Newspaper and Magazine articles

Use the links below to search in library databases for current news and analysis of the news. You can also find editorials and opinion on the op-ed pages.

Search tips:

• Search by keyword to find relevant sources. Look for additional relevant keywords as you search.
• Limit to "full-text" if you need to access only articles that you can immediately download. 
• Set an appropriate date limit to find current enough information.
• To limit your search to only magazine and/or new articles, select magazines or newspapers at Publication Type.
• If you choose newspaper articles, look for substance! Try limiting to cover story, feature, front page for longer articles.
• You can limit to editorials or opinion to find argumentative essays on current issues.

Search directly in Newspaper collections:

Regional Newspapers

Sample search limited to magazines and newspapers of the keywords: depression OR anxiety AND pandemic AND college OR "higher education"

Print & Ebooks

You can easily limit your search to find only print, physical books that you can check out and/or use inside the library.

• Search titles, authors, or keywords in the box below.
• Use the filter to limit to Available in the Library for print books.
• Once you find a title, jot down the Call Number, which tells you the book's location on the shelves. Be sure to ask a librarian for help locating items if you need help.
• Note the limiter for Book Chapters too!

Electronic Books

Use the database links below to go directly to the library's collection of ebooks. Be sure to search by title, author, or just general keywords.

Multimedia Journalism

Multimedia refers to educational and documentary film and video, news and analysis in radio journalism and television, and some current issues podcasts.

Streaming films

Use the library's Films on Demand database to find streaming educational films & journalism in order to learn more about your topic.

A Small Selection of Radio & Podcast Journalism

Find the Debate in Editorials, Viewpoints, & Opinion

Use the resources below to find a range of informed opinions on your topics.

Current Issues Databases

Find Opinion in Newspapers & Magazines

Newspaper editorials are a great way to find reasoned opinions on current controversial topics.

• To find opinion:
  • type editorial OR commentary into a search field
  • or select editorial and commentary as an option at document type.

Example 1: Academic Search Complete

(click on image to enlarge)

Example 2: Proquest 

(click on image to enlarge)

• Then, as shown in the image below, scroll down on the advanced search page to limit by "Document Type" - choosing "Editorials" from the options before searching.

(click on image to enlarge)

Step into the Scholarly Conversation

Dive deep into a subject with scholarly research and analysis found in peer reviewed journals and in some academic books.

To find Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journal Articles, be sure to check the limiter.

To find book and book chapters that may be scholarly, be sure to assess if the author has academic expertise of the subject, if the discussion is in-depth and sophisticated, if claims and sources are thoroughly and extensively cited. 

Subject-Specific Holman Library Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Library Databases

Search in all Library Databases at once with One Search

Use Holman Library One Search to:

• Search for a range of source types at once, including books, articles, audiovisual, and more from Holman Library
• Get an overview of information on a subject
• Track down citations

Finding Sources on the Web

You will find a range of Web sources throughout the pages of this research guide, from advocacy and activist organizations, research institutes, not-for-profit support agencies, and governmental sources. 

As with any source, be sure to assess for:

• authority and expertise (authority is contextual, and it may range from firsthand experience to academic study)
• bias
• currency
• reliability
• purpose

Tips for effective Web searching:

Target specific source types with URL searching within specific domains. 

• site:.gov for governmental sources (variant: site:wa.gov for a state government)
• site:.org for sites registered as not-for-profit (assess! Some are organizations working on an issue. Use the About Us tab to learn more about their perspective. You will also find some news sources, wikipedia, and other .orgs).
• site:.edu for education sites (beware student work you find online. .edu does not guarantee scholarly)
• site:.mil for military info
• site:.com for commercial websites (news sources are usually .coms. In other words, we don't need to throw out all .coms!) 

You can also use Google Advanced Search, linked below.

(Click on image to enlarge)

Newspapers

These articles are good both for finding recent information on a topic (what has happened in the last week or month) as well as finding out how historical events were reported in the past (for example, how was the AIDS crisis first reported in the 1980s?)

Appearance: 

• Generally printed on newsprint in black ink.

Audience:

• Written for the general public.

Author/Authority:

• Articles written by staff writers and freelance journalists.

Citations:

• Will sometimes cite sources, a scholar, or a freelance writer.

Content:

• Includes current events and special features.

Frequency:

• Usually published daily or weekly.

(Click on image to enlarge )

Popular Magazines

These articles are good for summarizing information on a topic for the general public.  They often provide a background, summarize research findings, and provide some analysis of a topic.

Appearance:

• Generally attractive and illustrated with color photographs.

Audience:

• Written for the general public.

Author/Authority:

• Articles written by staff or freelance writer.

Content:

• Includes current events and special features.

Frequency:

• Usually published weekly or monthly.

(Click on image to enlarge)

Trade Journals

*Sometimes called Professional Journals or Industry Journals

These articles are good to keep people in a particular field of work or trade (veterinarians, police officers, hotel managers, teachers, librarians, advertisers...etc.) up-to-date on trends in their line of work.  Articles often summarize and analyze findings from scholarly research.

Appearance: 

• Generally attractive and are often illustrated with color photographs

Audience:

• Written for industry professionals.

Author/Authority:

• Articles written by staff writers, though the magazine may sometimes accept articles from industry professionals.

Citations:

• Occasionally list references at the end of the article or provide footnotes within the text.

Content:

• Includes current events and special features within a particular profession or industry.

Frequency:

• Usually published biweekly or monthly.      

(Click on image to enlarge)

Scholarly journals

*Sometimes called Scholarly, Academic, Peer-reviewed or Refereed

These articles are good to find results of scientific or academic research.  They are written for scholars and provide in-depth analysis of a very specific area of your topic 

Appearance: 

• Generally have a sober, serious look. May contain graphs and charts, but few glossy pages or photographs. Use scholarly language with vocabulary specific to their profession or field. May often have headings in article such as "literature review" "methods" "results" and "discussion." 

Audience:

• Written for academics and professionals.

Author/Authority:

• Articles written by researchers or scholars in the field who report the results of original research.

Citations:

• Articles include footnotes and a list of citations at the end of the article.

Content:

• Includes scholarly research for a particular profession or industry.

Frequency:

• Usually published bimonthly or quarterly.

Images: All images in this tabbed box were taken by GRC librarians