Green River LibGuides: Fine Arts: Find Online Articles in Databases

Databases for Reference Articles

Biography in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference entries, magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, podcasts, and images covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day news makers.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Search for authoritative information in subject encyclopedias selected for courses and programs at Green River College
U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers, reference sources, primary documents, and selected websites.
World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles, primary sources, and reference books covering world history from antiquity to the present.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 18,000 academic journals and magazines from a wide variety of disciplines including more than 7500 full text peer-reviewed journals.
ProQuest Combined Databases This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers, magazines, and academic journals
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles covering a wide range of academic fields including biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, The Economist, New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth research and analysis in JSTOR's full text archive of academic journals in all subjects.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Search over 2 million images curated from leading museums and archives around the world in JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of photographs, paintings, drawings, and prints.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search for literary work overviews and author biographies plus scholarly literary criticism and analysis of authors and their works - novels, short stories, poetry, and drama including Shakespeare plays.

Library Databases: Fine Arts and Humanities
Check out selected article and electronic resources for Fine Arts and Humanities from the Holman Library.

Here is a list of some suggested magazines and journals that can be found in databases and online:

Architect
Link to searchable full text of the periodical through ProQuest database.
Architectural Digest
Links to searchable full text of the periodical, through ProQuest and Academic Search Complete databases.
Cultural Trends
Link to searchable full text, through Academic Search Complete database.
Papers of Surrealism
Studies in Latin American popular culture
Link to searchable full text of the periodical, through Academic Search Complete.
Teaching artist journal
Link to searchable full text of the periodical, through Academic Search Complete.

Art Magazines & Journals inside the Library

Holman Library Paper Journals located on 2nd floor, in alphabetical order:

American Craft: Aug 1979 - present

American Photo: 1990 - present

American photographer: 1980 - 1989

Artforum: 1972 - present

ARTnews: Dec 1998 -present

Art direction: 1975 - 1995

Better homes and gardens: Library keeps five years

Builder: 1982 - present

Ceramics Monthly: Library keeps two years

Communication Arts: 1980 - present

Crafts: 1983 - 2005

Design quarterly: 1980 - 1996

EventDV: 2008 - present

Fiberarts: 1990 - present

Landscape Architecture: 1980 - present

National parks: 1980 - present

Native Peoples: Sep 2000 - present

Popular Photography: Library keeps ten years

Print: Nov 1990 - present