ABOUT that moment in time and primary sources FROM the era under study. 

Use:

  • History databases that have collections of secondary analysis and primary sources
  • Films with both primary and secondary analysis
  • Newspaper collections with historic content
  • Books about history
  • Biographies and interviews with people who lived through the era

Why Literary Contexts?

It can be helpful to read about a literary work before diving deep into an analysis or interpretation of the work. 

Gale Literature also includes some sources on film and television adaptations of literary works.