ENGL 127 Research Writing: Social Sciences (Frazier)

Theme: Environmental Sustainability and Society

Effective Research Strategies

Finding Search Words in Reference Sources

To begin to search successfully you must use a variety of words that relate to your topic
  • Think of the different words and phrases that people use when they discuss your topic.
  • Consider broader and narrower words, and synonyms (words that have the same meaning).
  • Think of things you want to know about your topic, for example, history or laws or impacts, etc.
  • Skim through reference sources to identify keywords on your topic. Reference sources will provide:
    • names of individuals and organizations
    • issues
    • historical landmarks
    • settings
    • solutions / attempted remedies
    • controversies 

This example shown in the image below is drawn from the opening paragraph of a reference article titled "Plastics" that from the encyclopedia  titled "Achieving Sustainability: Visions, Principles, and Practices" The image points to stakeholders (Who), facts (What), issues (Why), and where the article addresses what's being done or proposed solutions (How). 

(click on image to enlarge)Reference for keywords. Highlighted points are in the text.

Brainstorm Search Words 

  1. State your research question or topic
    • Example: How do cigarettes impact children's health?
  2. Extract the main concepts
    • Example: Children, cigarettes, health
  3. Brainstorm search words
  • NOTE: For an accessible version of the image below, open the document below image titled Keyword Mapping

(click on image to enlarge)

image showing the numbered info above but with an additional table of synonymous and topics listed under number 3.

The starting keywords in the broad research question: How do cigarettes impact children's health? are: cigarettes AND children AND health

I would add a column with words for other things I want to know, such as laws, education, prevention, history, etc.

Type in your Starting Search Terms

  • Use the "Advanced Search" to give you more control when you search.

  • Try different keywords from your keyword list to address the same concept:

climate change / global warming / greenhouse effect / polar icecaps / sea levels

  • Use different keywords to capture different points of view and aspects of your topic.
  • Use AND to connect ideas and narrow your focus. In the example below, we want to find articles about climate change AND the government policies that address it.
  • Use OR to search for any of a list of related ideas or synonyms. (Ex: "climate change" or "global warming")
  • Put phrases in quotes to keep search terms together as an exact phrase. (Ex: "climate change") Do not use quotes if the phrasing of your idea is flexible.
  • Use truncation * to search for forms of a root word. (Ex: environment* will also search for environmental)

(click on image to enlarge)

a search for climate change AND government policy 

  •  If you receive too few results, try removing narrowing terms or selecting new ones from your topic brainstorm list.
Use limiters to refine your search 
  • Refine your search by date, source type, and more. 
Access
  • Library databases have thousands and thousands of full text articles you can read immediately. They also provide citations and abstracts for other articles.
    • If you get a link that says to Check for Full Text, click on the link. If we have it in another database, you will be connected, If not, you may borrow it through InterLibrary Loan.
  • If you need to access articles immediately, you may check the box to limit to "Full Text" only. The image below shows how you can limit to full text and scholarly journals. 

The Information Timeline

There are many type of sources you can get your info from, so....which source should you use?

It depends...

  • are you looking for info on a specific event in time?  Consider the "Timeline" in the chart below
  • are you looking for info on a general theme?  Consider the "Your Info Need" in the chart below  
    • It is generally helpful to start with Reference Sources first, then choose other source types based on the level or type of info that is most helpful to you

(Click on image to enlarge)

Image of a table showing the breakdown of the information timeline, outlined also in the text below the image.

As shown in the image above, information is created, recorded, and distributed various different mediums at different times. 

Information Timeline 

The event occurs and…

  • Within minutes or hours - you can find info on Social media platforms – such as Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, blogs, etc.

    • Good for: short personal reactions, opinion, announcements

  • Within hours, a day – you can find info in Newspapers, news sites, TV, Radio – such as cnn.com, BBC radio, New York Times, etc.

    • Good for: current or local info, facts, viewpoints, breaking news

  • Within a week to a month – you can find info in Magazines or Trade journals – such as Time, People Magazine, Wired, Education Week, etc.

    • Good for: summaries of info, some analysis for general public or specific profession

  • Within 6 to 8 months later and continuing – you can find info in Peer-Reviewed scholarly journals­ - such as like Nature, Journal of American Medical Association, etc.

    • Good for:  deep analysis of specific topics in academic research

  • Within 1 year later and continuing – you can find info in Books and Films – such as non-fiction, biographies, documentaries, etc.

    • Good for: thorough, comparative coverage of a topic history, complexity

  • Within 2 years later and continuing – you can find info in Reference Sources – such as encyclopedias, textbooks, atlases, manuals, etc.

    • Good for: broad overviews, key issues, statistics, topic specialized vocabulary

Image source: all images here created by GRC librarians

Gathering and using keywords

Keywords are search terms related to your topic.

You use keywords to search library tools or the web. Keywords are search terms that describe the specific concepts or issues of your assignment theme and/or topic. Here are a few tips about using keywords:

  • Put phrases in quotes: "toxic waste."

  • Keywords have synonyms and related terms: for example:

    • For landfills, also try: "sanitary landfills" "waste management" "waste management industry" "waste disposal" "recycling" "municipal sold wastes" "solid waste disposal" "groundwater" and more.

  • Combine keywords with Boolean operators "AND" and "OR" to get more relevant results. Use "AND" to combine terms to focus your search (plastics AND recycling); use "OR" to combine terms and broaden your search (garbage OR waste).

  • Keep track of the keywords you find in your reference and other sources!

  • Tip: Look for suggested keywords at the ends of reference articles, in the "Related Terms," "Cross-References" and "See Also" sections. 

  • Look for Subject terms in library databases. Subject Terms are the search words used to organize and help you find all the information on a subject.

Mining for Keywords in Reference

 

Topic Map

Research is a process and your topic will evolve.

A topic map, also called a concept map, is a helpful way to start to identify:

  • areas for research
  • key words to use in research
  • possible ways to narrow and focus your research project.

Use the topic map linked below to map out your starting topic. Your research may address the entire map or you may focus on one area.

Consider: you may need to go narrower, go broader or slightly change your focus

  • based on the background information you have gathered, you may decide to slightly change your topic focus - that's ok and is a normal part of research!
  • you may find too much information to wade through, so you will need to narrow your topic
  • you may find too little information, so you will need to broaden your topic

More research help

Find more online research help in our How Do I guides.

 

Using Keywords Effectively in Research

Video: Search Strategies

Source: "Online Research: Tips for Effective Search Strategies" by Sarah Clark, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn how to use Booleans, truncation, and quotations for effective searching.

Video: Format Matters

Source: "Research 101: Format matters" by Anna Eisen, is licensed under a Standard YouTube License.

Learn about the process behind how different formats are created, how to connect format to purpose and identify source types appropriate to a need. Also, learn that information may be perceived differently based on the format in which it is packaged.