Library databases and online resources on this page point to a world of interesting and vital social/ environmental sustainability issues. And this list isn't exhaustive!
Click on databases and web links below to explore. Be sure to look at tips on effective browsing strategies.
Use these Holman Library Current Issues & Encyclopedia Databases to Explore Ideas.
Scroll down for strategies on how to use them to generate ideas.
Browse Topics: Explore by area, such as Earth and Environmental Science (140 Topic Pages) or choose Browse All to start.
Search a broad keyword, such as "plastic," and select topics from the dropdown list.
And if I select Plastic Pollution, I find this page with an introductory reference article and links to many additional sources with ideas I can explore.
Browse or Search within CQ Researcher to find a range of reports on current issues, including environmental social sustainability topics.
Browse by selecting a starting general topic area and drilling down to subtopics and reports.
Search by keyword, such as hazardous waste. Here is a report on biohazards.
Start with a general search keyword or keyword phrase, such as "climate change" or plastic AND pollution. Explore the results list and the subjects list for more specific research ideas. Sample images from search of plastics AND pollution.
Note that you can limit to Environment at Collection in Gale eBooks.
Review and consider article titles & encyclopedia titles for narrowing ideas.
This page includes library news databases, as well as local and environmental news and news magazine sources online and in Holman Library.
A word on paywalls! Online newspapers limit the number of free articles you get per month. Be sure to check Holman Library One Search to see if we carry the article or news source in our collection too.
Start with a general keyword and explore results.
This is a good opportunity to go local! Type in a local city or the Puget Sound Region along with a keyword on an interesting topic for this class. Ex: Kent WA AND recycling
You can also go to news sites, look for ideas on international sites, such as the United Nations website, do a general Google search and skim over the results for ideas, browse for subtopics in government sites & much more.
This illustrates a government domain search with the keyword: waste.
Use resources on this page to find a range of issues to address in your ESS Think Tank.
Exploring resources is a great way to generate ideas, especially if you're not sure where to begin. It's also a great way to begin to focus a broad initial interest!
Figure 2: Graphic of Sustainability Venn Diagram (image crafted on Canva by C. Frazier)